We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel. Great Price, Great Location couldn't be better - even on our Honeymoon”
Review of Nice Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nice Garden Hotel
Ranked #33 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel. Great Price, Great Location couldn't be better - even on our Honeymoon”
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We booked the Nice Garden hotel for our Honeymoon based on reviews I saw on Trip Advisor. The hotel was wonderful.

The owners/staff were very warm and welcoming - always there to help. And the location was fantastic. Close to the train station - so you can walk even with luggage, but far enough away that it is in the nice area of Nice. It is also right next to the nice eating/shopping street that is very convenient. Fantastic location and price. Honestly - don't look anywhere else, stay here - I researched and researched places but could not have been happier.

The room was very large and there was a nice garden outside of each room which was very peaceful - completely blocked out the city noise.

Wonderful hotel - Next time we go back to Nice we will for sure stay there again.

Could not have been happier.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drnkwine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    144
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
82
339
50
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

My mother and I stayed here at the end of August. We walked in and were met by Marion, who extudes warmth and professionalism. Our room was ready on arrival and we had a lovely room looking out over the garden.
Marion has created a warm and friendly environment in which you immediately feel at home. The room was a great size and the bathrooom newly renovated. Our room was also air conditioned which was a blessing as it was quite hot.
The hotel in located only 5 minutes to the beach and about 15 minutes to the old town.
We chose not to have breakfast provided and instead bought fresh pasteries and fruits from the local shops each morning, which we eat in the garden each morning. The room also had a fridge, which enabled us to by some local goodies and again enjoy the peace of the garden area. The hotel provides you with a place to recharge your batteries while you are travelling. I thank Marion and her team for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JazzyRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

we have just returned from our third holiday to nice and our second visit to the nice garden hotel.this was the first time we had taken our four year old daughter abroad and we didnt hesitate in chosing the nice garden hotel.on arrival it is like being greeted by your mum and welcomed into her house and by this i mean the owner marion ! from the moment we walked through the door our little one was settled and at home with a large room and a garden to explore.marion was quick to provide cooling refreshments for us after our journey.a 20 degree temperature difference from england was certainly noticeable and this was most welcome.the room had very efficient air conditioning so sleeping was never a problem for any of us.our room had direct access to the garden,an oasis in this busy exciting city,which had plenty of places to sit and lime and lemon trees growing.nothing is any problem for marion who is now assisted by the very helpful and i may add amazingly beautiful gabriella.beach equipment was made available to use which was very welcome.it all makes your stay so much easier.the rooms are spotless and cleaned everyday and have tv ,safe and mini fridge to put your own drinks in.the hotel itself is in a superb position,just outside the main hustle and bustle.its only a 2 minute walk to the seafront and a 10 minute walk to the old town.one warning for the beach,it is very pebbley so take good beach footwear.getting around is easy with the buses.just 1 euro to monaco and menton.on arrival at the airport catch the number 99 airport shuttle for 4 euro which drops you off at the top of rue du congres for the 2 min walk to the hotel.this ticket can also be used for unlimited travel for the rest of the day.as long as marion keeps up her standards,which are high,and i have no doubt she will the nice garden hotel will remain the number one hotel in nice for a long time to come.the only downside is the hotel only has nine rooms and as word spreads of this little gem,getting a room may prove difficult !! thanks again to marion,gabriella and family and the leaving gift for our daughter.will we be back ? just try stopping us,we are already looking for when we can come again !! its safe and secure, in a great position,clean and quiet,its home from home.you will not find better.thanks marion and see you again soon.david,marie and little beth.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodfirepizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

The moment we walked into the hotel we were greeted by Gabriella who made us feel right at home. The next morning were were warmly welcomed by Marion, owner/manager, of the Garden Hotel. As it was our first visit to Nice, Marion was ever so helpful with sight-seeing and shopping tips, restaurants to dine at, and the best times to go to the beach. We thought we had to purchase towels, beach umbrellas and mats for the beach but the hotel generously provides these items for their guests. The patio/garden, tended to by Marion's father, is so beautiful. It was hard to believe we were in down town Nice when we sat in the garden. The location of the hotel couldn't be more central; a ten-minute walk from the train station, one block from the beach and a few steps to the main place. Our room was very clean, spacious and charmingly decorated "a la Nicoise". When we return we will not even consider staying else where.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank castaway59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

As other reviewers have mentioned, Marion is very friendly and professional and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The garden is a beautiful oasis and the location is spot-on, both for the beach, connections to the airport and for all that Nice has to offer.
The breakfast is nice but you could do as well elsewhere as there are many cafes nearby which offer crepes and excellent breakfast deals.
Our only gripe with this hotel is the size of the carvan-style bathroom that our room had. After a day in the heat a relaxing shower or bath would have been most welcome, however the bathroom generally and the shower, in particular, is child-sized....there is no room for manoeuvre, it is literally the size of a under the stairs toilet....This is something that really let an otherwise little gem of a hotel down.
Tips for Nice - there is an excellent bus service that serves the entire riviera for one euro, to any destination. Choose from Grasse, Eze, Antibes, Cannes, Cagnes sur Mer etc.Be prepared to sharpen your elbows! These buses are very popular and run either from the main bus station or from some stops through the town of Nice (for example, Congres, two minutes walk from the Nice Garden Hotel) We decided however to use the train once in a while, which was more comfortable and quicker.
There is a lovely selction of restaurants for dinner, especially in the old town.
The Grand Tour de Nice open-top bus tour, which leaves from the Promenade des Anglais, opposite the Albert Premier Gardens, takes a beautiful path through the city and out into the environs, and is well worth the 20 euros per person for 1 day.
All in all, a great holiday destination!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank patandalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This was our first visit to Nice and what a lovely experience it was staying for a week at The Garden Hotel.
Marion and her mum Renata, daughter Anna and also Gabriella made us feel so welcome and couldn't do enough to help. Our very comfortable room overlooked the pretty and secluded garden where we had a most enjoyable breakfast every morning. Well, we did have breakfast once at a nearby cafe but it was nowhere nearly as good as the Garden House!
The hotel is well situated with lots of shops and restaurants nearby and just a few minutes walk to the bustling promenade. It 's a slightly longer walk to the old town but well worth it for the tremendous atmosphere and the little cobbled streets and squares.
We really enjoyed walking through there to the nearby bus station for our trips along the beautiful Cote d'Azur and coming back to our hotel room with its very welcome air conditioning and cold drinks from the little fridge.
All in all I think we were very lucky to have found the Garden Hotel - it certainly lives up to its TA excellent reviews thanks in no small way to Marion and her lovely family and a special mention for Jack, their adorable and well trained little dog.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pussumses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Marion, the owner, really makes this place what it is. We arrived after reception hours, but she stayed late to accommodate us and really made us feel like we weren't just another customer. All these other reviews are right: she just bends over backwards to be helpful, informative and friendly.

The room was stunning in its simple elegance. Think wooden parquet flooring, a large double bed with puffed up, modern cushions, and Provencal shutters that opened up on to the most wonderful garden. The room was a good size and very clean. It had very good air conditioning and a fridge - a real boon for a two-star.

The aforementioned garden was just beautiful. It was a true oasis from the hustle and bustle of Nice and overflowing with flower and scent. I looked forward to breakfast every morning in that garden. Marion or her mother constantly refilled our coffee (even warming up the milk for us!), the croissants were divine and the jams were homemade. It usually takes us a while to 'get into' a holiday, but this place just made us instantly relax and unwind.

Location is great - two minutes from the beach and the busy Rue de Massena. But bear in mind that it is a good 15-minute walk to the Old Town. Then again - we appreciated the fact, at night, that it was a bit outside of the Old Town. It was a lot quieter, and a lot nicer!

I would recommend this place to absolutely everyone with one reservation: if you are used to a certain 'class' of hotel, all the good service in the world isn't going to mean this place is for you. There is no Sky TV, no 24-hour reception or concierge, and the place does have its ramshackle quirks. (Doors opening straight on to the reception area, a hard to find exterior, etc, etc.) But if you - like us - think these things aren't worth a jot when you can get genuine warmth, hospitality and attention to detail - then please come to Nice Garden Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philosophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#19 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#20 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Garden Hotel

Property: Nice Garden Hotel
Address: 11 rue du Congres, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nice Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Nice Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing