We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Casarella

Restaurant Casarella
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us and as it was close to where we were staying we thought we would give it a try. First of all it is quite a walk to get to as it is located in a pedestrian only street in a small hillside village. The restaurant is run by an elderly Italian couple who serve genuine authentic Italian food. The tables outside were occupied as was the terrace that has just the one table so unfortunately we were the only couple inside the restaurant. The service was friendly and helpful and although we did have to wait a long time for the food, it was worth waiting for. Whilst it may not have been the best meal ever it was certainly of good quality and reasonably priced. If you find yourself in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin thengive it a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JustVisiting59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    33
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
1 review
“Excellent Sicilian Dinner in a Medieval Hill-Top Restaurant " Casarella"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were given the restaurant name by a lady we met one night in our road whilst she was walking her dog. Her recommendation was spot one, we were given the Roof Top Balcony over-looking the Bay of Monaco, so high up. The food was superb, we had cold plate of meats for starters and both os us plummed for the Fillets of Fish, this was made in the oven with potatoes as a base them the fillets of fish and herbs and then mushrooms finished off with another layer of potoates, wow, no room left for the wonderful Desserts, next time!!!. the lady owner serving us had a marvellous command of English and so friendly. Would definately recommend this restaurant for any foodie.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank valerie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Sorry but tired and run down...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Very sweet elderly couple running the place... But they should retire. Looking for a "foodie" experience ... Move on ..

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank nick341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just stunning!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

My fiancée and I recently visited this restaurant whilst on a weekend away in Monaco and we are so glad we did.

The one table terrace has stunning views of Monaco and the surrounding areas, the food was reasonably priced and the menu has a great range of genuine Sicilian/Corsican options. The portions were beyond generous.

However, the best part of our experience was the friendliness of the owner. I had proposed to my girlfriend earlier in the day, I informed the owner that I was doing this. Upon arrival there was a candle and champagne on the table, and even a small bouquet of flowers which she had bought from the flower market earlier that day. A very thoughtful, and greatly appreciated, touch.

Overall, a very friendly and genuine restaurant, with a terrace view which would usually lead to expensive prices. However, for around €100 for two three-course meals, a bottle of champagne and a pichet of red wine, this was great value.

Can't wait to go back next year!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamPeterClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food in a medieval town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We ate here mainly because it was close to our hotel and seemed like a nice place. We were quite happy with the Sicilian/Corsican food, though it did atake quite a while for our meals to arrive. No matter, though - we were in Roquebrune-cap-Martin, and sitting for an hour on a Medieval street with a bottle of wine seemed like exactly the right thing to be doing. The meal was well worth the wait, and our waitress was quite nice.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Casarella also viewed

Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Restaurant Casarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing