We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect little hotel in Nice!”
Review of Hotel Solara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Solara
Ranked #111 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We were recommended this hotel by the owner of the Nice Garden Hotel (which was full). We could not have faulted the recommendations - the Hotel Solara was wonderfull! Typically 3* French, but excellent. The owner, who looked after us brilliantly, has been renovating what was obviousely a run down hotel and has done an excellent job. Clean, well furnished, very friendly, multi lingual staff, greaty roof top balconies off rooms 8 - 14 (rom 14 was the best I think). On the main avenue for evening restauarants and only 5 mins from the beach - this is the most perfect base for a week or more in Nice. 4* luxury it may not be, but 3* value, comfort and friendlyness it is. Stay here if you are on a 100 Euors a night nudget. PS. The owner served us breakfast on our balcony every morning!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alastair_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

I also found this hotel from Rick Steves' guide book. Staying with this hotel is a good experience. While the exterior is not very impressive (more like a regular local residence), the room is pretty good and the location is just awesome. It is right in the center of Nice Pedestrian area (you can look down from your balcony and see people dine and walk around) and the hotel itself is a block away from beach front.

This is my review of their room.
The room is very clean with AC with a comfortable bed.
The staff (father and his son) are very friendly and helpful, speaking good English.
You are in the heart of Nice pedestrian center.
Beach front is just a block away.
You got optional breakfast so you can decide whether you want to eat there or outside.
Free Wifi is provided.

This is a pretty good hotel and I would recommend it. It is not fancy but it gets everything you need. Most important, it is clean.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We spent two nights at Hotel Solara, and thought it was great for the price. We had originally booked a basic room, but were upgraded to a suite with two sleeping rooms because there were some vacancies.

The staff were friendly, helpful and spoke English, and even lent us umbrellas when it was rainy.

The breakast, brought to our room was basic, but nice.

The location was also nice, right by the beach, and near many of the stores and restaurants. The downside to this, was it was the noise from the streets carried up to our room, and it made it a bit hard to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelettertypewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I've stayed in many hotels in Nice and this one beats them all for practicality, locality, service etc. If you are going to Nice for a few days and just need a base with a modern, clean room...no frills but everything you need, then this hotel is simply perfect.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzarinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I would not recommend this hotel if it did not have the 5th floor rooms with terraces. They DO make a difference. The rooms are very small but have what you would need for a shorter stay in a city. And again you will spend most of the time on the terrace/balcony. Stayed in a single room (Room number 12). Hotel is clean, bathroom is small, separate shower cabin in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shipping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed here a couple of years ago and decided to give it a try again. If possible get a room with a balcony. Great location, handy for the surrounding restaurants yet not too far to walk to either the bus or train station. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Room is adequate and clean complete with small fridge for wine etc. Given the rates for hotels in Nice, this one is about average pricewise. One slight gripe is that there's only one small wardrobe and no drawer space at all so you might end up living out of your suitcase. - best to take your own coat hangers too as we were sharing 4 between us. Only a small point and that said, we're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpletravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Our room was adorable with a great view of the pedestrian streets below. We both really liked the security in the hotel as well, being that it is situated at the top of an apartment building. The owner was completely accommodating to every request we had (even letting us use his tool set at one point& helping us with buses) and was everything a hotel owner should be. Would definitely come back here again; we were both very impressed!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauranne00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#76 of 204 in Nice
106 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#60 of 204 in Nice
523 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#46 of 204 in Nice
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massenet Hotel
#100 of 204 in Nice
296 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 204 in Nice
466 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#99 of 204 in Nice
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solara

Address: 7 rue de France, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £48 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Solara 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing