We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nice Garden Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice(Nice)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Best Western Alba Hotel(Nice)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel de la Fontaine(Nice)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$407
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Hotel So'Co(Nice)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveller rating
436
149
29
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
149
29
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homebaguettetriple roomwonderful stayyogurtbreakfast is servedhotel is situatedlocation is excellentmarionpromenadebusescafes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 631 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Nice Garden Hotel for 3 nights in June and 1 night in July, 2014. The hotel has nicely furnished and comfortable rooms with a lovely garden in which to have the petit dejeuner. It is also in a great part of the city which is very close to the beach. Marion, the owner, is a delightful and thoughtful hostess and her staff are very pleasant. We caused a bit of trouble by blowing some fuses within hours of our arrival, but Marion was very kind and not at all bothered by our little fiasco. The croissants were the best of trip and the coffee pot was kept full. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay in no other place on future visits to Nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Diane S,

thank you for this great review you wrote.

We were very happy to welcome you in Nice, the little electricity "issues" were not a problem at all! We hope to have you back at our hotel for another stay soon. Our objective is indeed to make our guests feel the most comfortable and at home as possible!

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. There is nothing bad about this hotel it is perfect. The ladies (Marion, Bolgna and Veronique) were perfect hosts, were extremely helpful and always with a smile and willing to have a chat. The rooms are nice and the beds comfortable. The wifi works well. The breakfast in the garden was perfect. I am allergic to wheat and the ladies made sure to get me fresh fruit and biscuits I could eat which was so kind and thoughtful.

Loved everything about this stay! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room looking out into the garden - its beautiful.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MrsBreen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear MrsBreen01,

thank you for this very kind review! We were very happy to read we have made your special time enjoyable, and that you've had a nice honeymoon at our hotel!

We would be happy to welcome you another time, for a special occasion, or another stay in Nice!

Best wishes,

Marion Hoffmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

PRO's

- very friendly staff
- good value for money
- great location
- nice garden

CON's

- not overly clean, shower was a bit dirty
- blockage in shower
- bed was not a real double bed but 2 single beds joined together so was uncomfortable

What I think is really important to advise travellers here is that despite this hotel's high rating on TA, at the end of the day it's still only a 2 star hotel. TA never lets me down but I must admit that this time it has. I usually stay at very good hotels no lower than 4 star. But thought I would give this place a go based on its rating. If you are use to staying in good hotels, you will be disappointed. However , if not, you may like this place. Depends on your standards. Just remember it's only 2 stars but will fulfill its purpose for staying in Nice based on value and location.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank chiclife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear chiclife,

We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not match your expectations. Thank you however for your kind comments regarding our staff. We do our best to provide the best service possible to all our guests. We have a lady coming every day to ensure that the hotel and the rooms are clean.

As you pointed out, our hotel is a two star family-run hotel, and our main objective is to provide a homely and comfortable base for our guests to visit Nice and feel at home during their stay, similarly to a bed and breakfast. We comply with all requirements for a hotel of this category, but you will not find here the atmosphere of larger hotels.

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for five nights and we loved every minute we were there. We stayed in room 4 (the largest room) which had a double bed, a single bed, a fridge, and a small table and chairs. Marion was exceptional and she went above and beyond our expectations. Her staff are wonderful as well and we truly felt like we were family members for the time we were there. The hotel is elegant and quiet and the garden is beautiful day and night. The street noise can be exceptionally loud, but with the windows closed you can not hear a peep! Breakfast was lovely, served in the garden, and was well worth the nine Euros per day (optional). Also, the hotel is just three blocks away from the beach. We spent three days at Lido Beach. The prices were expensive there, but well worth it. (22 Euro per person per day). Ask Marion for some beach towels so that you do not need to rent them at the beach. (6 Euro each at Lido!). A wonderful, wonderful stay and we hope to see Marion again some day. If in doubt, book room 4.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank aarontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear aarontravels,

many thanks for this great review posted on Tripadvisor!
It was a great pleasure to welcome you at the Nice Garden Hotel, and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for highlighting the aspects of your stay that you enjoyed, and particularly our service and the home-like atmosphere of the hotel, as well as our garden.

We hope to welcome you another time in Nice!

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

When we booked the reservation at the Nice Garden Hotel, we were skeptical of the €135,00 per night, but the pictures were very nice, and it was rated 2 out of 212 hotels in Nice. All the reviews were very good and didn’t see anything bad. Thought this would be a nice place to stay.

First, I want to say everyone at the Nice Garden Hotel are very nice and go out of their way to be accommodating. Marion is very, very nice. The room however, was dingy and felt like a dungeon. The bathroom was even worse. It was very small even for European standards. The sink was very, very tiny and not functional. There is a ledge above the sink which prevented you from washing your face over the sink without getting your feet and the floor soaking wet. In addition, the bathroom had poor ventilation and was very moldy. There was mold on the shower curtain, the tile floor as well as the tiled wall.
We had booked the room for 4 nights and left after the first night. We wasted an entire day trying to find other accommodations in Nice to no avail. July is peak season and there were very limited vacancies. We had planned to go to St. Tropez the following day but had to change our plans because the only place we could find a hotel was in Cannes. We had also planned to drive to Portofino, Italy one day due to the close proximity to Nice, however, because we were forced to relocate to Cannes (which is an hour from Nice) Italy was out of the questions.

In summary, the hotel staff is very nice, however, the cleanliness and location is questionable. Booking a room at the Nice Garden Hotel really put a wrench in our plans on the French Riviera. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Frank C,

thank you for the kind comments made regarding our staff, it is indeed extremely important for us to provide the best service possible to our guests.

We are sorry our hotel did not match your expectations, however I would like to point out that the minimum size of our rooms per category is indicated on our website. For example, we mention that the minimum size of our Superiour rooms is roughly 15m².In your specific case, you stayed in a triple Superior room, which is our largest room, of 20m². I would like to add that all our rooms comply with the minimum size requirements for two star hotels in France, which is our category.

We have a lady coming every day to ensure that the hotel and the rooms are clean, and we regularly renovate our rooms to ensure they are both functional and of best comfort possible for our guests. Regarding your comment on our location, we are right in the centre of Nice, a few minutes away from the sea and the main sights.

We try to keep the best balance possible between our prices and the quality of our service.

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews