We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic meal”
Review of Cote Marais

Cote Marais
Ranked #78 of 1,923 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$53
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town / Vieux Nice
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Another fantastic meal”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Once again a holiday highlight; excellent food, wine and service. Compact menu of local organic fare prepared and served with care and enthusiasm. Small establishment, so book ahead to avoid disappointment. No hurry to vacate the table, we were there from 8pm to 10.30pm, and could have stayed longer. Well done and thank you to all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gibsonsarah261171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    69
    19
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big deception”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Reading older reviews we were sure to have wonderful evening and value for our money. We ordered 2 classes of champagne ( 16e/class!!!) starters( were delicious), mains(much for name of the meal but big deception once it came) and desserts(same thing, we had feeling that it was nicely "sold" by the name of it but nothing special on the plate) and wines were just so over priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodfoodfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb dinner”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and i went to côte marais due to The good reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. We were greeted by The chef who explained the menu in detail. The waiters were outstanding and made some very good Wine recommendations. We had 3 courses all wonderful and very very tasty. Coffee and a 15 year old calvados for me. A very enjoyable evening came to EUR 128 a bargain considering the quality of food and Wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fischer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious Food”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Everyone working here knocks themselves out to serve fantastic food that is so fresh. The menu is varied, with something for everyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gmd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Charming small restaurant in the old town”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Cote Marais isn't very large, but it certainly offers a good dining experience in very comfortable surroundings. The €31 menu offers some excellent traditional dishes, and the food is served up in a modern style without being too complicated - delicious!
A few items on the menu needed clarification in view of our limited "tourist French", but the staff were very kind in explaining both the ingredients and the cooking method involved. Service was good despite the restaurant being full, and it was very pleasant to linger over our bottle of wine and coffees.
Book in advance, and remember that you need to pay in cash.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PortugalForGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cote Marais also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Cote Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing