We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We should have known...don't eat salads if they advertise themselves as meat and fondue!”
Review of Le Choucas

Le Choucas
Reserve with
Le Choucas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #313 of 1,907 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town / Vieux Nice
London, Canada
Level Contributor
316 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“We should have known...don't eat salads if they advertise themselves as meat and fondue!”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

It's our own fault.
This restaurant advertises themselves as specializing in Meat and Fondue and we all ordered salads! We'd been overindulging in the many delicious restaurants in Nice and felt we only wanted a big salad for dinner when we went to Le Choucas.
The salads were ok....large portions but the bread came as a pre-sliced loaf, not the usual delicious torn baguette so common as a side dish in Nice. As well, side orders of french fries were soggy and bland.
The location was interesting as it was a tiny little placette in the middle of the Old Town. No through traffic to distract from the lackluster meal.
The service was attentive...a predinner amuse bouche of white sangria was much appreciated but did nothing to hide the limpness and lack of taste of the salads.
We'll try the place again - next time ordering one of their specialties!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadiancraftsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    65
    22
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best fondue fromage in whole Nice !”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We had fondue fromage to share for the two of us and it was even more than enough. The portions are huge. The place is cosy and the staff is great ! Worth recommending for sure :-)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolineeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great time in Le Choucas!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This lovely restaurant in a cosy place in the old Nice, had great food and great service.The portions were big, and the quality of the food was above average.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fondue in Nice is nice”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

We wanted something French. And even though fondue may originally be Swiss, it was perfected by the French. So we set out to find some and were not let down. The fondue savoyarde is the cheese. There were only two of us and had enough for at least 4 more. We also had poulet and legumes. Wonderful! Get a pitcher of the house rosé and enjoy your complimentary aperitif sangria and digestif as well. Go on a night when you have time to enjoy without a rush.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottyG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For those who are fond of fondu ))))”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We've discovered this place in the old town of Nice about 4 years ago, and we loved it. Young-people friendly, not expensive, good reception, and very good fondu! The Baccus is our favourite- it is made with red wine, and it gaves meat a delicious taste! We would also highly recommend to try the duck and lamb- which is also not so classic as beaf, but the taste is much more pronounced!
There was only one shortcoming at this place, which has recently been edited-the place was overfilled with the fumes of the kitchen, and there was always a chance to smell of fries when you got out. The owner has ompletely repared the system, and now it smells much less , than before.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank NatachaMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Choucas also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Choucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing