We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Hotel Wilson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wilson
Ranked #115 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Be prepared for a bit of a hike up the stairs. No lift. Not unusual though in my experience of Frane.
Loved the fingerprint recognition at the door!
The owners are very friendly, both speak several languages.
I wouldn't bother with the breakfast. It was quite expensive for what you get. It is served in an interesting room though, it's cluttered with things from the owner's travels. There's only one table and can be a bit awkward when packed in with other visitors.
The room we stayed in was quite basic but nice and clean.
Beware of the tortoise that wanders the halls! I stood on it! Very gently, and with very light trainers on, so it was okay! It wanderd off anyway! Phew!
Location was good. Five minutes from some great small streets bustling with people and restaurants.
All in all a nice place to stay. After reading lots of reviews for lots of hotels in Nice I felt as if I would be a bit unsafe! But I did not feel like this in this hotel. Would go back! :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelsbytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Wilson
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

We are North Americans and know that there are different tolerance levels in Europe regarding smoking laws. The amount of smoke in this hotel was crazy. The workers, owner and guests all smoked. The smoke would seep into our room and it became unbearable to breath. Clothes in our backpacks started to smell like smoke. Overall our stay otherwise could be considered reasonable. I'm not too sure about the two star rating but we did end up staying there for 4 nights. Not the friendliest staff and the room charges were higher then what was agreed upon through email but in the end they did honour the lower of the two.

Room Tip: Themed rooms are cool. Go with the Moroccan.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrokenLaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

OK rooms - good location - nice little bar and the breakfast was good. Front dest person was a bit cool.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed two nights here and loved it for its good value, character and location. It is an easy walk to the beach. Breakfasts were an unexpected pleasure, as was seeing the two turtles who live there! It was a little hard to find as the sign is quite small, however people in the street were friendly and happy to point us in the right direction. The only downside is that the rooms don't have air conditioning or a fan. It was incredibly stuffy and hot with the windows closed, and very noisy with the windows open as it is on a busy street. We ended up sleeping with the window open, and earplugs in. A portable fan would have been good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairess_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We had a very relaxed and enjoyable stay at Hotel Wilson. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was very comfortable and clean.

The one issue was the lack of a/c. It would have been fine but there were loads of mosquitos around so we had to either suffer the heat with the windows closed or bathe in insect repellent with them open.

This issue is the only thing that would keep me from here in summer otherwise I'd be straight back.

Room Tip: If you want a room with its only balcony including table and chairs and don't mind sharing a bat...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingkiwi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Considering how crazy expensive Nice is, Hotel Wilson is a great value. The rooms were clean and functional. We stayed in a twin room. It wasn't very big, but it suited our needs. It is centrally located in Nice, with the sea being just a 5 minute walk. The staff was friendly, although not overly so; they were able to answer our questions in a helpful manner. I do not think that the hotel is entirely non-smoking, but it did not bother us too much. The best part of the hotel was the breakfast. I thoroughly enjoyed the jams and pastries. If you want a hotel that is a good value without any major frills or luxuries, then Hotel Wilson is a very good choice for Nice!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJJKruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Mr Martinez was very nice and friendly. Apparently, he spent a lot of time in decorating this hotel. The best part is that our room has a small balcony.
It is reasonably clean and i think it is good for is value.
Of course, need to overcome the stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garlic_Chilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Star Hotel
#77 of 204 in Nice
449 reviews
Hotel Comte de Nice
#145 of 204 in Nice
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#95 of 204 in Nice
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilson

Address: 39 rue de l Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £35 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Wilson 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing