We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant rustic holiday village - superb++++++ pool complex”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Village Les Restanques du Golfe de Saint-Tropez
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Grimaud
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here in 2008 and returned this year as a family of five with children aged 8, 6 and 3. We had a brilliant stay in 2008 and were looking forward to a similar experience but recent reviews on Trip Advisor made me nervous. This is my first trip advisor review and I have been compelled to post to defend this lovely resort.

We booked a 1/2 bedroom 'select' apartment and I have to admit I was a bit nervous about what we might get, and would it be one bedroom or two bedroom? Would 'select' be ok (last time we stayed in a VIP bastide apartment). We arrived very late at night (my second ever review will be negative for Citer car hire) to a friendly efficient check in and found our way in the dark to our apartment in Les Lilas. The apartment was very rustic but it was not old, it was clean in terms of hygiene e.g. kitchen, fridge, sinks, toilets spotless and floors clean but the corners of rooms and under the sofa bed where we used the pull out bed was a let down in terms of dust. It DID have two bedrooms thankfully and the kitchen area was well planned and equipped (very modern dishwasher, combi oven microwave. The lounge area and indoor dining area was very spacious too. The balcony was the width of the apartment and easily fitted a large outside table, six chairs and reclining chairs pus two clothes airers. There was an overpowering smell of lavender air freshener which was almost choking but we were too tired (or knocked out by it!) to really care and it did quickly dissipate the next morning with balcony doors open.

The pool complex is perhaps in need of some resurfacing with cracked/rough surfaces in places but this did not cause any problems at all and the pools are brilliant. The main wave pool is the best wave pool we have encountered (better than centre parcs) and is walk in Californian style. There is also a nice lagoon pool, two water slides (which are only opened intermittently), a separate large deep pool and some shallow maze and ripple pool areas for children. The lifeguards were attentive, strict enough but fun, for example a couple of times they bring out a 'magic carpet' (a very very long mat) where children can walk on water as the lifeguards hold/wobble it. There was at least one water exercise class a day. Sunbeds were quickly taken (I don't think the badly translated recording every morning "Deckchairs and transatlantic races are forbidden to be reserved' helped!!!!) but we generally got there quite early and got good positioned sunbeds for watching the children, and stayed for the morning before leaving early afternoon.

There are evening shows but we did not really see those as they started late at 9.30pm. There is a very good children's play area (play park) and some sports pitches. There is a nice wander around the lake areas where some villas are located with a 'villa and bastide only' additional medium sized pool. Exercise classes are also run on a terrace free for all and there was a free gym we did not use. There was a basic site shop.

The complex is kept very clean and tidy. It is built on a steep hill so lots of steps and ramps but all manageable for us. Parking is a mixture of underground and road bay parking, we had no trouble finding parking spaces but they were not always in our designated area.

In summary this village is rustic and lovely, it is brilliantly located for Port Grimaud in the evenings, a visit to St Tropez and to Grimaud. Saint Maxime is worth a night out or a day at the lovely beach there. The closest beaches are a five minute drive away and are fine but minimal facilities. It reminds me a bit of the style of Dirty Dancing holiday village and is a cross between centre parcs and a rustic village. In August we were very hot, day and night. We did not have air conditioning but the solid stone buildings did not overheat like holiday mobile homes do.

Room Tip: Les Lilas apartments well appointed for night views across bay of tropez.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsAR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was by far the worst family holiday we've had. Accommodation was filthy and outdated. Long queues for information desk, and when you got there staff no help at all. No air conditioning and bins outside our door emptied every morning at 7.30.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 52Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Advice to everybody to avoid to go to Pierre & Vacances - absolute disaster, horrible service and dirty and crowded place with destroyed infrastructure; even the best effort of very young staff at the reception doesn't help. Rooms were dirty, unprepared, terribly overpriced accommodation with unbelievably bad infrastructure, which was supposed to be family friendly.
Never again!

Room Tip: don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Pierre & Vacances Les Restanques du Golfe de Saint Tropez, was booked in high hopes based on the information and photos on the website, which make the site look amazing. A few weeks before arriving, i began looking at some of the reviews, and was pretty apprehensive upon arriving. We arrived very late, after many delays on a trip down from Disneyland, and didn't reach reception until 3am! We arrived to rain, tired and eager to get to our room and get to sleep. The receptionist was very helpful, and said that we didn't need to leave the £200 damage deposit. She gave us a map of the site, and told us to park in a multi-storey car park, which seemed a slightly odd thing to have on the site. We later see why it was necessary, as the site is huge and on many different levels.

After parking in the car park, we went to our room. On first glance, the buildings looked run down. We entered our studio apartment for 4/5 people to bunk beds in the corridor, and a wardrobe. The first thing we saw, was an amazing view of the bay on saint tropez, and before turning on the lights we were ecstatic to have such an amazing view. The trouble started when the lights were turned on, where a dirty, old, and run down apartment were revealed.

I dont even know where to start on this. There was used tampons in the bin, stains down the toilet, hair in the bath, dirty floor, used towels thrown in the bath, used kitchen utensils in the sink, a bin full of rubbish, dirt over the floor, dirty pots and pans in the cupboard, marks on the mirrors, cobwebs and dust everywhere. After arriving at 3am, this really was not what we wanted to see. We complained to reception, and they said they would send someone up with fresh towels and sheets, but could not move us that night as there were no free rooms, but that they would look in the morning. Whilst waiting for the member of staff to come up to our apartment, we noticed that the furniture was all covered in 'weird' paint. Upon looking further we realized this 'weird paint' was dirt that had built up on all the furniture. With a quick wipe with a sponge over a couple of areas, white furniture was revealed underneath. There must have been years of first built up; it had never been cleaned. The men who arrived was very apologetic, and very helpful. We were told to stay here for the night, and that someone would speak to us in the morning. Reluctantly we slept in the apartment, but only for about 4 hours, as we had to get up and sort out the problem.

The next morning, we eventually spoke to the assistant manager, who was very helpful and apologetic. She gave us keys for another apartment similar to the one we had stayed in the night before. After looking around the second apartment (which was not much better than the first) we decided we didn't want to stay and wanted a refund if they couldn't give us anything else. We were incredibly disappointed and tired, and went back to reception. The assistant manager asked us to return to the room while she tried to find us something else. Within half an hour, we had a call and had been told we had been moved to the 'VIP apartment'! We were still very apprehensive on what this would be like, based on the two rooms and what we had seen on the site so far which was pretty run down. Our 'VIP' apartment was situated at the very top of the site in 'les lilas'. Paint was flaking from the door, and again we thought we were about to see much of the same. However, this apartment was in all honesty, lovely. It had two bedrooms, both very small, one with a double and one with bunk beds. There were two bathrooms, one with a shower and toilet, one with a bath and shower no toilet. Then you entered a large room with kitchen, dining table, two sofas, which had glass doors to the balcony. Our view was amazing, and the apartment was furnished a lot nicer and more modern than the previous two! We were very pleased with the upgrade, but also were dissapointed that the staff thought they could 'fob' us off with another horrible apartment before this one.

The site itself could be summed up as 'a shell of something great' or maybe was great. There are activities run all through the week for all ages, the swimming pools are lovely, and have a great setting, the reception is ok and our the restaurants and shops, but overall the site is run down and needs some TLC! We were shocked as well to find out that the two original rooms were RENOVATED rooms! I don't even want to think of what they had been like before.

On walking around the site, you also notice some of the owned apartments, which look beautiful and are in great condition. This just shows that they don't pay as much attention to the smaller apartments, which is just shocking when you look at the prices they are charging for them.

In the end, we actually had a great week here, and loved our apartment, and would potentially go again.

A car here is vital, as the site isn't really near anything! Port Grimaud, is a 5minute drive away, had a beautiful beach! Also, a word of warning, do not miss pulling into the site and accidentally drive up the road past the site! The road is lethal, and is used as a dare devil race track. It is a single lane road, where two lanes of traffic are expected to drive up a mountain! Avoid it at all costs!

Overall, I would suggest if you go, to pick your accommodation wisely and be prepared to pay more. If not, go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank DisneyTripper251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have just returned from a one-week holiday at the Restanques. We had rented a 1-bedroom apartment, the cleanliness of which was dubious: on arrival, we spent 30 minutes defrosting the freezer compartment of the fridge, the toilets smelt bad and the floor of the terrace had not been washed... The overall facilities of the resort are good, especially the pools which our children enjoyed tremendously. We had few contacts with staff but the ones we spoke to were helpful and polite. Be aware that if you rent a 1-bedroom apartment it is impossible to fit a travel cot in the bedroom as there is no space and the room is not square (our daughter slept in the corridor). Overall, some of the apartments in the resort are in great need of refurbishment (eg. render falling from the walls of our terrace) but we wonder if we were allocated one of the oldest apartments because we had not paid rack rate (we had taken advantage of a promotion).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Britfr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This was the second year we returned to Les Restanques; last year we were there for a week and this year we went for two weeks. This year I was much happier with the location and standard of our 4 piece (3 bed) A/C villa on Allée des Chênes compared to last year. There is much to recommend this holiday complex; the many sports facilities are in excellent condition, the pool complex is large with lots of different sections but the real attractions are the kids and teenager clubs! Happy kids equals happy holiday! Les Restanques is well located to visit and explore some of the beautiful surrounding villages from Grimaud, Port Grimaud, St Tropez etc. The resort is 17 years old and parts including the very dated reception area, small shop and the two restaurants are all in need of refurbishment. I am pleased to say that when I met with the manager of the complex he was very receptive to some of the improvements I suggested including the chaotic time consuming check-in procedure; the reception staff are friendly but overwhelmed with what appear to be inefficient and manual processes. He did confirm that a number of improvements including renovations are being planned for the coming year and I look forward to seeing these when we return next year!

Room Tip: Ensuring you get a good villa seems to be a bit hit and miss and from our experience there is a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

was nice to stay somewhere that had a kitchen, on site laundry facilities and a pool however we found that the room was quite a trek from the car park facilities, uphill and up stairs making it difficult to take much luggage to the room. The bed was in a tiny room by the front door and was very uncomfortable - so much so that we slept in the lounge on the couches for the second night. When we went to the pool, we thought the "adult" spa might be nice however when we stepped in, it was cold and there was a poo at the bottom of the stairs!!!
The actual location is quite far from st tropez centre and so it was fortunate we had a car. I would probably have stayed somewhere else if this place hadn't been recommended by my travel agent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimaud
2.4 mi away
Soleil Vacances Hotel Saint Tropez
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Pierrerie - Grimaud
19.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Cap Esterel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Le Suffren
Hotel Le Suffren
#1 of 12 in Grimaud
213 reviews
1 mi away
Coq Hotel
Coq Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cogolin
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence-Club Odalys La Palmeraie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Village Les Restanques du Golfe de Saint-Tropez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Village Les Restanques du Golfe de Saint-Tropez

Address: 1113 route de Bardasse, 83310, Grimaud, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grimaud
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grimaud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grimaud
Price Range: £56 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Village Les Restanques du Golfe de Saint-Tropez 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious destination, overlooking the Gulf of Saint-Tropez. Children’s Clubs (3 to 18 years), activities and sailing lessons.The choice of apartments, houses, villas or bastides Provence country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Village Les Restanques du Golfe de Saint-Tropez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Resort Les Restanques Du Golfe De Saint Tropez
Pierre & Vacances Resort Les Restanques Du Golfe De Saint Tropez Hotel Grimaud
Les Restanques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing