We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel & staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nice Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nice Garden Hotel
Ranked #24 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming hotel & staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Nice Garden Hotel for 3 nights in June and 1 night in July, 2014. The hotel has nicely furnished and comfortable rooms with a lovely garden in which to have the petit dejeuner. It is also in a great part of the city which is very close to the beach. Marion, the owner, is a delightful and thoughtful hostess and her staff are very pleasant. We caused a bit of trouble by blowing some fuses within hours of our arrival, but Marion was very kind and not at all bothered by our little fiasco. The croissants were the best of trip and the coffee pot was kept full. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay in no other place on future visits to Nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Diane S,

thank you for this great review you wrote.

We were very happy to welcome you in Nice, the little electricity "issues" were not a problem at all! We hope to have you back at our hotel for another stay soon. Our objective is indeed to make our guests feel the most comfortable and at home as possible!

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    144
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
82
339
50
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. There is nothing bad about this hotel it is perfect. The ladies (Marion, Bolgna and Veronique) were perfect hosts, were extremely helpful and always with a smile and willing to have a chat. The rooms are nice and the beds comfortable. The wifi works well. The breakfast in the garden was perfect. I am allergic to wheat and the ladies made sure to get me fresh fruit and biscuits I could eat which was so kind and thoughtful.

Loved everything about this stay! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room looking out into the garden - its beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBreen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear MrsBreen01,

thank you for this very kind review! We were very happy to read we have made your special time enjoyable, and that you've had a nice honeymoon at our hotel!

We would be happy to welcome you another time, for a special occasion, or another stay in Nice!

Best wishes,

Marion Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

PRO's

- very friendly staff
- good value for money
- great location
- nice garden

CON's

- not overly clean, shower was a bit dirty
- blockage in shower
- bed was not a real double bed but 2 single beds joined together so was uncomfortable

What I think is really important to advise travellers here is that despite this hotel's high rating on TA, at the end of the day it's still only a 2 star hotel. TA never lets me down but I must admit that this time it has. I usually stay at very good hotels no lower than 4 star. But thought I would give this place a go based on its rating. If you are use to staying in good hotels, you will be disappointed. However , if not, you may like this place. Depends on your standards. Just remember it's only 2 stars but will fulfill its purpose for staying in Nice based on value and location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank chiclife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear chiclife,

We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not match your expectations. Thank you however for your kind comments regarding our staff. We do our best to provide the best service possible to all our guests. We have a lady coming every day to ensure that the hotel and the rooms are clean.

As you pointed out, our hotel is a two star family-run hotel, and our main objective is to provide a homely and comfortable base for our guests to visit Nice and feel at home during their stay, similarly to a bed and breakfast. We comply with all requirements for a hotel of this category, but you will not find here the atmosphere of larger hotels.

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for five nights and we loved every minute we were there. We stayed in room 4 (the largest room) which had a double bed, a single bed, a fridge, and a small table and chairs. Marion was exceptional and she went above and beyond our expectations. Her staff are wonderful as well and we truly felt like we were family members for the time we were there. The hotel is elegant and quiet and the garden is beautiful day and night. The street noise can be exceptionally loud, but with the windows closed you can not hear a peep! Breakfast was lovely, served in the garden, and was well worth the nine Euros per day (optional). Also, the hotel is just three blocks away from the beach. We spent three days at Lido Beach. The prices were expensive there, but well worth it. (22 Euro per person per day). Ask Marion for some beach towels so that you do not need to rent them at the beach. (6 Euro each at Lido!). A wonderful, wonderful stay and we hope to see Marion again some day. If in doubt, book room 4.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aarontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear aarontravels,

many thanks for this great review posted on Tripadvisor!
It was a great pleasure to welcome you at the Nice Garden Hotel, and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for highlighting the aspects of your stay that you enjoyed, and particularly our service and the home-like atmosphere of the hotel, as well as our garden.

We hope to welcome you another time in Nice!

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

When we booked the reservation at the Nice Garden Hotel, we were skeptical of the €135,00 per night, but the pictures were very nice, and it was rated 2 out of 212 hotels in Nice. All the reviews were very good and didn’t see anything bad. Thought this would be a nice place to stay.

First, I want to say everyone at the Nice Garden Hotel are very nice and go out of their way to be accommodating. Marion is very, very nice. The room however, was dingy and felt like a dungeon. The bathroom was even worse. It was very small even for European standards. The sink was very, very tiny and not functional. There is a ledge above the sink which prevented you from washing your face over the sink without getting your feet and the floor soaking wet. In addition, the bathroom had poor ventilation and was very moldy. There was mold on the shower curtain, the tile floor as well as the tiled wall.
We had booked the room for 4 nights and left after the first night. We wasted an entire day trying to find other accommodations in Nice to no avail. July is peak season and there were very limited vacancies. We had planned to go to St. Tropez the following day but had to change our plans because the only place we could find a hotel was in Cannes. We had also planned to drive to Portofino, Italy one day due to the close proximity to Nice, however, because we were forced to relocate to Cannes (which is an hour from Nice) Italy was out of the questions.

In summary, the hotel staff is very nice, however, the cleanliness and location is questionable. Booking a room at the Nice Garden Hotel really put a wrench in our plans on the French Riviera. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Frank C,

thank you for the kind comments made regarding our staff, it is indeed extremely important for us to provide the best service possible to our guests.

We are sorry our hotel did not match your expectations, however I would like to point out that the minimum size of our rooms per category is indicated on our website. For example, we mention that the minimum size of our Superiour rooms is roughly 15m².In your specific case, you stayed in a triple Superior room, which is our largest room, of 20m². I would like to add that all our rooms comply with the minimum size requirements for two star hotels in France, which is our category.

We have a lady coming every day to ensure that the hotel and the rooms are clean, and we regularly renovate our rooms to ensure they are both functional and of best comfort possible for our guests. Regarding your comment on our location, we are right in the centre of Nice, a few minutes away from the sea and the main sights.

We try to keep the best balance possible between our prices and the quality of our service.

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was the perfect price to stay, especially at their very reasonable rates! All the rooms overlook a courtyard which you can use at any time. A lovely breakfast is served there for 9 euros per person at 8:20 am or later. That was my only problem, that we couldn't get coffee until the croissants arrived at 8:20 or so! Incredibly clean and comfortable, save your money for other things and stay with these lovely women. Oh, and when it's time to eat, avoid the main part of the pedestrian mall one block away. We had some terrible food.

Room Tip: The triple room was enormous, with one double bed and one single bed, and only cost 45 euros more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Podie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Podie,

thank you very much for writing this review.

We were happy to be able to welcome you in our hotel, and we are glad you enjoyed this stay with us! We do our best to keep the best balance possible between our service and our prices, and provide a comfortable and homely atmosphere where our guests can rest after a day spent visiting Nice.

We buy croissants and baguettes fresh every morning from the bakery, hence the timing of breakfast.

We hope to welcome you soon again in Nice!

Best wishes,

Marion Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Nice Garden Hotel is well situated with easy access to sights in the city. The rooms are basic, but comfortable and clean, and have good internet access. The workers were very friendly and capable. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annette f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear annette f,

thank you very much for this kind review you posted on Tripadvisor., and for pointing out what you enjoyed about our hotel and your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your time in our hotel, and we hope to welcome you soon again in Nice.

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Hotel Monsigny
#9 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#23 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Garden Hotel

Property: Nice Garden Hotel
Address: 11 rue du Congres, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nice Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nice Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing