We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not " an open air hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine des Naiades
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Domains des Naides (DdN) with Canvas Holidays. Finding the place on the D559 between St Maxime and Port Grimaud was a bit of a chore as sign posts were limited. (Tip: Look for the roundabout outside the Prairie due las Mercedes campsite on the Med side of the road and take the exit opposite). Having found DdN the reception was professional and smooth but once they knew we were Canvas they lost interest. The Canvas reps were rushed off their feet and we had a wait of 45 minutes to be taken to our caravan and 3 hours for our towels and bedding.
The park itself was good. Being set on a hill in amongst trees and shrubs gave it a lot of character and some shade. The pool area with its Olympic size pool and water slide was great if in need of a little TLC, but you will have to get up early to bag a sun lounger!
The restaurant bar was nice but the menu was limited and the chef's skills need to be called into question over the seafood pasta. The bar staff however were friendly and the nightly entertainment was a nice distraction if a little cheesy on times-think a Gallic Seaside Special but the French loved it.
The biggest disappointment was the supposed children's entertainment and sports events. They weren't particularly well organised and were intended purely for the French. The sports area (Point Animation) was not utilised enough to my mind and much more could be made of it.
Location wise the park is brilliant midway between St Maxime and St Tropez (both about 7 miles in either direction) and within a 20 minute stroll of the wonderful Port Grimaud.
(Tip: Take the boat from Port Grimaud across the Gulf to visit St Tropez and avoid the inevitable traffic gridlock and parking problems).
The stunning medieval village of Grimaud is only a 10 minute drive away and well worth a visit. (Tip:Go to Grimaud in the evening and sample the wonderful restaurants)
The park's policy of mixing campers and caravans amongst the static caravans does give the site a bit of an air of a refugee camp at times but all in all the park was welcoming and friendly and we had a great time arriving home an hour ago! The best I can say is that we may go back next year

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Domaine des Naiades
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

The pool is far too small for the number of people using it. Beach and other restaurant are a long walk away, car is needed. The restaurant in the camp site is average. Good space between the Premium mobile homes. Small but well assorted mini marked with fresh bread every morning.

Room Tip: The Premium mobile homes are great.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed in the premium mobile home very clean, well equipped, very impressed to even having English tv if so require and the wifi excellent. The mobile home perfect for young children as had sliding doors and when closed my toddler couldn't access the bedrooms or bathrooms very roomy for 4 of use. Pool great food at restaurant very good and Port Grimaud brilliant place for family with young children will be booking for next year

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We travel to France a lot as our relatives are French and also visit campsites a lot thought we knew what to expect when we booked this holiday.

After struggling to find the campsite (there is one small sign on the roundabout when heading from Ste Maxime) we arrived at 7.02 pm.

The instructions provided by Canvas holidays stated that their reception was open and they would book us in. We met the rep at the entrance to the campsite (this is NOT an open air hotel by any measure) an he told us to go to the campsites reception and he would meet us there.

When we arrived there we discovered that it shut at 7pm. The campsite staff were inside and just waived us away. Eventually someone came up to us and demanded that we give them our passports. We refused (by law you have to carry ID at all times in France). They said that we would get them back in the morning. However we argued that we wanted to leave the site to get some food. They said that if we did not hand them over they would not let us on the site and would have to come back in the morning. Why they could not have either photocopied them or gone the extra mile and booked us in I do not know. Seeing as we had a young child with us we had no option but to hand our passports in and risk not getting stopped by the police.

The static caravan was small but clean. The caravans were packed in and only a few metres from our neighbours and there was not grassed area around the pitch for our daughter to play. We also discovered that we did have a big ant problem that we discovered the following morning.

We went to get our passports and check in and there was a lady next to us complaining about people loitering around the site. We also noticed this in the following day, plus our pitch was seperated from a track by a 4ft high chain link fence - very insecure. One night we had people 'hanging around' on the track by the campsite which worried my wife a lot. The huge traveller site 5 minutes down the road was a concern too.

We were also woken at seven one morning by a digger and bloke with a chainsaw widening the track - nice !

We then headed out to explore the site and surrounding area. The brochures say that the site is close to the beach. They fail to mention that there is the main road between Ste Maxime and St Tropez in between the site and the beach. This is a horrendous road, very busy and we saw several accidents a day on it. The only way to cross the road is to walk through a storm drain. This and the 20 minute hike with a three year old meant we drove to the beach every day.

The pool was nice, but there was a big sign at the entrance stating that the use of sun tan lotion was worrying. We ignored it as we did not fancy skin cancer. The pool did have a lifeguard who sat in a hut at one end of the pool. The only time he went on patrol was to look at the swim-aerobics teacher at the other end of the pool or to have a cigarette.

The rubbish area was permanently full to overflowing and close to the children's play area which was a big concern especially how children play hide and seek !

We tried to spend the minimum amount of time on the site and spend the minimum amount of money there due to the attitude of the staff. We don't like putting money in the pockets of people who give us dreadful service.

The holiday was that bad that we even contemplated booking into a budget hotel.

I would not recommend this site - it is no way an outdoor hotel, just a very standard caravan site run by people with no soft skill's

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank gregsie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Lovely clean, caravan and camping site very helpful English speaking staff location fantastic for Port Grimaud , Saint Tropez and Saint Maxime all picturesque places. Great for all the family with brilliant swimming pool .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Sueecanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I've chosen my heading carefully as the setting is lovely, yes some of the emplacements seem small, but in our opinion there is still privacy allowed if you want it. We were in a canvas mobile so privacy wasn't a problem as our mobile was set aside from the others some had all the privacy we wanted. That said a lot of the emplacements are situated alongside the 'roads' but this does was not a problem to us.

The site is on a hillside so yes it is steep in places - not a problem for young and fit legs but would be if you were elderly or less mobile.

The beaches accessed through the Prairies de la Mer campsite at the big roundabout and the road is very busy to cross - I would not let my children cross alone to the beach! From our pitch to the beach it was approximately a mile to walk - and coming back it's all uphill.... You can park at the roundabout but it's hit and miss for a parking space, but at least it is free!

There is a campsite shop which is adequate for needs, bread, milk etc and they sell a bit of everything, shop staff were friendly and helpful.

We used the takeaway a few times and found the food ok, couldn't complain about it at all but the service was about an hour for a Pizza.

We never used the restaurant so cannot comment on this.

The site is secure with barrier and pin number access so you feel more comfortable with this.

Overall we found this a pleasant site and never experienced the noise that other customers have mentioned - maybe we were lucky! But we were here for 11 nights in August high season.

Yes we would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Mikadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here at the end of July and it was hot! Site was full, always a good sign. Pool was good size (50m), although lifeguards could do more to curb over enthusiasm of some of the users. We lost power for an hour and when we tracked down the warden, his attitude could have been better, although he had probably had a hundred people trying to get hold of him! Shop was well stocked, if a little pricey, but served our needs. Pitch was a good size, although electric hook up needed polarity reversing. We didn't have an adapter, so I had to swop live and neutral wires in 3 pin hook up. Had a minor ant problem on one day but bought some powder in the shop which dealt with it. Fairly close to beach, so no need to drive. WiFi was a bit hit and miss. Evening entertainment a bit dodgy, but always busy. All in all, we would go back again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimaud
2.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Les Restanques du Golfe de Saint-Tropez
0.2 mi away
Soleil Vacances Hotel Saint Tropez
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Romarine
Hotel La Romarine
#15 of 25 in Ramatuelle
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Les Prairies de la Mer
5.2 mi away
La Toison D'Or
La Toison D'Or
#4 of 13 in Ramatuelle
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Parcs de Grimaud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine des Naiades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Naiades

Address: 655 Chemin des Mures | Saint Pons Les Mûres, 83310, Grimaud, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grimaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Grimaud
Price Range: £44 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine des Naiades 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Domaine des Naiades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing