We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, perfect, nothing too much trouble!”
Review of Villa Kilauea B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Kilauea B&B
Ranked #3 of 44 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

From the booking via email Nathalie was nothing but helpful. This continued from the moment we arrived, beautiful clean rooms, gorgeous scenery, delicious breakfast every morning. Restaurants and taxis booked with pleasure, great advice on what to see and do. If you want to get out of the rat race and experience true French hospitality this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0liad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We just finished our 8 day stay at Villa Kilauea and were so sorry to leave! What an amazing find. I can't say enough about the place and its owners. We loved it so much we extended our stay as long as we could. We travel all over the world, and this is the most comfortable, luxurious B&B we've encountered. I love the layout -- since it's built on a hillside, the pool and large pool house are on the lowest terrace. The pool house is very large and has comfy sofas, books, a computer, and a whole kitchen that's free for everyone's use. You can have coffee from a Nespresso machine or tea anytime you want. We made dinners there every night, because no restaurant had that view!

There are rooms one terrace up, all with their own terraces and private glass door entrances, and then there is a super chic suite on the highest terrace -- also with its own huge terrace and grassy lawn. We were lucky enough to be able to stay in one of the rooms, and in the suite as well.

Pros:
The owners are sweet, helpful, charming, but never intrusive. They always went above and beyond any request we had. Each evening they offered us a glass of rose wine, and later, homemade limoncello! We became addicted.

The breakfasts are to die for: gourmet and beyond expectation. There was always a special treat (like verveine- infused panna cotta topped with passion fruit coulis), as well as cheeses, fruit, homemade yogurt with regional honeys, different kinds of jambon, fruit breads, croissants - both regular and chocolate- homemade brioche... I could go on, there was more!

The view. It's remarkable and so soothing. You look out over rolling hills, to the mountains beyond. I have posted pictures of this but it's more breathtaking than the pictures can show

The rooms. They are so elegantly decorated, so clean, and feature Fragonard toiletries, lovely white towels, and even comfy robes! Our first room had a white four poster bed with white and tan linen hangings. There were 2 chairs, flat screen TV, kettle for tea and coffee, a desk, bedside tables, hardwood floor. Bath in that room was small, but very modern, fresh, and had so much storage. (And I have a LOT of stuff)
The suite was out of this world, and if you can afford it, it's worth it. It's enormous, with a king size bed, huge flat screen TV, chairs, a leather sofa, 2 closets, and the most amazing limestone bathroom with double sinks and a rainfall shower I never wanted to leave. Great large terrace with glass doors and shutters leading onto it, with a pergola hung with wisteria. Amazing! The decor is gracious and heavenly -- all white, grays, and tans, with silver accessories, and 2 lovely chandeliers.

Wi-fi is great - there are multiple routers for each level, and it's very fast.

The pool and terrace. It's very large, with lots of chairs and umbrellas, an infinity pool, and a jacuzzi, and tables and chairs. We lived there.

Privacy. Though the B&B was always full when we were there, the grounds and pool house are so large we never felt cramped or forced into conversation. In sum, the Villa is much more like a boutique hotel than a B&B.

Cons: I honestly can't think of ANYTHING, and I am very critical.

We can't wait to return, it's such a special place. Don't hesitate to stay, you will adore the Villa Kilauea.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous, clean, and superbly decorated. If you can afford the suite, it's out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaEBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Concur with the other reviews, Nathalie and Gerard go out of their way to ensure your stay is as close to perfect as possible - the highlights of our 4 night stay were:
- the rooms are very nice, we stayed in the Rose room which as per previuos reviews, is very nicely set up for two
- the breakfast - the French staples are there, but the extra touches of home made jams, aswell as one treat each day being home made or baked, was wonderful
- the breakfast / pool room - this was available for private use in the evenings which was great to relax and have your own meal rather than go out if you like - the room is quite luxurious
- advice on your day trips

You do need a car to stay here, but it's worth it.

Room Tip: All look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaimes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Everything here is superlative: the room, the house, the stunning view!The villa is situated 8 km far from Nice, in a lovely place. You can see from the pool the green mountains ,the blue sky and on a hill a little church and all of that give you a warm and peaceful feeling !
We stayed in Jasmine room for 3 nights and we enjoyed every minute. Nathalie and Gerard are perfect hosts and they made us feel like home. It is a pleasure to take breakfast(cakes, yoghurts, fruits, meats and cheeses, eggs, fresh croissants) every morning, near the pool. Nathalie advised us, regarding our every day trips and made for us interesting itineraries and I may say her suggestions were excellent!It was a wonderful staying and I recommend their villa with all my heart!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcelV90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Nathalie and Gerard are the prefect hosts!! My husband and I stayed at Villa Kilauea for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.We stayed in the rose room, very clean and nicely decorated. I loved the complimentary fragonard products in the bathroom. We had breakfast every day while we stayed there and loved it. Nathalie would help us out with the day's trip. She even made restaurant recommendations and reservations for us. Her suggestions were excellent!! We helped us with driving directions and other sightseeing as well. Highly recommend this place if you looking for a place to stay in nice!!! Thanks Nathalie & gerard!!

-Shilpa & Ankit

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shilpa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have stayed 3 nights in Room Jasmin. The room is not very big but I understand it has been recently renovated and looks very clean and modern. The bathroom size is good with a good shower. There is a lounge chair and table just outside your room on the deck shared with the next room. The property is lovely with a great infinity pool and sun deck chairs looking into the nearby hills and mountains and the lovely church of Saint Roman de Bellet.

You have to understand this B&B is about 15 minutes drive from Nice Promenade des Anglais. The drive into the hill can be interesting as it is narrow at some points with cars driving fairly fast especially at night. However, you will be rewarded when you return back to Villa Kilauea because it is an absolutely tranquil place. Private parking is available on premise.

The decision to stay in Nice center or to stay outside of Nice center should be quite an easy one. If you rent a car, it will be quite difficult to find parking in Nice. Or you need to use one of many underground parking in Nice but they are quite expensive. Since you have a car already, there really shouldn't be a problem driving a bit further out to stay and away from the Nice center busy streets. Unless you are looking for a hotel with a sea view...

Nathalie and Gérard are both great hosts. This is their home and they live here as well; therefore, you feel like being one of their guests. They are always helpful and ready to answer any questions you may have. Of course many have noted their dog Bree who is always ready to entertain during breakfast or their cat as well which you may or may not see.

I have made the right decision to stay in Villa Kilauea. I did not spend to much time in Nice center so this is the perfect base for me. I did spend more dinner in Nice center but with its close proximity, it is no problem. The only down side is proper the drive up to the hill. It is not the time it takes (~15mins) but as mentioned, the narrow roads and the fast cars. Then again, we are in the Cote D'Azur!

A tip is to use the direction they gave you to Villa Kilauea. It is located on a small road and your SatNav might not show you the proper way. Use their direction in conjunction with your SatNav to save you time and for the best route.

I will not hesitate at all to recommend this B&B given you understand what you want and for me I will come back to stay in a heart beat next time in Cote D'Azur. Hopefully sooner than later!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Traveler_Log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We have just returned from our 4th stay at Villa Kilauea. This year Nathalie and Gerard redecorated the rooms (very tastefully) and, as ever, added an extra little touch here and there to make our stay as near perfect as is humanly possible. Their willingness to help you enjoy their home, region and cuisine to the full with excellent advice is beyond price. This time my daughter and I had promised ourselves a very lazy first week without a car, but the bus service into Nice was more than adequate to satisfy a teenager's desire to hit the shops as soon as the summer sales started and for me to visit a few of the Matisse exhibitions, when we weren't both eating at one or another of the restaurants they had recommended and, very kindly booked for us. As ever, our evenings eating on the terrace by the pool were sheer bliss. Cherry on the cake was my husband finally being able to join us and celebrate daughter's 16th birthday with a wonderful "apéritif" and patisseries as the sun went down on our last evening. Yet again, I simply cannot recommend Villa Kilauea too highly and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Since there are 3 of us, we always book the Lavender room which does not look out onto the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ulysse_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Suisse
#8 of 203 in Nice
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Les Suites Massena
Les Suites Massena
#7 of 44 in Nice
61 reviews
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel Rossetti
Hotel Rossetti
#5 of 44 in Nice
161 reviews
Hotel La Perouse
#5 of 203 in Nice
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kilauea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kilauea B&B

Address: 6 Chemin Candeou, 06200 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range: £152 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an enchanting place, in Nice hill's, where both elegant living and simplicity radiate making for a memorable stay on French Riviera.Here, you will find the essentials : the light of French Riviera, the peace of a sunset over Baous and vineyards of Bellet, a siesta by the swimming pool, sports for the more active and discovering some of the most beautiful place of south of France… without forgetting to sample some of the local products.Our Villa is designed to be a haven of charm and elegance, with exciting home decorating ideas and special comfort, also you enjoy a superb Mediterranean garden.A Villa with a true spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Kilauea B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing