We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great old hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #117 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great old hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We booked an ocean view room with a balcony and were not disappointed.
I think we must have been in one the refurbished rooms if other reviews here are anything to go by.
Our room was clean and we were very satisfied with it and the bathroom during the 3 nights we stayed here. The staff were pleasant and helpful and spoke at the least some english.
There was only one lift and it was slow at times, but I think when in hotels of this age you have to expect this. We had aircon, tv, phone and a table and chair on the balcony. There was no fridge, but his is the norm in Europe. The bar staff provided ice and and ice bucket for our use. The bar and cafe at entry level was good for a coffee or drink as well and the restaurant also at entry level looked nice, even though we didnt use it.
The hotel is situated on the famous Promenade des Anglais, across the road from a public beach (which we frequented) and 4 to 5 minute walk to the old town up the promenade or a slightly longer stroll one block back through the many shops and restaurants.
It was more expensive than we had paid through out our 5 week trip, but it was worth it for the balcony and the view. This makes it hard to answer the value question below.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the Promenade, so could get a little noisy. Take earplugs like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled18652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliherphe, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We were very pleased to welcome you and really thank you for your positive feedback: that was a pleasure to do everything possible so that your stay was very appreciated. We hope to welcome you for your future stay in France and Nice especially.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    204
    169
    89
    61
See reviews for
85
285
48
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel has a grand facade and is in a prime location on the promenade. However, do not judge a book by its cover! Internally it is extremely tired. Only one of the two lifts work (and it's extremely slow). The communal corridors and the room had an old and musty smell. The hotel is currently undergoing some renovations and it looks like it is long overdue. The carpet in the room was filthy and many of the tiles in the bathroom were cracked and in disrepair and at night I was slightly alarmed to find cockroaches in the bathroom. In addition, the television turned itself on TWICE during the night while I was sleeping with the volume on full blast. The walls in the rooms are also paper thin and there was no chance of having a lie-in with all the noise in the corridor and next door.
I complained the next morning and the staff on the front desk seemed pretty disinterested. They blamed the television incident on a previous guest (who, they claim must have set the TV alarm to go off in the middle of the night) and offered me a EUR5 discount for the inconvenience of the cockroaches!
I would certainly not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Nice
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

For a short stay this hotel is ok. The location is super. It used to be a wonderful place, but now they are short of money to really make something nice and good. They are renovating the hotel, but doing half work. Such a pity. The service was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Emil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

An ok 3-star hotel.

I went with 2 friends all in our thirties and we were the youngest people in the hotel by 30 years. Not a problem at all but worth knowing! Very well located for the beach and the promenade (and also for Nice Old Quarter) and it was reasonable value for 3 of us in a single room. The room was pretty basic (not modern living basic, just sparsely appointed) but spacious with aircon. Breakfast is not included and costs E14 so we went to one of the very many lovely cafes in Nice instead. Bathroom was clean and big.

Not a destination hotel by any stretch but if you just need somewhere to lay your head and be close to the beach then this does the trick.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The positive is that staff is friendly however several times I could not dial reception, my wife had the same experience;)location is an advantage, very close to the sea and city center, the building as itself is nice and has a historic flavor. The room was quite big. What we don't like is smelling in the corridor (we were living on a third floor), the carpet was dirty and despit the declaration of free wi-fi it was almost not working especially on my iPad. Price/value ratio is poor from my point of view but still could be a reasonable if you plan o stay a few days in Nice.



Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SizovM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
190 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

When you enter this hotel it is a little bit out of fashion but the room we had was very modern and new. Room 103.We had a outside so we can watch the sea and the joggers. The location is good, near the center and at the sea. Many restaurants in the neighbourhood, the Koudou is very good. There are also underground carparks a few meters from the hotel. Breakfast in the morning was chaotic, there was one waitress and she runs like the Olympic Plays but for so many people you need at most three men/women.Compliments for the hotel, we forgotten clothes and they send it to our home.

Room Tip: Room 103, great view and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgebilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel West End
#54 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Le Meridien Nice
#72 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#39 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal

Property: Hotel Le Royal
Address: 23 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Fastbooking, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Nice
Le Royal Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing