We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good value”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you are searching for a good located hotell for 2-3nights you don't need to search more now. This place works in most cases. Location is great, 5min walk to everything like food, bar, trainstation and beach. They offer parking for small amount to.
Minibar is nice to have on arrival.
Lots of tv channal, good when there are fotboll world cup or TdF.
Not best for honeymoon thou.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for one night, and its not too bad location. Parking facilities are not great. about 7 spaces out at the front of the hotel, no where to pull in to unload, and roadside parking on the busy street if you can get a spot!
The room was nice, but the airconditioning was broken, and it was very warm... we requested to get it fixed but the guy behind the counter was quite dissmissive and un-interested plus we needed to get our fractious boiling hot baby to sleep after a long drive. In the end i fixed the aircon myself as a sensor was broken on the sliding door...!
We chose the express breakfast, half price of the normal breakfast but it was a great mistake. 2 crossiants each that were the size of matchboxes and not allowed Jam! tea was included though.
Also we were made to sit out of the restaurant in like a naughty cornder as we had bought what felt like a poverty breakky! So pay the extra!
the checkout in the morning was great, and the ladies served us well.
All in all slightly underwhelming, but nice location especially the sea view

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAPTAINCURRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Unless you are looking to stay in RCM I do not understand why people say this is a terrific location. We chose this hotel hoping it would be a cheaper alternative yet still close enough to Monaco. A cab from there to Monaco is €50 one way and the buses to Monaco stopped running after 7 PM. The train is an option up to around midnight. It is beautifully located across the street from the beach but there is no sand, only a very rocky terrain before getting into the water. The closest town is Menton, 3 km away and the only thing there are restaurants and one casino. The outside of the hotel is very dated but the rooms are renovated. Unfortunately we discovered ants crawling all over our room the morning we left. We hope we will not be bringing these visitors back to our house. We informed the front desk who let the maid service know but he was not apologetic and did not offer anything to rectify the situation.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Phamjaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matlik, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Mrs Pham,
I am very sorry to read that you didn't enjoy the location of our hotel. As you rightly point out, there are regular train and bus services to Monaco, running until about midnight, as well as a round the clock bus service to Nice airport that stops right outside the hotel. Late night taxis from Monaco can be expensive, although 30-35€ is more usual than the price you mentioned.

The beach in front of the hotel is indeed made of pebbles. We are happy to provide customers with deck chairs and beach towels free of charge. There is also a private beach with a small restaurant around 50m from the hotel where people can rent recliners by the day.

You are a little harsh in your judgement of Menton - there is somewhat more to the town than "restaurants and one casino". I recommend to prospective visitors to check out the Menton Tourist Office web site for the full range of attractions. It's true that if night-time partying is your thing, however, there are better-suited places on this planet.

The building that the hotel is part of was built in the 1960s and I agree with you: it is not a stunning example of award-winning architecture! But don't judge a book by its cover: as you pointed out, we have done a very thorough renovation of all the rooms and public areas. Other comments on this site are a testament to the success of what we have tried to achieve.

Regarding the ants in the room - they are attracted from the garden outside on occasions when customers leave crumbs or other leftovers on the floor - as confirmed by the housekeeper who cleaned the room following your departure. This isn't a usual problem - as you say: they only appeared on the morning of your departure, not during the 2 days that you stayed with us.

When you say that we "didn't offer anything to rectify the situation", we are not usually in the habit of compensating customers for problems that we are not given a chance to rectify, or indeed that are beyond our control. You certainly deserved an apology, which I am happy to give you here publicly. Our future customers can rest assured that the ants in question have rapidly disappeared...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I'm too lazy to write but i don't think it's a problem since this hotel don't need much to say. AMAZING! We love every single thing we experienced with this hotel. You guys know how to make a great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RezaBalfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We just got back from a great stay here and so well located. Amazing views and excellent service. Our mini bar was refilled free of charge daily which was a blessing in the heat. The staff are very helpful and polite. Rooms are cleaned daily to very high standards and there is an excellent Italian restaurant next door. The only thing we were a bit let down by is we booked this as it had English tv channels and everyday we were told it would be fixed but we never got them. Also there was a fold out bed for our child which we them got billed £20 per night on checkout I thought that was rather cheeky it's only a fold out bed and we are being inconvenienced as the rooms are quite small and it's not even a proper bed and we got charges daily for it would have been better off providing rooms that can accommodate families. But other than that this really was an excellent hotel and really appreciated the welcome drinks too. Will recommend this place highly and surely return. Thank you to all the staff

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Honestopinionalways1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matlik, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hello!
I'm delighted you had a nice stay with us. My apologies for the problems with the UK TV channels - they are a result of a recent change to the broadcasting satellite (search the web for "BBC switch to Astra 2E" for full details). We have ordered a BIG new dish to resolve this - we're now told that it should be installed next week.

Regarding the extra bed, we have taken care to buy the best possible rollaways that we can, with a 16cm thick sprung matress, and they fit neatly under the main bed despite a size of 190x80cm. Our rooms are normally clearly marketed as doubles - your comment about room size is the very reason why we don't market them as triples. Please do let me know which channel you booked through if it didn't make things sufficiently clear.

The nature of the building means there is no way to easily change the room layouts to give more space, but we do have some rooms with communicating doors.

Looking forward to your staying with us again in the future, best regards, Matthew Likierman.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

the hotel has a great vibe. terrific location, super helpful and friendly staff. the rooms super nice/clean, large balcony overlooking the water. great lobby. great value. cannot think of any negatives, we would definitely return.

Room Tip: the rooms on the 2nd floor or higher are great so you have a view of the sea.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shana44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matlik, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Many thanks for the great review - I am delighted you enjoyed you stay with us!

Regarding your room tip - all our rooms are on the 1st floor! The hotel was built in the 1970s with apartments on the upper floors. These are empty over 90% of the time as they are mostly holiday homes - so there's very little noise from above to disturb our guests!

Matthew Likierman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We decided to stay at hotel Victoria last minute as we visited Monte-Carlo but felt the price for accommodation were a little expensive for what we wanted. This beautiful and very friendly hotel is right across the beach and only 5 minutes drive to Monaco (monte-Carlo). When we arrive the hotel had very welcoming staff spoke who all spoke fluent English and had welcome drinks for us. They even brought our drinks up to our room so we didn't have to drink then in the lobby / bar area. The room was fabulous !!! Fully renovated, very spacious and immaculate! Plus there were a number of English TV channels too. Although we didn't need it the hotel room had been cater to people in wheelchairs with high toilet seats and a foldable seat in the shower. We loved the hotel so much we asked the stuff to stay another night however their hotel was closing that day over the quiet season. They then offered we could stay at their sister hotel just 3.5kms down the road in Menton for the same price we paid at Hotel Victoria. We were also very pleased with the excellent service from Hotel Napoleon. I would 100% recommend both hotels to anyone and would love to come back in the peak season. a big thank you to the wonderful stuff for making our stay very memorable. You were all a pleasure to deal with :) Jess and Mitch

Room Tip: We paid fort he standard rooms and were thrilled!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roquebrune-Cap-Martin
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#2 of 30 in Menton
504 reviews
1.9 mi away
Monte-Carlo Beach
Monte-Carlo Beach
#2 of 10 in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,327 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,167 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#1 of 30 in Menton
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: 7 Promenade du Cap, 06190 Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Roquebrune-Cap-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin
Price Range: £94 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean, a stone’s throw from the sea shore, and with panoramic views from the Cap Martin to Italy, the Victoria Hotel welcomes you with its relaxed and friendly charm.Fully renovated in 2011, the Victoria Hotel, in contemporary elegant comfort, is perfectly suited to those who seek quality without ostentation on the French Riviera.Ideally situated to discover the cultural heritage and activities of Roquebrune Cap Martin, Menton and its surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing