We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above a Strip Club”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #186 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Above a Strip Club”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I am 95% sure this hotel is situated above a strip club. Our room was on the floor 5 (top floor) not by choice, and we were forced to walk up five steep flights of stairs up to our room. The hotel is across from the train station which in most ways is a negative. Train stations tend to attract seedy persons, and this area is without a doubt one of the seediest areas in all of Nice. When we got to our room we realized they didn't air condition the room, and there was one outlet in the whole double room. We were woken up at 9 and then again at 10 in the morning by housekeepers knocking on our doors to try and clean our rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    15
    24
    17
    35
See reviews for
13
38
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

There is no way that this could be a 3-star hotel!

Staying here has been a horrible experience from the moment we walked inside. Even though the hotel is located only one street over from the train station, we had to walk through hordes of young men loitering outside to get here, and neither of us felt safe (even though my boyfriend is large and muscly). This feeling was confirmed when a fight broke out across the street. The location seems rather dodgy, and there seems to be a "gentleman's club" in the basement level of the hotel, based on signs outside.

Our room was on the top floor and was miniscule; even though our room looked like one of the larger ones on the floor plan, there was just enough room to side-step down either side of the bed. There was not even enough room to leave our suitcases open on the floor. The bathroom is a little roomier, but the shower hose does not have anywhere to connect it to the wall. The towels provided were tiny (hand-towel size) and dirty! Also, there were mosquitos in our room when we arrived and one of the powerpoints was hanging off the wall. You can also hear a lot of noise from the corridor, other rooms and the street (especially when the window is open - and being a small room, it gets very stuffy and there is no AC). There is free wi-fi... but it never worked for us on the entire top floor. We had to go down to the reception area to be able to use it.

Most employees we have encountered do not speak a shred of English, even though there is a large sign at reception stating "We speak English". The only people who do seem to speak a little English are the owners (or who I presume to be the owners), who are there in the morning with their two cute dogs. They make an attempt to be polite and friendly while serving breakfast. However, I strongly recommend that you do not pay for breakfast! We paid an extra 12 euro per night in our booking for breakfast, and it consisted of only a bread basket, a criossant each and juice or coffee/tea.

I definitely would not stay here again. There are plenty of other two- and three-star hotels just down the road that are in a much better location and look so much nicer than this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sara_mynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Hotel Interlaken was good I just didn't like the lasting impression from them when I asked for a late check out... I understand they have other guests arriving but it was only checking out at 12pm, If other hotels can do it why cant they?? room was a fairly good size and well kept, some staff and the cleaners were lovely. O asked to leave my small hand bag and they seemed to have caused a small ruckus surely most hotels have a place to leave your bags behind ? anyway overall was okay/average.

Room Tip: Hotel Interlaken was good I just didnt like the lasting impression from them when I asked for a late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ema A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

When we arrived at nice station late at night we were relieved to see the hotel lit up right across the road! however we were a bit daunted when there were youths hanging around on the steps we had to walk down to get to street level and even more daunted to see signd for a strip club below the hotel....however this was never open when we were there. Staff weren't the friendliest...but dont expect highest quality of friendliness from the french lol! the room was colourful and adequate - bathroom small but clean! had a fan which was needed because it was warm! free wifi was a bonus! location wise it was only 5 mins from the tram which is only a 3 min ride to the sea front! good value for a cheap but not as cheap as a hostel base to explore nice!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed for a long weekend and the Hotel was Ideally situated near buses and the train Station so we could easily explore the Cote d'Azur and walking distance to everything else in Nice.
It has all the basic amenities and some lovely decorations that really brighten up the hotel and make it fun.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We will be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAD1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Francis Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

The worst hotel I've ever stayed in! My husband and I were there for two nights in June. The location is awful. Right opposite the station with a lap dancing club downstairs. The streets are filthy and smell like a urinal. The room was ridiculously small with the most basic of furniture. As it was hot and we had not been provided with a fan we had to keep the window open at night. This meant we didn't get much sleep as the noise from the street could wake the dead. The room was dirty, linen tired and bathroom substandard. The staff can hardly speak English, don't seem to enjoy being there so don't expect much help or information from them. If we hadn't paid in advance, I would have gone elsewhere. The best part of my stay was checking out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingfisher1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel Berlioz
Hotel Berlioz
#126 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Hotel Belle Meuniere
#135 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#152 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#70 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#88 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Property: Hotel Interlaken
Address: 26 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Interlaken 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Interlaken Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing