We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming retreat with great views”
Review of Villa Kilauea B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Kilauea B&B
Ranked #5 of 45 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed at this awesome B&B in August for 4 nights! Great rooms, lovely outdoor area & pool. Gerard & Nathalie were wonderul hosts, friendly and always helpul. The breakfasts were "yummy" with a special surprise every morning ( especially loved Nathalie's creamed rice). It was great to have use of the breakast room to make light snacks and tea & coffee.
It is about 15 mins from Nice along a windy road but it is SO worth it - it was heaven to return to this peaceful retreat after a day out and enjoy a swim and the views.
Thank you Gerard & Nathalie - would definately stay at Villa Kilauea again if we were lucky enough to return to Nice.
-

Room Tip: Had the room at the front of the property away from the pool - it was quiet and had great shutters t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KleinKuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Thank You Gerard and Nathalie for your most outstanding hospitality.You gave us wonderful 'must see' tips for the area, arranged our dinner reservations at the local Colomars restaurant....which we went to twice because it was so yummy!
I adored beautiful Bree, the old english sheepdog, she was such a character.
We had a late change to our booking to include our daughter, who travelled from Spain to meet us and you were so kind to accommodate...thank you, it meant a lot to us!
The pool setting, the dining cabana, the comfortable rooms and wonderful jacuzzi spa......we loved it all!
We hope to be back again one day soon.....with some better French speaking skills :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdenn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We have just returned home to Canada having spent a week at Villa Kilauea.Nathalie and Gerard were outstanding hosts.their recommendations on day trips to St. Paul d Vence,Gourdon,St. Jean Cap Ferrat and other villagers proved invaluable,The spectacular vistas and unique cultural experiences will make unforgettable memories. Returning at days end to relax in the pool and take in the view of mountains and villages in the distance proved to be a perfect end to a perfect day. Waking up to a delightful breakfast by the pool each morning was an energizing beginning each day. We truly felt welcome in their home. When we had transportation difficulties on our last morning son Thomas was there to bail us out.. A true family effort. We look forward to returning. A week was hardly enough.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Fenton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked for 5 nights & only stayed for 2, lots of issues especially with the host Nathelie, car parking issues, like car being to large & her husband saying one thing & Nathelie saying something else, no cushions on the wooden sun loungers outside the room, we felt that she didn't really like us eating outside our room on the terrace, light hanging off, no hot water to have a bath & the plug didn't seal anyway (there was no shower) cobwebs, & the Poolhouse grill didn't work. The last straw was when we were relaxing having a drink Nathelie came back & asked us to move our car enough was enough & we had to pay an extra night to leave early. Not good enough!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed for a week at Villa Kilauea and enjoyed every minute. The villa is situated just outside the centre of Nice in a lovely peaceful, quiet setting with beautiful views. The pool area is amazing. Nathalie and Gerard were great hosts, making us feel at home and giving us great advice on directions, places to visit and good local restaurants. We enjoyed all of the recommended restaurants especially the homemade ravioli at Auberge de Redier. Although make sure you save yourself some room for a second helping!! A particular highlight was breakfast served outside every morning, and with a different selection every day of home made panna cotta, cakes, yoghurts, fruits, meats and cheeses. We hired a car from the airport and the villa is well situated for visiting a range of places - St Jean Cap Ferrat, Monaco, St Paul de Vence, Eze. Following Nathalie and Gerard's recommendation we took a boat trip to St Tropez which we thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you Nathalie and Gerard for a lovely holiday - we hope to return some time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at Villa Kilauea in June, and it was amazing. We loved that it was out of the hustle and bustle of Nice and was a quite paradise, with the most amazing view. The pool area is spectacular, with breakfast each morning being served by the pool. We stayed in the rooms next to the Jasmine wall and it was the most beautiful aroma, and it will now always remind me of our stay here. Nathalie was very helpful in recommending restaurants and day trips. We absolutely loved it here. As others have mentioned it is about a 15min drive from the center of Nice, but that was something we really loved about the Villa. I only hope we get to visit again some day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Have just returned from our third, annual 2-week stay in Villa Kilauea and - greeting our lonely cat apart - am sorry to be home! Nathalie and Gerard are some of the kindest and most willing hosts I have ever come across (last year I re-strained a broken ankle whilst there and they helped out til the very last minute, including airport check-in with wheel-chair). Breakfast is a continually varying delight of home-made cakes/panna cotta/tartes, the pool is pristine with stunning views, the rooms are kept spotless and the Fragonard shampoos etc a delight. For those with children especially, the pool-room and possibility of eating snack-type lunch/dinner is a godsend, but Nathalie and Gerard's recommendations regarding restaurants are always spot on!
This year I didn't even bother to hire a car - the local bus is extremely punctual, trains to Monaco etc are very frequent and with young daughter we did not really want to be out too late. That said, you are in the town centre in 20 minutes, or up in the beautiful hills to St. Paul/Vence/Grasse/Tourette in not much more by car.
The maison d'hote concept is to be respected, and truly deserves respect! We are guests, albeit paying, in someone's home and, in this case, people who really make you feel at home. If your idea of a holiday is to wreak noisy and damaging havoc at midnight or not even greet your hosts in the morning, then please choose somewhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulysse_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Musiciens
La Malmaison Nice
La Malmaison Nice
#26 of 203 in Nice
191 reviews
Chateau Le Cagnard
#2 of 15 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kilauea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kilauea B&B

Address: 6 Chemin Candeou, 06200 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range: £151 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an enchanting place, in Nice hill's, where both elegant living and simplicity radiate making for a memorable stay on French Riviera.Here, you will find the essentials : the light of French Riviera, the peace of a sunset over Baous and vineyards of Bellet, a siesta by the swimming pool, sports for the more active and discovering some of the most beautiful place of south of France… without forgetting to sample some of the local products.Our Villa is designed to be a haven of charm and elegance, with exciting home decorating ideas and special comfort, also you enjoy a superb Mediterranean garden.A Villa with a true spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Kilauea B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing