We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and convenient”
Review of Hotel des Flandres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Flandres
Ranked #165 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Let's be honest here. For 581€ for six lads in two separate rooms from Friday to Monday, you can't complain. Most hotels in Nice at peak time were really expensive. As we weren't going to be staying in it much, the basic facilities didn't affect us too much. There are so many places nearby to enjoy, so we didn't take advantage of the breakfast facilities.

The hotel Wi-Fi was decent, but switched off on Sunday and didn't come back on. Plus there were only three power sockets in a room, including one in the bathroom. The corridors were dingy, but those were the only negatives. Hotel staff were very helpful and it was clean.

This was part of the Sassco.co.uk France 2013 Tour

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davindersangha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Flandres
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

I will do my best to explain the title, the thing is that I saw the photos and ofcourse it looked okay but when I got there I noticed that it didn't look different from the photos there are just certain things you don't notice on the photos, and the atmosphere as well the whole thing just felt run down and almost like they were preparing to shut down. They had also lost a star from the time that I booked (April) until I got there (July).
I don't know what to say about breakfast, it was a few tables in the corner of the room with some croissants and such stuff, a few yogurts with no flavor and the whole time I was there I never saw any staff in the room, no one to clear off tables or fill up on food. We often had difficulties trying to find a table because the room didn't have many and the ones that were there had dirty dishes and eaten food.
I don't know how to describe it better, I just found it shabby and over priced based on it's "quality". The only good thing I will say is that the location is good, it is around 3 minutes walk to the train station and maybe a minute to walk to some kind of a main road that has lots of shops and a big mall.
Anyway, I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elisabet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The pluses of this hotel are simple: Reasonable rates, prompt, fast maid service, friendly and helpful employees and a location in close proximity to areas of interest and the train station. The hotel was also pretty quiet and had excellent air conditioning.
The drawbacks are what one might expect from a lower-priced hotel: Rooms and bathrooms that could use some updating, somewhat hard or lumpy mattresses and a kind of lackluster appearance after one leaves the lobby. Even so, for the budget-minded traveler who doesn't expect to spend a lot of time in the room, this hotel is pretty good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Went there for family of five, stayed for 2 nights, it was okay but abit worn out, and it smells quite bad even the towels have a nasty smell. The ceiling has a hole on it and waters are dripping in the toilet. But it has a very strategic location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanley1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel had a spacious room for our family of five, and we enjoyed staying there. The staff was very helpful, and the room was very clean, but several of the beds had many springs that poked into us. That's the only reason for four stars, instead of five. We placed blankets over the worst mattresses, and that enabled us to sleep fine afterward. Besides the friendly, helpful staff, which was a big plus to us, the hotel is located near the train station, which was convenient with our Eurail pass. It was a little noisy in the room at night, as there are a few bars down the street, and the garbage trucks seem to run every night after 11pm. The neighborhood is okay--neither exceptionally good nor bad. We would recommend this hotel to other families on a budget in Nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreamweaver12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Central location near train station. Hotel has air conditioning but don't be fooled by the designer feel of the lobby. As soon as we got out of the lift, the corridor was dark and wires stuck out along the ceiling. There was a stale smell in our room and a wet patch on the carpet. Some damp in the bathroom walls. Lucky for us it was a one night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gazbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

As we were arriving and departing by train and only staying a night, we chose this hotel.
Signage outside was not good and we only saw the hotel when we arrived at it. Street was a bit run down.
Reception clerk was very polite and helpful. There was a lift also.
Rooms were old and a bit tired but clean. Breakfast had to be ordered and was not a great variety.
Shopping street and beach was very close.
Good basic hotel for a night's stay.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room facing street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelie-Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Saint Gothard
#122 of 204 in Nice
335 reviews
Centre
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#135 of 204 in Nice
33 reviews
Hotel Parisien
#93 of 204 in Nice
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel d'Ostende
Hotel d'Ostende
#147 of 204 in Nice
158 reviews
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#91 of 204 in Nice
575 reviews
Centre
Hotel Amaryllis
Hotel Amaryllis
#98 of 204 in Nice
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Flandres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Flandres

Address: 6 rue de Belgique, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £34 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Flandres 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally Located in the city center of Nice, near the train station, shops and the Avenue Jean Medecin Leading to Place Massena, the Hotel des Flandres features you Enjoy a memorable stay on the French 'Azure. By Staying with us, you can reach in few minutes the beaches, the famous Promenade des Anglais, the Old Nice and its flower market, the Museum of Modern Art Centre at the Acropolis Congress center. The Hotel, Which Was partially renovated recently met you 39 calm and comfortable rooms, Perfect for your relaxation. A delicious breakfast buffet is served each morning. A smiling staff and helpful 24/24 welcomes you all year for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel des Flandres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing