We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money!”
Review of Hotel Wilson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wilson
Ranked #99 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed 10 September 2009

On our trip we stayed in 2 different rooms at Hotel Wilson. The first one had a shower in the room, but no toilet. It was very nice and clean, but we definitely liked the second one better, because it was a bit larger and there was also a toilet in the room. The location of this hotel is great: both the Old Town and the train station can easily be reached on foot. But if you prefer to take the tram to the train station (esp. at night), then you only have to walk a block to the nearest tram stop.

We did not eat breakfast at Hotel Wilson, even though we could have, because there is a Spar grocery store right across the street from the hotel and many other boulangeries in the neighborhood, where you can get oven-hot croissants and delicious coffee.

Walking home at night from the Old Town was never a problem, and the streets surrounding the hotel are very quiet and safe. We also liked the fact that we had access to a wireless Internet connection inside the hotel.

A word of caution for those traveling with lots of luggage: the hotel is located on the 3rd floor, and there is no elevator, so be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs.

Overall, our stay at Hotel Wilson was very enjoyable and we would gladly go back there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabiana79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    96
    46
    13
    12
See reviews for
22
116
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Hotel Wilson is a perfect place to stay if you had enough of hotel chains. The colourful mixture of rooms of which all is dedicated to a theme or an artist, welcome you with "feels-like-home" cozyness in the heart of Nice. The owners' friendliness and the lovely breakfast-table make sure not to be alone, even if you are a solo traveller.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perpatvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Great budget hotel in Nice. It's 5 min walk from the main shopping street in Nice. 10 mins from the beach and about the same to the main bus station. Breakfast wasn't really worth the 5.50 euro, there is a shop next door where you can get better breakfast. Just a warning, I counted the stairs, 64 of them.I had a massive suitcase and really struggled to carry it up myself. I would probably spend a bit more next time to stay somewhere with a lift. If you've got a backpack, no problems, this is the place for you!

Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank EuropeTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel on our arrival at Nice before heading to Italy. It was the perfect spot for us. Only a 10-15 minutes walk to the train station and 5 minutes from Old Nice and the beach. We paid only 48 euros for a room with a shower, but no toilet. I think this is the best value at this hotel. The hotel also has rooms with either no shower and no toilet or with toilet and shower. The common toilet facilities are spotlessly clean and plentiful.

If you are looking for superior confort, this hotel is not for you. Rooms are small and very basic, but confortable and clean. We did not enjoy breakfast or the common rooms but the hotel overall looks great, with nice plants and decorations. There are a couple flight of stairs to climb to get to te reception, but....that's part of the game when travelling on budget in Europe. We had 2 backpacks and a large suitcase and it was no big deal.

If you worry about safety, take note that you need a code to get in th building and a digital imprint from your finger to get in the hotel.

Overall, a very nice budget hotel in the heart of Nice. Great value. I would get back there anytime. My only complain is that the door of our room was thin and I guess sometimes it can be little noisy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raynor007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

I stayed at this hotel for the entire month of March 2009. The owners, Jean-Marie & Laurent are both seasoned travellers themselves, between them they speak several European languages including English. They are without fail friendly, polite, helpful & accomodating, & in addition are also charming.
The rooms, of which there are 16, are all very different , each with a decorative theme (Frida Kahlo, Matisse, Africa, Japan), some have showers/toilets, all have washhand basins. The ones which face away from the main street are quieter, & most have balconies. The bed linens are typically French, the beds clean & comfortable, & the rooms are cleaned thoroughly every day, even on a long term stay. The communal toilets & shower are also kept very clean.
Possibly one of the best features of the hotel is the beautiful dining room where breakfast is served from 8AM-Noon. A choice of delicious coffee, teas or chocolate is served, with fresh orange juice, pastries, French bread, butter, & a variety of preserves & honey. A bargain at 5.50 euros supplement.
It is very well situated, less than a 10 min. walk to the old town with its daily produce & flower market, & many shops & cafes. It is also a 5 min. walk from the main shopping street, & close to all public transport, including the airport bus.
This is without a doubt a very particular hotel, not at all an anonymous faceless chain, & therefor would appeal to adventurous souls who like that ambiance & individual touch. I left the hotel after a month feeling as if I had made lifelong friends. Only one drawback, it is up three steep flights of stairs with no lift, so you've got to be fit!
Josephine Mackenzie

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Wilson for four nights during a conference, and I felt very comfortable there--it was clean, and the owners were extremely friendly. Also, as a single young woman, I felt safe in the neighborhood and in my room. The owners take a lot of pride in their business, as other reviews have mentioned. You can't get more for your money in Nice--I know because my husband and I did some traveling there before my conference started, and we stayed in a 2-star hotel for twice the cost that was far less clean and smelled much worse. If you're on a budget and looking for a promising hotel, Hotel Wilson is the one.

  • Liked — clean with caring owners
  • Disliked — nothing--do the research though and make sure you're ok with stairs and shared bathrooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flyfishflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2009

This is a great little hotel with a whole lot of charm and a very nice family that staff the place.

The rooms we were in ranged from basic to really fitted out but all of them were completely charming and very very clean.

You can tell that the owner is proud of his hotel and very considerate and caring towards his guests. The rooms are themed beautifully and there's a distinctive personality to the whole place.

It's clean, secure and very central plus it's great value for money for a top tourist destination. The breakfast is super lovely compared to the stuff you usually get served at hotels - Gourmet jams and fresh tea and coffee tailor made.

It's true that there are three flights of stairs to reach the hotel, but having stayed in other "budget" accommodation in France, things like stair cases and slightly inconvenient bathroom facilities are the norm. However at this price you have to expect a bit of an adventure, and the feeling of staying in a place with such character and a sense of enthusiasm from the staff makes this a most enjoyable one, much better than another blank and empty box.

We definitely recommend Hotel Wilson! Have fun!

  • Liked — Friendly and clean rooms full of character. Free wifi + Great Location. Everything!!
  • Disliked — Beds were a bit hard.... and it is close to traffic
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#90 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Star Hotel
#68 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#88 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Hotel Danemark
#78 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilson

Property: Hotel Wilson
Address: 39 rue de l Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Wilson 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing