We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing break”
Review of Nice Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nice Garden Hotel
Ranked #32 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Refreshing break”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Had a lovely couple of days here in March 2014. Made even better by the excellent treatment we received following an earlier mix-up in the booking. Delightful proprietor Marion. Plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatbobgrooven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear fatbobgrooven,

thank you for writing this review on Tripadvisor and for your kind comments regarding our staff.

We were happy to welcome you after the misunderstanding last year concerning your proposition, and we are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us in Nice.

We hope to welcome you soon again in Nice!

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    144
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
83
339
51
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
elma, washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We just returned from Nice, France and stayed at the the Nice Garden Hotel with our daughter and son-in-law for a week in July. We were very impressed with the beautiful, spacious rooms (we occupied rooms l and 4 which are the larger rooms). But most of all, the service we received from Marion and her staff was just as anticipated: wonderful, impeccable and befitting a #1 recommendation.. Also, her mother, Anna, was present to greet the guests in French and make them comfortable in the gorgeous garden with flowers and fruit tree. Lovely beyond description!
My husband had breakfast several mornings and thought it was outstanding. It was hard to leave after one week but know we will stay longer on our next visit. We have been to Nice 12 times but we thank Marion for making this one "special".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank florenceaugustinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear florenceaugustinos,

thank you very much for this lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We were particularly happy to read we made your stay in Nice "special"; we do our best to provide a caring service to all our guests and make them feel at home.

We hope to welcome you another time soon in Nice!

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Nice Garden Hotel for 3 nights in June and 1 night in July, 2014. The hotel has nicely furnished and comfortable rooms with a lovely garden in which to have the petit dejeuner. It is also in a great part of the city which is very close to the beach. Marion, the owner, is a delightful and thoughtful hostess and her staff are very pleasant. We caused a bit of trouble by blowing some fuses within hours of our arrival, but Marion was very kind and not at all bothered by our little fiasco. The croissants were the best of trip and the coffee pot was kept full. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay in no other place on future visits to Nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Diane S,

thank you for this great review you wrote.

We were very happy to welcome you in Nice, the little electricity "issues" were not a problem at all! We hope to have you back at our hotel for another stay soon. Our objective is indeed to make our guests feel the most comfortable and at home as possible!

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. There is nothing bad about this hotel it is perfect. The ladies (Marion, Bolgna and Veronique) were perfect hosts, were extremely helpful and always with a smile and willing to have a chat. The rooms are nice and the beds comfortable. The wifi works well. The breakfast in the garden was perfect. I am allergic to wheat and the ladies made sure to get me fresh fruit and biscuits I could eat which was so kind and thoughtful.

Loved everything about this stay! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room looking out into the garden - its beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBreen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear MrsBreen01,

thank you for this very kind review! We were very happy to read we have made your special time enjoyable, and that you've had a nice honeymoon at our hotel!

We would be happy to welcome you another time, for a special occasion, or another stay in Nice!

Best wishes,

Marion Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

PRO's

- very friendly staff
- good value for money
- great location
- nice garden

CON's

- not overly clean, shower was a bit dirty
- blockage in shower
- bed was not a real double bed but 2 single beds joined together so was uncomfortable

What I think is really important to advise travellers here is that despite this hotel's high rating on TA, at the end of the day it's still only a 2 star hotel. TA never lets me down but I must admit that this time it has. I usually stay at very good hotels no lower than 4 star. But thought I would give this place a go based on its rating. If you are use to staying in good hotels, you will be disappointed. However , if not, you may like this place. Depends on your standards. Just remember it's only 2 stars but will fulfill its purpose for staying in Nice based on value and location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank chiclife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear chiclife,

We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not match your expectations. Thank you however for your kind comments regarding our staff. We do our best to provide the best service possible to all our guests. We have a lady coming every day to ensure that the hotel and the rooms are clean.

As you pointed out, our hotel is a two star family-run hotel, and our main objective is to provide a homely and comfortable base for our guests to visit Nice and feel at home during their stay, similarly to a bed and breakfast. We comply with all requirements for a hotel of this category, but you will not find here the atmosphere of larger hotels.

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for five nights and we loved every minute we were there. We stayed in room 4 (the largest room) which had a double bed, a single bed, a fridge, and a small table and chairs. Marion was exceptional and she went above and beyond our expectations. Her staff are wonderful as well and we truly felt like we were family members for the time we were there. The hotel is elegant and quiet and the garden is beautiful day and night. The street noise can be exceptionally loud, but with the windows closed you can not hear a peep! Breakfast was lovely, served in the garden, and was well worth the nine Euros per day (optional). Also, the hotel is just three blocks away from the beach. We spent three days at Lido Beach. The prices were expensive there, but well worth it. (22 Euro per person per day). Ask Marion for some beach towels so that you do not need to rent them at the beach. (6 Euro each at Lido!). A wonderful, wonderful stay and we hope to see Marion again some day. If in doubt, book room 4.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aarontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear aarontravels,

many thanks for this great review posted on Tripadvisor!
It was a great pleasure to welcome you at the Nice Garden Hotel, and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for highlighting the aspects of your stay that you enjoyed, and particularly our service and the home-like atmosphere of the hotel, as well as our garden.

We hope to welcome you another time in Nice!

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

When we booked the reservation at the Nice Garden Hotel, we were skeptical of the €135,00 per night, but the pictures were very nice, and it was rated 2 out of 212 hotels in Nice. All the reviews were very good and didn’t see anything bad. Thought this would be a nice place to stay.

First, I want to say everyone at the Nice Garden Hotel are very nice and go out of their way to be accommodating. Marion is very, very nice. The room however, was dingy and felt like a dungeon. The bathroom was even worse. It was very small even for European standards. The sink was very, very tiny and not functional. There is a ledge above the sink which prevented you from washing your face over the sink without getting your feet and the floor soaking wet. In addition, the bathroom had poor ventilation and was very moldy. There was mold on the shower curtain, the tile floor as well as the tiled wall.
We had booked the room for 4 nights and left after the first night. We wasted an entire day trying to find other accommodations in Nice to no avail. July is peak season and there were very limited vacancies. We had planned to go to St. Tropez the following day but had to change our plans because the only place we could find a hotel was in Cannes. We had also planned to drive to Portofino, Italy one day due to the close proximity to Nice, however, because we were forced to relocate to Cannes (which is an hour from Nice) Italy was out of the questions.

In summary, the hotel staff is very nice, however, the cleanliness and location is questionable. Booking a room at the Nice Garden Hotel really put a wrench in our plans on the French Riviera. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionhoffmann, Owner at Nice Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Frank C,

thank you for the kind comments made regarding our staff, it is indeed extremely important for us to provide the best service possible to our guests.

We are sorry our hotel did not match your expectations, however I would like to point out that the minimum size of our rooms per category is indicated on our website. For example, we mention that the minimum size of our Superiour rooms is roughly 15m².In your specific case, you stayed in a triple Superior room, which is our largest room, of 20m². I would like to add that all our rooms comply with the minimum size requirements for two star hotels in France, which is our category.

We have a lady coming every day to ensure that the hotel and the rooms are clean, and we regularly renovate our rooms to ensure they are both functional and of best comfort possible for our guests. Regarding your comment on our location, we are right in the centre of Nice, a few minutes away from the sea and the main sights.

We try to keep the best balance possible between our prices and the quality of our service.

Kind regards,

Marion Hoffmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#18 of 205 in Nice
777 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 205 in Nice
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#20 of 205 in Nice
1,004 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Garden Hotel

Property: Nice Garden Hotel
Address: 11 rue du Congres, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Nice Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Nice Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing