We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel le Royal” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Royal

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #120 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Nice
1 review
“Hotel le Royal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

For a short stay this hotel is ok. The location is super. It used to be a wonderful place, but now they are short of money to really make something nice and good. They are renovating the hotel, but doing half work. Such a pity. The service was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Emil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    204
    166
    87
    61
See reviews for
83
283
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

An ok 3-star hotel.

I went with 2 friends all in our thirties and we were the youngest people in the hotel by 30 years. Not a problem at all but worth knowing! Very well located for the beach and the promenade (and also for Nice Old Quarter) and it was reasonable value for 3 of us in a single room. The room was pretty basic (not modern living basic, just sparsely appointed) but spacious with aircon. Breakfast is not included and costs E14 so we went to one of the very many lovely cafes in Nice instead. Bathroom was clean and big.

Not a destination hotel by any stretch but if you just need somewhere to lay your head and be close to the beach then this does the trick.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The positive is that staff is friendly however several times I could not dial reception, my wife had the same experience;)location is an advantage, very close to the sea and city center, the building as itself is nice and has a historic flavor. The room was quite big. What we don't like is smelling in the corridor (we were living on a third floor), the carpet was dirty and despit the declaration of free wi-fi it was almost not working especially on my iPad. Price/value ratio is poor from my point of view but still could be a reasonable if you plan o stay a few days in Nice.



Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SizovM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
190 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

When you enter this hotel it is a little bit out of fashion but the room we had was very modern and new. Room 103.We had a outside so we can watch the sea and the joggers. The location is good, near the center and at the sea. Many restaurants in the neighbourhood, the Koudou is very good. There are also underground carparks a few meters from the hotel. Breakfast in the morning was chaotic, there was one waitress and she runs like the Olympic Plays but for so many people you need at most three men/women.Compliments for the hotel, we forgotten clothes and they send it to our home.

Room Tip: Room 103, great view and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgebilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

After reading the bad reviews on here I was concerned to the state of the hotel. On arrival scaffolding covered half the hotel but we were open minded, perfect location just across from the beach. Half of the rooms under renovation and a picture in the lift showed you what you could have once finished. Our room was good size and although very dated was clean. This was a pleasant surprise. No bad smells found in the foyer either. The annoyance for us was the rude ignorant staff in the bar who were never there to serve you. I waited 10 mins one evening to be served and gave up in the end going to reception to ask if I could have a drink. The bar closes @ 10.30pm and whether your sat there or not you get no warning or offer of another drink they just shut up shop. I asked for a drink whilst barman was closing to be told no its closed. I advised I was staying in the hotel and with complete resentment and no smile he served me very reluctantly. I have never stayed anywhere where the staff are so unhelpful and rude. I won't be staying here ever again due to the rubbish service!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jwjaws7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The room was cool, clean and quiet but very small. The food was very poor. There was absolutely no assistance offered by waiting staff at breakfast to a guest with reduced mobility. Good Location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I don't know how on earth this place has 3 stars! First, they screwed up our reservation. It was supposed to be for 3 nights and they only had us down for one. However, this was a blessing in disguise. The hallway upstairs smelled old and musty. Looking at some other reviews, it appears that the hotel is undergoing renovations. It did look like the bathroom had been partly redone, but the trim around the ceiling was still dingy looking, the drain stopper had to be pried off in the sink, and there was only one VERY dim light in the bathroom. The bedroom had what appeared to be newer furniture and a flat screen TV, but the linens were old, and the light fixture in the middle of the room was literally hanging by its wires 4 inches below the ceiling! We had an ocean view room, but the balcony was small and had only one cheap plastic chair on it. And the noise from the promenade was very loud at night.

I guess the location is pretty good -- right on the beach -- and this place may have been nice about 30 years ago, but it's definitely past its prime and cost me almost $300 for one night. We moved hotels in the morning and were much happier afterwards.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel West End
#50 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#72 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#46 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal

Property: Hotel Le Royal
Address: 23 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Nice
Le Royal Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing