We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French Basil Fawlty - and noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #186 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“French Basil Fawlty - and noisy”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Booked the hotel Interlaken given its convenience for railway station as we were arriving from Italy in the evening before taking a flight home the following morning (airport bus leaves from the main train station).

Manning reception was a senior French man, who seemed confused and annoyed by finding himself at work in this hotel, and was rude and abrupt in a number of languages with the various groups / couples trying to deal with him. He tried to charge us for our already paid room ... we had to fetch out our prepaid receipt upon which he relented saying it was not clear in his list...

Hotel looks like it has been renovated recently. Facade has been freshly painted. Our room was small, looked out onto the street from first floor. As we were one night stayers, they probably figured we'd put up with the noise from the street which was unholy. Usual railway station sleaze and a lot of traffic; a sort of underpass begins just outside the hotel. No a/c or ventilation so closing the window is suffocating in summer months. We had fitful sleep and thanked the heavens that we did not have to stay a second night.

Re room, ours was first floor and had clearly been part of a recent renovation. New lino etc, new not very well fitted bathroom. I regret not taking a picture: room was small, on first floor with noise problems already indicated. Bathroom was basic, shower head cheap and broken and sent water in all directions, also no wall fixture for shower head. Stand out features of room: everything seemed to be on a slope for some reason. Not bad enough to roll out of bed but weird nonetheless. But weirdest of all was the colour scheme: bright red and orange in random oblongs for all of the bedroom walls. Like something from a Milligram experiment or a Stanley Kubrick film.

If you want a reasonable hotel near Nice train station, just continue walking down away from the Hotel Interlaken. There are plenty in the quieter rues nearby.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    15
    24
    17
    35
See reviews for
13
38
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

We were travelling for 2 months so I hunted for best-priced hotels and felt I would make a mistake somewhere. Now it turned out to be very good value, with(depending on who was at the desk) friendly service. The stairs (no lift) were a bit of a problem as nothing had prepared for the heat we'd encounter here and in Italy in August. The bed was good; most of the rooms were painted in gorgeous bright colours, and the stairwell had fun, bright paintings everywhere. The sheets were laundry-white and the rooms were serviced daily. The position was great, straight across the street from the rail station from where we did trips to various points up and down the coast. I left this until the end so you'd read the good points first; when we alighted from the train I looked up and down for our hotel ... there it was, in all its pinkness, with a flashing light below advertising 'Stripper'! This turned out to be a different building, and the hotel was respectable with other budget travellers staying. I must say though, a fan in the room would have been good. For the price I don't think you'll do better.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venusbathstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

If you need to be close to the train station, you can't get any closer. I could have kicked a football and hit it through the entrance. This is the one and only bonus.

Nice itself is a little shabby, the stepchild between Monacco and Cains. Knowing that, we;d never return. That said, there are some charming neighborhoods once you dig around with great restaurants. This was not one of them. If you want to be surrounded by dodgy guys from Africa offering phone cards and internet, stay around here. Unfortunately, there seems to be many hotels/hostels here.

The front desk staff didn't speak a lick of English and didn't even try. Don't be fooled by the website, these rooms are falling apart and look nothing like the pictures. The breakfast which we knew better not to buy was overpriced and in the end, we were happy to be moving on.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnoobyGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The location is great as the train station is just opposite the hotel (but not the beach). Room is small and it is very noisy at night. We couldn't sleep at all, and we moved out the next day immediately.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank h00tie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

kidderminster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

The shabbiest room i have stayed in since spending time with Terry Waite, a derelict shower was only beaten by the windows , falling off and refusing to shut, and the wide variety of noise`s from the gutter outside, the only noise missing was from trains in the station itself, a passing circus act refused to let their fleas stay the night due to cleanliness issues, i would have to be bankrupt,blind or traumatised to stay here again without manacles , which are probably available from the sex shop next door , even if they paid me 61 euros a night this would still be over priced.
A great place to meet immigrants , drug dealers and bugs from all over the world.
I would rather stay in the Bastille whilst wearing a blackadder wig.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank dalmatian61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2008

The shower in our room had the rising rail unusable as (1) it was very loose (2) no water would come out if the shower head was lifted that high. The control also was very loose and there was no hot water. Two of us had a cold shower, but there was no water at all for the third of us. The reception person was uninterested, did not investigate and just shrugged their shoulders. The washbasin was loose and similarly had no hot water.

We had come to visit a friend who was performing in Monte Carlo and we spent the night in her hotel room, which she very kindly vacated for us. We returned to the Interlaken the next day and found that nothing had been done with regard to the shower. The front desk staff knew nothing about the problem.

We therefore cancelled the remaining 2 nights we had booked. We received a refund for the 2 cancelled nights but no refund was offerred for the night the room was unusable. We intended returning home early if we could not find alternative accommodation, but were lucky to find an excellent room, although slightly more expensive, at the nearby Ibis Nice Centre Gare.

As we didn't actually stay overnight we did not experience the delights (!) of the sex club referred to by other reviewers.

  • Liked — You are joking!
  • Disliked — Lack of a working shower
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esthameian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

During a recent few days in France, we spent a night at the Hotel Interlaken in Nice. It was certainly a night we shall not forget.

Our room was quite small, modern and uninspiring. Only one small towel for each of us was provided. We were prepared to overlook these shortcomings - after all, we were only going to be there for one night. However, on returning to the hotel later that night our problems began. The hotel is situated opposite the main railway station and alongside an underpass where it surfaces from underground. Next door there is a sex club. Throughout the night the noise was unbearable even with the windows closed - the constant roar of traffic surfacing from the underpass, men loitering, chatting and laughing near the sex club, and later in the night the banging and clattering of the dustcarts and the machines washing down the streets. It was a hot, sleepless night that we hope never to have to experience again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The unbearabkle noise
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Boldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel Berlioz
Hotel Berlioz
#126 of 204 in Nice
135 reviews
Hotel Belle Meuniere
#137 of 204 in Nice
129 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#74 of 204 in Nice
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#152 of 204 in Nice
14 reviews
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#88 of 204 in Nice
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Property: Hotel Interlaken
Address: 26 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Interlaken 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Interlaken Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing