We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adagio Access Nice Acropolis
Ranked #143 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 4 March 2009

During my stay in this hotel I haven't been able to sleep at all! First of all the airconditioning in my room wasn't working and the hotelmanager refused to connect it. It was very hot in Nice, the hotel is situated on a road with a lot of traffic, all day and all night long, so opening the window doesn't help. Besides that the bed had a very bad quality. Lying in the bed was as if I was lying on a lot of stones.
The room wasn't clean at all, nor were the kitchenette and the bathroom. There was no coffee maker, no corkscrew and there were no kitchen-towels or thea-cloths.
Staff was very unfriendly. After returning home I have sent in a complaint, but they didn't even bother to answer. I will never stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2008

This was by far the worst hotel experience of my two week trip through Europe with my husband.

After leaving the beautiful, scarcely developed Italian Riviera, we spent 6 hours traveling in a non-air conditioned TrenItalia train car. All we wanted to do when we got to the room was take a shower.

Upon arriving in the center of the busy city of Nice, we traveled through the noisy city to our hotel, just outside of Vieux Nice.

The front desk clerk informed us of the amount we owed for the hotel stay in Euros. We gave him our credit card to swipe, and he then handed us a receipt which informed us that we had been charged in US dollars and that we had been given a choice of which currency we wanted to pay in. We most certainly were not given a choice. We were charged 3% higher than the current day's USD/EURO exchange rate, a difference of about $15. He then informed us that there was absolutely nothing he could do to reverse this charge and charge us in Euros.

We then went to our room. My husband tried to take a shower, but discovered that the bracket which was supposed to hold the shower head to the wall had fallen out of the wall, and was placed next to the shower head. So obviously the cleaning staff was fully aware that this room was out of service, but did nothing to inform maintenance about this. The showerhead also sprayed water out in all directions instead of a nice, direct stream. There was also not enough hot water for more than one shower every two hours. I took a shower one hour after my husband and it was absolutely freezing.

Now becoming quite upset, we went back to visit the desk clerk. We asked for another room, but he said they were fully booked. As an employee of a well respected resort, I know that we ALWAYS keep one room under the name of our manager as a "safety" in case of any problems with other rooms during our entire busy season.

We asked if we could speak with a manager, and the clerk said he would let the woman who worked the following morning know about our concerns and that she could help us.

She was just as useless as the night time clerk, although she did inform us that the managers were on vacation for the next entire week. Also, as a resort employee I know that our managers never take a long vacation during the busy season. If they are ever absent, there is someone in their place who has the ability to assist guests with problems that the normal staff might not be able to do.

The room and the whole hotel also had a strange smell. I can't put my finger on what it was. Sort of like wet paint, chemicals and cheese. Absolutely awful.

The hallway lights were on timers and would go off before you had time to get from the elevator to your room. And there was no ambient light, the hallways became completely dark.

The only thing the hotel did to compensate was to give us a free breakfast, a "28 Euro value." It was something, but certainly not worth 28 euros. There were only a few pastries and croissants, a mostly out of order espresso machine, milk, orange juice, cereal cheese and yogurt. I certainly wouldn't have paid for it when given the choice.

The bed was very small and pillows were about half-sized.

The room did not have a remote control for the TV, a bottle opener or soap and sponges, but these were provided by the staff when asked for. Although the remote was very dirty.

The pool was fine; small but refreshing.

The kitchen was adequate. There was no cutting board though and the only counter space was slanted, making cutting food very difficult.

Other than the awful hotel experience, Nice turned out to be ok. We liked Vieux Nice, Eze and Villefranche better than Nice itself though.

If you love to party or you do not know that there are quainter, less developed places, you might like Nice.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Tirrelli03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

stayed for 6 nights in october, was worried the room might be small but it was fine. excellent power shower, double glazing kept the noise out and there was a free safe. the kitchenette is ideal for anyone on a budget as it reduces having to eat out every meal in a very expensive city.
at reception they spoke good english and were very helpful. on entering our room it stank of smoke. we were immediately given an alternative without fuss.
great location, all attractions within walking distance and great inexpensive puplic transport. the best thing was being able to get the bus straight from the airport to the hotel. no point getting fleeced by a taxi!
only minor complaint would be the air con was a bit erratic and the lifts very slow.
overall cracking value.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Myself and three friends stayed in these apartments for a long weekend last week, our apartment was spotless clean and a good size with a nice balcony but there was no furniture to sit on and no mirror in the main room. Our friends had to change their apartment because of the muskey smell and the fridge did not work, but once they told reception the girl was very nice and changed them straight away . Its a pity the pool was closed because it was still very warm and it would have been nice to be able to sit up there and take in the view, overall the Apartments are perfect for their location and very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Made our internet booking on a mix of price and other reviews. Our 1 bed apartment was fairly basic, but clean. The tiled floor probably emphasised this. The room size was okay, but be warned if you're any larger than a gnome that you'll hit your knees on the opposite wall when seated on the toilet ! The cup handles must also have been designed for dolls, as it's nigh impossible to get a finger in them. Small points, but worth noting. On the plus side, as well as being clean, the air conditioning worked well, and there were no signs of any insects (phew!).
If you're thinking of eating -in, or preparing food bear in mind there's no cleaning aids (i.e. dishcloth, liquids etc.). That said the fridge is a decent size for storing food, and there's a table and chairs to eat at. Location is fine. There's a couple of restaurants within a few yards of the front door, and Rue de la Rebublique is one street away, with plenty of bars and eating establishments. There's also a number of supermarkets close by. The tramway is one street away, and the bus station about a couple of blocks. If you're travelling by train it's worth considering that Nice -Riquier station is much nearer to the apartments than the main Nice station.
Overall, clean and good value-for-money.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Deiffenbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We stayed at the hotel for three days in mid-August. The hotel is situated just a five minute walk from the old town in Nice and ten minutes to the port. Excellent!

The spacious room, equipped with a balcony, had a well working air-condition very much needed during the hot nights. The kitchenette was okay as well as the beds. Two big closets with plenty of room for our luggage. A safe deposit included with no extra charge. If you want to use Wi-Fi (free) don’t forget to ask for the user account code at the reception.

The only minus we felt was that there was a need of reconditioning of the room. It has not the same standard as other Citea hotels we stayed at.

We wanted to use the hotel parking but the parking lot was overbooked. It was really difficult to find a parking not too far away from the hotel but we were lucky and found a place a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ausgarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

This hotel is excellent. I had made a reservation for a double room by internet for the 17th of August. Because of a personal problem I had to change my program and finally we arived at the hotel at 6:30 am. I spoked with the stuff of the hotel about 5 times during the day and changed my arival. The stuff was very helpfull and spoke english fluently (something not so common in France). The room was spacy enough and fully equiped (a/c, tv, fridge, oven, safe) and had a real big balcony. The hotel is in a perfect location in the heart of the city, next to the MAMAC museum, the National Theatre and there is a tram station just 50 metres away. To sum up the hotel is perfect and I don't think i could get a better service in this price.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank The_Average
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Riquier
Hipark Design Suites Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Riquier
Hotel Relais Acropolis
Hotel Relais Acropolis
#57 of 203 in Nice
380 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Access Nice Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Access Nice Acropolis

Address: 42 boulevard Risso, 06300 Nice, France (Formerly Citea Nice Acropolis)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £44 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adagio Access Nice Acropolis 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adagio Access Nice Acropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Access Nice Acropolis Hotel Nice
Citea Hotel Nice
Citea Nice Acropolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing