We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a Hostel than a Hotel”
Review of Hotel Wilson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Wilson
Ranked #114 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We did not have a positive experience at Hotel Wilson. First, you feel like you are staying at someone's apartment instead of a real hotel. There is no lift - the hotel is on the 3rd floor. The rooms are not very clear or spacious and there is no air conditioning or even fans. It was very hot in August and the the rooms smell of smoke. The rooms facing the street are very noisy. This hotel is more like a hostel and it is cheap - you will also be central. But there are plenty of hotels around that will give you a better experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

A nice Place in Nice. Our next time when we in Nice, we will stay here. Great Rooms in an old Building with many different Style. And the Hotel employers are great and frindley to. Thanks for your good Job!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Manfred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I was traveling in France with my teenage daughter this summer, and the price at Hotel Wilson fit our budget nicely. It is a decent B&B with an unbeatable price for the location. It has creative, comfortable decor that makes it feel homey. Consider asking for a room off the main street, or bring earplugs. Our room overlooked the main street and, because there is no air conditioning, we kept our windows open at night so the room would not be stuffy. I heard street noise well into the late hours of the night. (On the other hand, my daughter slept right through it and so it was not an issue for her.). The benefit of the rooms facing the street: we faced east, so we got sunshine in our room in the morning, and it was shaded and cool in the afternoon. A nice breeze comes in when the windows are open, even in July. There is no elevator, so you will need to be able to carry your luggage up 3 flights of stairs. Our tiny bathroom provided a sink and shower; toilets are down the hall. There were two mirrors in the tiny bathroom but none in the bedroom, which would have been handy. The manager speaks a little English and was helpful when I had questions. The manager is a smoker, so be aware that you may encounter some cigarette smoke during your stay. We had lovely room service daily (made the beds, etc.). There is a nice laundromat around the corner where I did laundry while my daughter slept in one morning, and there is a little pastry & coffee shop just across the street if you want breakfast on your own (we didn't have breakfast at Hotel Wilson) -- or go out for cheap crepes and coffee in the back streets of Old Nice. This B&B does not keep lights on in the hallway at night (energy efficient!), and since they do not have motion sensors to make the lights come on, you will see the little neon lights on the light switches glowing along the hallway, so you know where the light switches are as you go down the hall at night. I recommend this place to travelers on a budget.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank CarolinaGal96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here and we both liked it. It was in a great location--very close to the old city. The room was cozy, but comfortable with a beautiful little terrace with lots of plants. We stayed in the "Frida Kahlo" room, which had a number of different pictures of and by Frida, which was fun! Our room was clean, and it was good to have a window that opened in order to get some cool air during the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

An excellent location in the city centre. My single room was clean and comfortable with washbasin and cute sunny balcony. Shared shower/toilets immaculate. The hotel owner/manager was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank RosalindMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had a "Nicé" stay at Hotel Wilson - which has the basics yet has character… : in depth review and tips below:

Hotel Wilson, 39, rue de l'hôtel des Postes, Nice, 06000

I visited this hotel for two nights while interrailing in September 2013.

Our package (was for a double room and shared bathroom)

The hotel is located a couple of miles from the airport and 15-20 minutes walk from the Nicé Ville train station.

If catching a bus from the airport, there is the 98 express bus to the centre of Nicé which costs approximately €6.50 per person which can be purchased from the bus depot outside the terminal. Take the bus to Albert 1er where it should then be a 5-10 minute walk away to Hotel Wilson via Jean Medicin and then a right along Rue de Hotel Postes.

However, there apparently is a cheaper local bus that could be caught a short distance away from the terminal, which will cost approximately €1.50 per person per trip (bus numbers - 9 or 10) from what I was told. The bus will stop at Wilson, which is then a couple of minutes walk down the road.

The hotel entrance is discrete. Refer to the sign 39 la Restaurant to make sure that you do not walk past it.

There are 5 flights of stairs and I do not recall a lift being available. So be wary if carrying heavy luggage/backpacks.

Once we arrived, we were shown to our room (number 9) which had a balcony and a nice view of the street!

The room was simple - it had: a double bed, wardrobe, sink, mirror, table, two chairs, towels. There was no hair dryer or shampoo (but we brought our own so there could have been but we didn't request for it so cannot comment if there were any available). There is a sink in the room - but had no soap. Our sink was perhaps slightly blocked as water pooled up sometimes but posed no major problems at all.

From our balcony, the views were great of the road and surrounding buildings - which makes this room having alone (make a request).

The bed was very comfortable and we had a good sleep. The room was cleaned well daily. The room was large, tall and spacious and the decor nice.

The toilet an shower facilities were shared across several rooms. There was a separate toilet for women and men. There was no sink in the toilets or around the toilets - which may cause a hygiene issue for others perhaps?…

The shower room was unisex - however there was only one - make sure that you have a shower early or later to make sure you are not queuing for it. The shower unit was fairly new build and provided hot water. All toilet and shower facilities were cleaned regularly.

We had no meals so cannot comment.

However, there are supermarkets stores located nearby - one particularly being nearby on the high street Jean Medicin.

Jean (the manager) and his assistants were helpful to provide advice on visiting Nicé and also have a copy of the local transport (bus) timetables to travel from A to B.

They also recommended a bike company nearby (ask the Manager) to rent push bicycles which is just around the block (check out separate review).

The old town is nearby (5-10 minutes walk) - which is where we recommend you to explore in terms of food, drink and atmosphere - check out my other reviews around Nicé. The beach is approximately 10 minutes walk away. The high street of Jean Medicin is less than 5 minutes away.

There is free Internet all over the hotel and in your room. This is complimentary.

The price for this hotel is relatively cheap and has all the basics in place. Definitely value for money for a backpacker.

Overall, the staff, comfort, service and location was fantastic. If I had to come back to Nicè, I would consider using this hotel but perhaps explore better choices if I was not backpacking and wanted a more lavish hotel with full service. It definitely suits a backpacker.

Food = N/A for breakfast
Service = 8/10
Atmosphere = 9/10
Value for Money = 10/10
Sleep Quality = 10/10
Rooms = 7/10
Location = 8/10
Cleanliness = 9/10
Overall = 7/10

Twitter: @hanstar007 - Scouse BBC (British Born Chinese!) Civil Engineer interested in anything funny, useful, photos, places, tech & food! Pro at: badminton, footy & snowboarding ;p
United Kingdom ·

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony and view across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanstar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

It is a budget hotel! We were in the african room with a basin only. Shared shower and toilets were clean and reasonably new. Never had to wait to use the shared facilities. The room was very very hot! No fan or airflow at all. Opened the windows which lead to a lot of mosquitoes and street noise. Ended up just closing the windows and sweating it out for 3 nights. The guys that run the place are friendly but some have little English (which was fine, just use hand gestures!) It is on the 3rd floor up steep stairs with no lift. Overall ok, probably would have been better if it wasn't so hot and we had at least a pedistall fan.
Location is great, close to shops and a short walk to the beach!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbajars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Comte de Nice
#152 of 203 in Nice
773 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#93 of 203 in Nice
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Parisien
#94 of 203 in Nice
138 reviews
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#95 of 203 in Nice
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilson

Address: 39 rue de l Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £30 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Wilson 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing