We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A spotlessly clean well modernised little house.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Secret House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
sjstravel...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A spotlessly clean well modernised little house.”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This peaceful little house is tucked away just a few minutes walk from the alleyways and markets of the Old Town. Interior beautifully designed and furnished. The view from the balcony is amazing, but take the steps near the house to the cemetery above where you can see for miles. Trains and buses are nearby to take you further afield. I would just say that we were glad of help with our suitcases from the meet and greet person as the staircase to the entrance is quite steep.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catmother...
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week and really rated the location of the house. The beach, shops, restaurants, trams are all within walking distances. If you are looking for somewhere central to stay in Nice but without all the noise from the crowd, this is the place for you.

The house was very clean and well decorated. The view from the balcony was fantastic. We cooked a couple of times in the well equipped kitchen. The rest of the time, we just ate at the restaurants nearby.

We had a great time staying at this house and were very comfortable. I have already recommended this place to friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
Turramurra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Secret House is very definitely secret! Tucked away at the top of the Old Town in Nice, this is a delightful place to stay for two couples, as we were, for a few days to explore Nice and the Cote D'Azur. It is well appointed though a couple of decent sharp knives and another chopping board would complete a well appointed kitchen area. We were very comfortable there and it was extremely quiet. Only one issue - if it is one - was that there are a lot of very steep narrow steps and with heavy suitcases, it isn't an easy access.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: The stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moraki2
Mancahester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, would stay again.”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Loved the location and the quirky apartment. It had everything we needed, the welcome was as warm as the local weather. I would certainly rebook on my return to Nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful light Lounge area with balcony and view.
Liked least: Leaving for the cold UK weather.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The only secret of this house is the amount Of stairs...”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Photos are a tad bit misleading on this rental. Cute apartment but not the best place for seniors or persons with handicaps or disabilities. The 160 euro cash payment upon arrival is also misleading all you get is a cheap bottle of wine and some stale cakes. We won't recomend this pace to any of our friends.the stairs are very treacherous especially with luggage. Not recommend for people with leg, back, walking issues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in the city
Liked least: All the stairs and paying 160 euro in addition to the 100+ euro a night for the rental. A bit over the topand uncalled for.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2015
I was sad when I read this review as it's important to us that all guests enjoy their stay in secret house - this is what makes my job worth while.
I do agree that this is not an ideal apartment for the elderly or people with mobility problems - this is why I have stated this and the fact that there are stairs clearly in the description. I also ticked the box stating that it is not suitable for people with mobility problems. Unfortunately you may not have read the description which lead to the wrong choice of apartment for you. Also the old Town of Nice is not the ideal location for people with mobility problems as most the apartments are located in very old buildings and many are the high floors like the 4th and 5th floor with narrow winding stairs and no lift - so it's quite a climb even for the fit and healthy.

As for the cheap bottle of wine this makes me sad also and I always try to pick out a nice wine suitable to all tastes - with the help of the local friendly cave, the chocolates or snacks are also local sourced - (none of which would ever be stale) and the coffee is bought from the old town.

I do hope that the stairs issue didn't totally spoil your holiday and you enjoyed Nice. If you plan to return I would really like to help you to choose a more suitable apartment for your needs so you can have a more relaxing time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123191
Japan
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Our family of five loved the secret house's location in old nice town.
Everything was at your doorstep, beautiful restaurants, old streets and many other beautiful attractions.
The house was comfortable for all of us especially with the convenience if the two bathrooms.
After a few steps which were quite steep to carry the heavy luggage we could relax on the balance and enjoy the beautiful view other the city of Nice.
Thanks Roni.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow what a gem, ideal for all things to do in Nice”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot recommend this place too highly.

We took an Easyjet flight, got the bus from the airport and then a short walk and wow we were there.

The view from the balcony is stunning, the 2 bedrooms are very well appointed, the lounge, kitchen and dinning area are very comfy.

We took the short walk through the Old Town went to the beach every day and swam in the sea, might have add a small beer on the way back!

Eating out is great value for money and you can get almost every style you fancy. Ask for the favorite places to eat and you won't be disappointed. Try the local wine, excellent and cheap

Monaco is just a short train ride away and to see the super yachts and to walk the GP circuit is brilliant.

We are defo going back to the Secret House Nice again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing