We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and a great view”
Review of Hotel Le Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #115 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 14 August 2014

they have renovated the rooms. Much better then 2010. I enjoyed this hotel because it is in such a great location on the promenade des Anglais. very reasonable prices. Rooms are comfortable. better ask for a view on the promenade it is worth it.

Room Tip: Please ask for a room with a view on the promenade to wake up to the wonder seaview and breeze.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mags574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a four day break in Nice to celebrate a significant birthday. We stayed at Le Royal, perfectly situated on Promenade des Anglais and just a short walk to the old town and Place Massena. Our room was on the fifth floor with a stunning view of the bay and Promenade. Recently renovated the room was beautifully decorated and generously sized with a small balcony, plenty of wardrobe space and great shower/bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and provided a great nights sleep.
Top marks for the staff too who were all very friendly and helpful and helped make for a great stay. Although we hadn't booked any meals in advance we took advantage of the breakfast which was excellent value with a tremendous variety of hot n cold buffet.
Thank you to all at Le Royal for making my wife's birthday a memorable event.

Room Tip: Sea view room essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

After reading a few other Reviews on the Royal, I am beginning to wonder if we were in a different Hotel as our experience was nothing but excellent! we were on the top floor on the long continuos balcony, from where the View is Simply Breathtaking! our room was extremely comfortable, neat and tidy and quite luxurious. The Staff at Reception were among the best and most helpful I have come across anywhere in the World, one young lady even gave us a map and drew a route to a shop in town to where I could buy an updated Sat Nav for the car, she was spot on with the shop that sold them! Breakfast is very nice and on the donwstairs veranda infront of the hotel. We arrived unknowingly on 14th July, Bastille Day! and the police had cordoned off the promenade where the hotel is located, we ended up finally finding a public underground carpark around the corner from the hotel, our misery in crawling into Nice turned around as we sat in a great restaurant close to the hotel watching the awesome firework display and the various bands and performers on 4 large moving floats, the promenade was packed with thousands of people all celebrating the day in style... we would stay in Le Royal Everytime we come back to Nice... Thank you to those who made us more than welcome!

Room Tip: Make sure if you Book a room to arrive on Bastille Day, July 14th, that you arrive Very Early i.e. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Truffles_EOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The room we had was dark and dismal, the wallpaper was peeling and the room smelt. The bathroom had broken tiles and mould everywhere and when we showered the bathroom flooded. The two single beds had plastic under the sheets and old woolen blankets. The staff were unhelpful with booking tours etc, lazy and almost rude.
Breakfast is very basic with squeeze your own juice and make your own coffee.
The location was perfect but the hotel is old, worn and very overpriced and should be rated as a hostel not a hotel.
We tried to change rooms but the staff were not at all helpful, perhaps because we had booked a non refund room online they had our money regardless.
Overall the location was wonderful, close to restaurants and the beach but the hotel was such a disappointment in quality, service and value.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Renita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We(me,my wife and my 13 years old daughter ) stayed two nights at the Le Royal.
Overally it met our expectations.
Our room: renovated , sea view , floor 1
Pros:
1-Location : unbeatable , easy access ( 15 walking to train station , bus stop to airport less than 100m)
2-Staff : polite,helpful
3-Room: clean,magnificent view , quite spacious
4-Breakfast : fresh,diverse
Cons:
1-Even needs a big renovation
2-unstable wifi

Room Tip: Just renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Adybeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We Stayed at this Hotel July 4 to July 11 and can recommend it , all the staff are very friendly we paid for breakfast plenty of choice and quite good value for Nice , The hotel is on the front so great location our room was a city view one !!! quite large by French standards but needs updating we will definitely use this Hotel again as we go to Nice quite often if the price is right .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good location, rooms extreemly clean, a little dated but clean never the less. Very helpful reception staff. Bathroom needed a little work re shower but ok. Good value for money considering the location

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
2  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel West End
#33 of 203 in Nice
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#83 of 203 in Nice
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal

Address: 23 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £88 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Le Royal in Nice on the majestic Promenade des Anglais, offers modern decor, flawless service, an excellent restaurant and an exciting programme of excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Nice
Le Royal Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing