We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy”
Review of Hotel Berlioz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Berlioz
Ranked #133 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very noisy”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Have to say the owner was very attentive and offered plenty of help. The room is very small andquite cramped, with an even smaller bathroom. Afull hight cupboard would make more sense than the half hight unit. Room was clean, Thge bed was very noisy creaked and screached evry time you rolled over and sagged badly in the middle. The website says sound proofed but it's a long way from that does have double glazed windows but the traffic noise is still very clear not to mention the skip/bin emptying each night after midnight, you can also hear the people in the next room talking and the clip clop of the peoples feet in the room above, my room was above reception and the buzz from the front door code lock each time it operated was like being in a game show! The website for the hotel offers a laundry service which in fact they don't offer. Breakfast was not bad but would probably be better value to wander the short distance to the abundance of cafes and restaurants nearby. Hotel is very well situated for the train station and all other amentities are a fairly short walk away. Wifi was very good quality

Room Tip: Make sure you pack some good quality ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 666Savage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    52
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
13
65
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We chose this hotel because of its LOCATION (nearby the train station, so handy for day trips to Monaco and Cannes) and the INTERNET connection (some reviews mentioned it was too weak on the top floor, but our room was on the top floor and it was fine - good enough for browsing and emailing). There are many hotels closer to the beach and the Old Town, but we didn't mind a 20-minute walk.

The room was CLEANED every morning (only when we were away, so there wasn't any incovenience). The BATHROOM was spacious, with a good detachable shower and basic toileteries. The ROOM itself was on the small side but perfectly adequate, with A/C, a wardrobe, a chair, two bed-side tables and a TV.

The only things we were missing was a bar (it's only open for a buffet breakfast) and a fridge (well we never expected one in a two-star hotel, but ideally it would be nice).

Note that the check-in DESK is not generally monitored, so it feels more like apartments than a hotel. But it's not a problem - the front door is always locked (you get a key), there's CCTV in the lobby and you get the owner's phone number, so he can be there within 10 mins.

I really liked the COMMUNICATION from the hotel - we got an email the night before arrival confirming our booking and asking about the arrival time.

The INTERNET was very useful, as we struggled to find free WiFi in town. (Try the area around McDonald's on the Promenade for a free signal though!).

The STAIRCASE is indeed quite narrow, so request a room on the 1st floor if you don't like climbing the stairs every time or if you have heavy luggage. The owner helped us with carrying the suitcases to the top floor though, and we didn't mind a bit of exercise, so it wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 1st or 2nd floor if you want a better Internet connection (it's a bit weak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violetta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

just got back from nice three hours ago and was so impressed with the hotel,nice and the surrounding area,i felt the need to write this straight away. before we even left the country the manager rang us to give us directions to the hotel once we landed which was a nice touch, then when we arrived at the hotel the manager had prepared us a map with all the best bits marked on it for us, the hotel was situated just near the train station so excellent for exploring the coast and all the areas marked out were beautiful, especially villefrance sur mer, juan des pins and of course the extravagant monaco. The hotel itself is small but perfectly formed, its really clean,great value and as mentioned before perfectly located with a really personal friendly feel, I would definately recommend this hotel to my friends and family and we are going back next may.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111emma111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This hotel is very pretty and clean. It is quite small so there is no elevator which means u have to carry ur stuff up the stairs. I like it slot. There is no bin and we had no hot water on the night though. There is no fridge so u can't buy water and keep it cool but overall very cute hotel

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiezac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2010

The hotel is conveniently located near the main train station, which is ideal for people arriving, departing or taking day trips to Cannes or Monaco. It was about 8 blocks to the beach/main promenade or six blocks to the "eat street" of Nice. There is not much around, but it's not too far to local attractions and is fairly quiet for a large city. It's a quaint, small hotel, but the value is unbeatable. It's is recently updated and everything was clean and in working order. The man at the front desk spoke pretty good English and was extremely friendly.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNGaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We stayed for a week, the hotel is very small and very clean. The stairs up to the rooms is one person width and struggle to get baggage up. The hotel is a bit like the Marie celest and owner appears at breakfast. This is not for anyone who has a average appitite, cheese, salami, bread ,cereal, jam and coffee sounds not too bad, but in small quanties, he then appears to dissapear when top ups required. The breakfast room is very cosey. We had to ask for larger shower toweles as only hand ones were provided, he did supply. No facilites for tea and coffee and 'room service' only supplied cold drinks. Would I go back..............for a day or two as you are out and about exploring but no room for staying on the hotel for any length of time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franceinfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

I stayed for 4 nights at the Berlioz and was anxious about its 2* status. I shouldn't have been. The rooms were spotless, the bathroom brand new, the service excellent and the breakfast more than adequate. I will happily stay there again and would recommend it to anyone travelling on a limited budget.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeKia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Amaryllis
Hotel Amaryllis
#110 of 205 in Nice
206 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#60 of 205 in Nice
105 reviews
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#89 of 205 in Nice
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Hotel Belle Meuniere
#136 of 205 in Nice
132 reviews
Hotel Saint Gothard
#123 of 205 in Nice
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berlioz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berlioz

Property: Hotel Berlioz
Address: 55 rue Berlioz, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Le Petit Hotel)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Berlioz 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berlioz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlioz Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing