We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little service as such but well located and well priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel le Petit Trianon
Ranked #107 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Little service as such but well located and well priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location cannot be beaten. It is in a pedestrian mall above shops. We were shocked when we arrived and had to tranport 4 heavy suitcases up 5 flights of stairs, and were grateful that a fellow guest who was coming down stopped to help us. I should also say that two of the girls who were cleaning the rooms when we checked out helped us to bring our luggage down the stairs again and also called a taxi for us (who by the way ripped us off as did both taxis we hired in Nice but that's another story!)

As others have said, this is not really a hotel. It's not really even a bed and breakfast. It is a collection of rooms for hire in a building and not much more. However, the location is excellent, the room is nice, the bathroom is spacious and the wifi is free. We booked a superior (higher) room but I'm not sure we actually got it as we certainly didn't have a full sized fridge, toaster or microwave! Perhaps if we had we might have rated the hotel a 5 instead of a 4.

Again as others have said, if you expect service, stay somewhere else; but if you want cheap, clean and well located, and are able to walk up and down 5 flights of stairs several times a day, le Petit Trianon may be what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Ask for the room which has the full sized fridge and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    89
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
16
145
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Perfect location, near the beach and old town. Simple, quiet and very relaxed. More of a boutique b&b than a hotel. Be sure to confirm your arrival time in advance. Would certainly stay again, great beginning to our honeymoon.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyVan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here back in 2010 on B&B basis, and decided to return this June and try one of the studios. We were not disappointed. Yes, there are lots of stairs but this is a minor point. Our studio was spacious with comfy beds, a well equiped kitchen area with full sized fridge, coffee maker, kettle and grill/microwave. The bathroom had a powerful shower and towels were changed daily and the room cleaned and bed made. The air conditioning was working well.
We arrived mid morning, our room was not ready but we were able to leave our baggage. You will be given the entry door access code on arrival, together with the code for Internet.
We will stay here again on our next visit to Nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tri2triSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I agree with a previous poster, this is not a hotel in the traditional sense. Its a collection of rooms in a commercial building in a great pedestrian area of Nice. We arrived at about 3pm, there was no answer to the bell. And when we eventually got up to the hotel on the 3rd floor ( Lots of stairs with heavy suitcases) there was a note on the door to say they were out shopping, back in 15 mins with a number. We didnt have a phone but a short while later some other guests arrived and let us in. We then used their phone to call them and a nice man came a short while later ( this was much longer than 15 mins and after having let two other groups of guests in on other days after they had been waiting quite a while I figure this is par for the course). I was also told I was luck to have a room because I booked to far in advance ( 8 months) and they had forgotten to move my reservation to the new book. I emailed the day before to ask about parking and received no response but this triggered a memory and we got our rooms. Two people who came later that day who also had a reservation, did not sound to be as lucky! So after the frustrations of checking in, the rooms are great we had a standard room for one night until some other guests moved out and we then moved to a superior room which is what we originally booked. Both rooms were nice, but go for the superior if you can. Its bigger and has a balcony. AC worked well, great bathroom with awesome shower, a real shower not one of those hand held jobs, room was well appointed, it was just perfect. Location is perfect too, right in the heart of the luxury shopping, of which we did not partake, but close to the regular shopping street, good restaurants and bars, and about 5 mins to the beach. The "hotel" does not have any parking, and as we found out parking is expensive at 24 euros a day. We ditched our rental car early as we didnt need it. We were advised to take the express bus to the airport which we caught to the right of McDonalds for 6 euros each and took about 20-25 mins, perfect. I would definitely stay here again, but now know what I am getting into. There is pretty much no service and lots of stairs. The owners are pleasant, its clean, the rooms have AC and are well appointed, its in a perfect location and it costs 100 euros. What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This place had the most comfortable bed we've slept on in 26 years. We would not categorize it as a hotel, but more of a bed & breakfast. That being said, this is definitely the best B&B we've been too. The staff was friendly and helpful, and speaks fluent English. Location-wise, it was close to the Promenade de Anglais, the main bus stop, Place Massena, and just a walk from the beach.

Pros: Great location, friendly staff, comfy bed, pretty French deco.
Cons: A few flights of stairs to get to the hotel.

We will definitely come back and recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granmanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Really nice place, comfy beds, clean rooms, fab location. Ok, i agree with other comments it is not a hotel but this is france, dont expect a hotel to be full of services. Place is like you are renting a room, a very cure one. I would stay here again. Owner and cleaners very nice. Good job!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MafsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

here is why this place might not be for you: if you are looking for a hotel or inn that will attend to all of your whims; or if you cannot or do not want to walk several flights of stairs. Le Petit Trianon does not have an elevator and you have to walk to the 4th or 5th floor with all your luggage, by yourself. It's in a building with other businesses but you don't really see many people. The building is not new because most of Nice is not new. The rooms, however, are excellent with excellent bathrooms. They have laptops in each room with free internet but if the laptop isn't charged then it's useless, ask for the cord. We dealt with one person only - she cleaned the place, received payment, and got us breakfast one morning (book the previous day). Be sure to confirm with the place if it's OK to arrival at such ungodly hours as 2AM (the doors are locked after curfew 10-11pm). Now, if you're knees, back are OK and you're going to Nice to see the city and not the hotel where you are staying, then Le Petit Trianon is for you. It's super clean, staff is friendly (if you have questions about the city, transportation, etc). We did not have great views, but it wasn't the back of a building either. Is very, very well located, close to shops and the beach. At around U$100 a night it is a very good deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bielinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#143 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Hotel Solara
#105 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#88 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#34 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#91 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#82 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Petit Trianon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Petit Trianon

Property: Hotel le Petit Trianon
Address: 11 rue Paradis, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Petit Trianon 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Nice's city center, Hotel Le Petit Trianon is located between the world famous Promenade des Anglais, along the Mediterranean sea's beaches, and the flower market of the Old Nice on the Cours Saleya. You will find close by many restaurants and cafes. Our boutique hotel in the heart of Nice combines modern and classic with elegantly decorated rooms, fully equipped with a laptop and a free wifi connection in each rooom. All rooms have air conditioning and a hairdryer. There is easy access to our hotel through the Nice Cote d'Azur Airport in 10 minutes or at the railway station less than 5 minutes. The Acropolis Congress Centre is also within 10 minutes from the Petit Trianon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel le Petit Trianon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing