We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hotel Royal-Riviera is a beautiful property with a great location right on the Baie des Fourmis. The flowering landscaping was lucious and the outdoor dining area was very pleasant. The staff were all very eager to help. Our room was quite large, nicely decorated, and overlooked the pool.

As an activity, we took a fantastic walk on the Promenade Maurive Rouvier, which had a very convenient access from the hotel property. The walkway is right along the water and offered spectacular views of the area. The Promenaded ended in the Port de Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, which is a small harbor village with restaurants, shops, and marina. Nice area.

On returning to the Hotel, we had lunch at the poolside restaurant and then spent a very relaxing afternoon at the pool. We had dinner that evening al fresco at the hotel. The food was good and the service was excellent, but like many hotel restaurants it was very expensive.

Our only criticism: the shower nozzle was an inexpensive handheld gizmo that sat in a cheap plastic holder. Not what you would expect from an expensive luxury hotel. Also, the shower/tub had one of those silly partial glass doors, which I've seen in other European hotels. These little panels do very little to control the water, and the bathroom floor gets flooded even after a brief shower. Of course, this gets cleaned up by the maids, but the bathroom remains unpleasant in meantime.

Despite the relatively minor shower issue, the Hotel Royal-Riviera is a spectacular place and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: You definitely want a room with a view of the pool, which is in the back of the property. The front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMore1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear TravelMore1954,

We thank you very much for your nice and detailed review. It is always a delight to receive such positive feedback and the best part of it is you mentioning your wish to come back to the Hotel! We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    115
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
139
437
25
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights. The location is wonderful - just a short ride from Nice airport and close to many things to see. The staff was very helpful in terms of arrangements and recommendations for restaurants. My only complaint is that, for the cost, the rooms were quite small. We initially were in the rooms costing 1150Euro; the room was lovely but not for the money. We then switched to a room for 850Euro - which was tiny; it didn't even have a closet, so they put in a free-standing closet which made it even smaller. I know that the south of France is expensive but it seemed a little over the top. Add to that the fact that they arranged an airport transfer to the hotel for 190Euro when cab fare is 70Euro and its just a bit too rich for my blood.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear NancyDL,

We thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at the Royal Riviera on tripadvisor. We're pleased to read that you enjoyed the Hotel location and our team. We have taken good note of your remarks regarding our rooms and are sorry to read that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. As per our rates, July being our high season, they were the highest during your stay but are still lower than most of the Hôtels in the area. Regarding your remark on transfer cost, the choice was offered to your travel agent prior to your arrival between taking a taxi or having a private limousine transfer with chauffeur. Both costs were given to your travel agent, who confirmed a private transfer upon your arrival. We're sorry if this was not clear to you. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel on another occasion and invite you to contact us directly so we can make sure to pick the most appropriate accommodation and transportation for your stay. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

So, if you are going to "do" the South of France to any degree, there's possibly - amongst us who don't "do" such things with great frequency - the obvious concern about "le vibe". Or, to put it less eloquently (merci Les Francais) the fear that you will be sharing hotel space with impossibly overdressed, haute-maintenance, deliriously demanding folks for whom the vacation is pretty much on par with Cable TV : expected.

Main non! This is an utterly sublime property, where there is truthfully a sense that your holiday time (and indeed dollars) are appreciated. The staff was without exception courteous, gentle, engaging and extremely hospitable. The room - we stayed on the 2nd floor which has been renovated to the style indicated on the website - was perfectly appointed, immaculately clean, bright, cheerful and decadent.

Enjoy the bar - the bartenders certainly appear to be enjoying themselves. And dinner outside on the terrace is really magnificent. A superb menu with food that doesn't demand you pay all your attention to the plate, and a decent wine list that includes some approachable and affordable finds.

It's not often that something borderlines on perfect, but this hotel should congratulate itself on near perfection. Merci

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floors are the "refreshed" floors - I do believe upstairs could be a little da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear pauljToronto,

We thank you very much for taking time to share your recent experience at the Hotel on tripadvisor. We're delighted to read that you found the Royal Riviera not being a hotel with impossibly overdressed , haute-maintenance, deliriously demanding folks! We really enjoyed reading your nice review and hope it will give other travelers an interesting point of view of the Hotel. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future and remain at your disposal for any enquiry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 8 nights here on a family holiday and despite the hefty price tag , we all checked out feeling very happy with our stay. The hotel does not have a spectacular facility or pool or beach. The rooms are good and spacious and the pool does the job and the private little pebble beach is nice but certainly not the most amazing beach. What the Royal Riviera does have is one of the highest standards of service I have experienced in this part of the world . From arrival until departure , we were made to feel at home and totally pampered. Whether it is the concierge services of Cristophe or Eric or the beach service of Stephane , and the great housekeeping staff and frankly all the staff we interacted with, the service was exemplary. The only drawback is that it does not have a casual eatery for dinner as the restaurant is quite formal. But that was not a problem given all the beautiful places to eat in the surrounding villages. I congratulate the management of this establishment.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tarek_Aggad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Tarek_Aggad,
We thank you very much for your nice review. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to the Hotel for your summer holidays and are pleased to read that you all left the Hotel very happy. We thank you for your nice comments regarding our team and are glad to hear that we succedeed in making you feel pampered. We also thank you for your suggestion on having a casual restaurant for dinner, that we will surely share with our owner.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel for your next family Holiday and invite you to contact us direcly for a future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

i have not stayed in the south of France along the coast previously, but i have stayed all over France and Europe and the United States. I have nothing to say but good things about this Hotel. I was here for my company's Club and stayed with my partner. The hotel was amazing, their meals were amazing, the room was amazing, and the service was, to my experience, 5-star. The location is perfect, the hotel is not that large (a great plus to me), beautifully appointed, clean, and they were just lovely about my halting French. Their English was really very good. The room was lovely: great bed, very nice, clean, and clean-smelling (if you've stayed in France, you know why I mention this), beautiful view over the pool and bay. A really, really nice room! And their buffet breakfast is a really nice hybrid of a French, English, and German; absolutely perfect.

So, right: nothing to complain about here. It was amazing; I didn't see another hotel I wanted to stay in by comparison. I think this may be the best place to stay if you can. And by the way, I found the distance from Beaulieu-sur-Mer, Monte Carlo, and Nice to be very workable.

Room Tip: I had a pool-facing room. Noise from the pool from about 11am til about 3pm was noticeable, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padme111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Padme111,
We thank you for your very nice review. We are pleased to read that you had chosen the Royal Riviera for your 1st time in South of France and delighted to hear that it was a nice experience! We hope it has convinced you to come back on another occasion and invite you to contact the Hotel directly for a future stay.
Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

we had such a fantastic week there........... the staff are lovely they spend time with u it was lovely siting having dinner outside............. they had music twice whilst there.......... by the swimming pool really nice and staff are very helpful........... u feel very relaxed there... the guests were lovely the only draw back they try to put u on top floor very small bedroom no balcony we then had to get another room so much more.......... a lot of people come back every year........ a family run hotel........ by the beach a great relaxing break recommend it ,this is a lovely spot to go on holiday

Room Tip: get room facing pool and sea then u will get balcony. do not go to the 4th floor no balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally17june1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for your review. We're pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time with usand thank you for your comments on our team! We hope you will be coming back in the near future and invite you to contact us directly in order to pick the right accommodation. Have a lovely Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Checking into a 5-star, I expected a beautiful room. We were in the South of France after-all. I also expected the rooms to look like they did on the brochure. So, after being shown to my room, I thought they had slipped us through a secret doorway to a Motel 6. I was in shock. AND, if you weren't facing the ocean, you were looking straight at the train tracks and what I assume is the low income housing for the area. That being said, the staff (especially the concierge, Christopher? and the bellmen and pool men, and ocean guys) were amazing. The location is perfect. The pool and beach were great. I got past the ugly factor of the room and had an amazing vacation. Nice and Monaco are far too crowded for me. This place was perfect in that you could walk in either direction to amazing little restaurants, marina's, gorgeous beaches, walking paths for miles. I didn't want to leave this perfect place. Friendly people everywhere. I can't wait to go back. LOVED it.

Room Tip: We were in our rooms only to sleep as St. Jean is too beautiful a town to stay indoors. That being s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalbuMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear MalbuMum,

We thank you very much for your review and are glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us despite the disappointment on your room. We are delighted to read that you are thinking of coming back and will be pleased to make you discover our sea & garden view rooms that you will surely find more suitable for you. Have a lovely Summer
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
0.4 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & S...
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
2.4 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
#3 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Delcloy
Club Delcloy
#5 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chateau Eza
Chateau Eza
#2 of 7 in Eze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal-Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal-Riviera

Property: Hotel Royal-Riviera
Address: 3 avenue Jean Monnet, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal-Riviera 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the peninsula of Cap-Ferrat, with plunging views of the Provencal gardens and the Mediterranean, the 94-room Hotel Royal-Riviera provides the intimacy of a private villa with the luxury and glamour of a palace. L'Orangerie villa's 16 rooms and suites each offer a large terrace overlooking the garden or the pool, or a balcony with a partial sea view. Guests may dine in the restaurant "La Table du Royal" or on its outdoor terrace, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal-Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Riviera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing