We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardly a 5 star hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is in a great position, has frienldy and helpfull staff,OK food at rediculus prices,but the room we had was far to small almost with danger waliking around to get into bed. The furniture was cheap and poor quality. The exposed plumbing to and from the toilet was very badly installed. It is a real shame, the owners should be embarressed.We recently stayed at the Negresco In Nice,Reids In Madeiria, Mayfair Hotel London etc and many other 5 Star hotels. The management should take a look. This is the worst.

Room Tip: Go there, but expect a VERY!!!!!! small room or Pay alot of money. If so don't go there, there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peterlugansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for taking time to share your recent experience with us on tripadvisor. We pay a big attention to every guest comment and we were sorry to read that our accommodation did not meet your expectations. Since your Tripadvisor ID does not allow us to retrieve your reservation and your stay, we are not able to check your remarks regarding the room you were allocated in.
From your comments on the room size, we understand that you stayed in a standard room. Their attractive rate allow our guests to take benefit of all our facilities. A full description of our rooms is always available on all our commercial support (royal-riviera.com/en/mountain-view-room) .
As per your comments on our restaurants rates, we offer a range of menus and meals. Our first 3-course Menu in our gastronomic restaurant is at 61 euros and our dishes at the pool restaurant start from 17€ , which makes our hotel one of the most reasonable 5- star hotel on the French Riviera.
We invite you to contact us directly and hope you will leave us the opportunity to book your stay in a bigger room and give you a better impression of our property you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend as a couple and whole experience was simply amazing. The renovated deluxe room was huge and welcoming. We started our days by sitting at the balcony and enjoying the beautiful Azure see view. The breakfast was superb with a variety of freshly baked pastries, jams,selection of cheese, juices, fruits and more...
The staff attention was great and hope to get back there soon.
Thank you !

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view and don't forget to visit the really nice Mougins town which was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank German K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Attachée de direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your nice review. We are all touched to be considered as the best hotel you've ever visited! We hope to become one of your regular Hôtels and hope to see you again soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

we stayed at the Royal Riviera just for one night. Staff on arrival was welcoming and very friendly. we were offered the choice between mountain or sea view room. the later doubles price. we opted for mountain one and found the room very small but nice except for the view which is actually on the railway... sand beach is great and swimming pool ok.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank DavidElie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear DavidElie,
We thank you very much for taking time to share your recent experience on tripadvisor. We"re glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your constructive comments. Regarding our rooms and room difference, our standard room do offer all the comfort of a 5 star hotel and their size and view explain the fact that they are half price of our sea view rooms. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel on another occasion and invite you to contact us directly!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A group of 6 of us celebrated my Mother's 75th Birthday at Hotel Royal Riviera just last week. The location was superb and the staff efficient, friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. We spend 6 blissful days there and enjoyed everything from lazing around the beautiful pool, boat trips to Cannes and an action packed Jet Ski tour to Italy. This hotel caters for everyone and it became apparent that most of the visitors were repeat clients. I can see why - We will be back in the not too distant future. Thank you Patricia, Christophe & Team for a memorable stay and the extremely personal touches that will always remain in our hearts. Warm Regards, Julian & The Rowe Family.

Room Tip: The best rooms in the house are the suites on Level 1 with Sublime Views over the water and huge ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Julian R,
We thank you very much for taking time to post a review further to your recent visit. We were pleased to host the 6 of you at the Hotel and touched to have been chosen for your mother 75th birthday. We are delighted to read that we met your expectations for this special occasion and thank you very much for your kind words addessed to our team. Our best reward will be to have you book in the near future.
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I returned to the Royal Riviera for a week at the end of June with my wife and two daughters and immediately we arrived we could relax straight away knowing we were in the most perfect place, Your previous reviewer has summed up very well the great location of the hotel and the quality of its food, staff and facilities. What really makes this hotel a joy to be at is the friendliness, efficiency and quality of the staff. Whereas you can be made to feel uncomfortable in some expensive hotels the staff at the Royal Riviera are the most pleasant you could ever meet. Whether it is the reception staff when you arrive or those attending to you in the restaurant or at the pool bar or in the main the bar or whether it is those who look after you around the pool or on the beach, you are made to feel really welcome and special. Unlike many hotels where a great majority of the staff change from year to year many of the staff at the Royal Riviera this year were also there the previous year which makes such a difference. My wife and two daughters were due to go home a couple of days before me due to the work commitments of my wife and eldest daughter. My youngest daughter however loved the hotel so much that she changed her flight to stay there with me for another 2 days as she said she did not want to leave the place !! That is how good this hotel is. Congratulations to Bruno Mercadal, the General Manager, and his fantastic team of staff. Please don't let things change, David M.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidM4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear DavidM433,

What a delight to read your review! We thank you very much for taking time to post a second review further to your 2nd visit. We were pleased to have you and your family stay with us again and thank you for your sweet words. We hope we will all see you again next year...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I just returned from a 4 night stay and cannot recommend Royal Riviera St Jean Cap Ferrat enough. It is perfectly situated in the middle of the Côte d'Azur. From our wonderful room with private balcony (room 108) to the tasteful private beach to the ultra relaxing pool area, everything was simply perfect. Well done Royal Riviera St Jean Cap Ferrat. We will most definitely be back!

PS-thanks for turning the Bar Le Cap into the Bar Le World Cup!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank DFWGunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear DFWGunner,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your fist experience at the Hotel with other travelers. We always pay a big attention to any comment and are pleased to read that you've enjoyed your stay and our best reward will be to have you back...
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just returned from a few days at this wonderful hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the restaurant and very happy with the service level and accommodating staff. We will return for sure. We went to dinner at the Grand Hotel but much preferred the Royal Riviera. Friendliness of staff and relaxed atmosphere likely won us over ! Thank you for memorable times.

Room Tip: Ensure you book a room with a view of the ocean. Postcard views, unbeatable !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimbo991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Kimbo911,

We thank you very much for taking time to post a review further to your recent visit with us. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and we are delighted to read that you've had memorable times at the Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
0.4 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & S...
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
390 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
2.4 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
#3 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
158 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cap Estel Hotel
Cap Estel Hotel
#4 of 6 in Eze
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal-Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal-Riviera

Address: 3 Avenue Jean Monnet, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range: £167 - £561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal-Riviera 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the peninsula of Cap-Ferrat, with plunging views of the Provencal gardens and the Mediterranean, the 94-room Hotel Royal-Riviera provides the intimacy of a private villa with the luxury and glamour of a palace. L'Orangerie villa's 16 rooms and suites each offer a large terrace overlooking the garden or the pool, or a balcony. Guests may dine in the restaurant "La Table du Royal" or on its outdoor terrace, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, or during the season at the poolside restaurant “Jasmin Grill & Lounge”, facing the famous Villa Kerylos. The hotel is 15 minutes drive from Monaco and Nice and 25 minutes from Nice International Airport. With the exception of a seven-week period when the hotel is closed during the winter, the hotel is open all year-round. The Royal-Riviera is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal-Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Riviera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing