We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish the service had been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand-Hotel du Cap-Ferrat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The property is stunning and the rooms are pristine. We arrived just before check-in time after a very long trip and our room was not ready yet. That was obviously disappointing, but we went down to the terrace to eat lunch and to my surprise all they offered was a complimentary drink for our inconvenience. We did not get our room until at least an hour after check-in time. We had a sea view suite with no terrace. The room was lovely - impeccably decorated and the amenities including the large bathroom and closet were excellent. We were lucky to have a suite - some friends had a basic room and they are very small. The gardens and pool are also amazing and the access to the path that wraps around the whole Cap Ferrat peninsula makes the location even better. There's even a little swimming hole in the sea which is awesome.

Everything is extra here and it is all very pricey. Expect to spend a lot of money on ancillary food and beverage. Luckily the views are nice.

The biggest disappointment for what I thought was a VERY expensive hotel was the service at the front desk. There was just an attitude of "why are you even asking me a question?" every time I spoke to anyone. Generally I didn't feel like they WANTED to help me whenever I asked for something...my problems were my problems, not theirs. I can't say the service experience was ENTIRELY negative, but it certainly wasn't positive. And it would give me pause before I booked another VERY expensive stay there.

I should note that the pool service was much friendlier than the rest of hotel's.

Room Tip: Take a walk on the coastal path and jump in the sea at the swimming hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmainelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We spent a three days weekend at St Jean Cap Ferrat early December, a few days before the hotel closes for winter.

We stayed in a superior suite with sea view. It is rather small but decor is very bright and it is a corner suite so there is plenty of light and it feels quite welcoming. Equipment shall be enhanced (no Nespresso machine, no DVD or Blu-Ray player) but the hard product is excellent. Bathroom is beautiful (I always appreciate natural light in a bathroom).

Early December is the end of the season, there were very few people, club Dauphin was already closed, I liked very much this quiet atmosphere. Staff was always available for a chat and you can experience a privileged stay with great privacy.

I was still disappointed by the Spa area. It was recently built but the swimming pool is too small (8m x 4m) and there are only 4 loungers. The gym is also small (4 cardio machines + weights area & other equipment), and it was way too hot inside.

For those of you who may have to work a bit during holidays, please note that wifi signal is extremely weak throughout the hotel, and mobile network is so poor (at least with SFR) that I missed several important calls.

Service was ok with some minor glitches.
La Veranda restaurant was very good, breakfast (buffet) was average, actually we much preferred in-room breakfast on our second day.

If you drive there be sure to have a navigator as St Jean Cap Ferrat is a residential area with only huge villas (it reminded us of Bel Air).

Be prepared for stratospheric prices. We asked for a hotel car to go to a concert in Palais Nikaia (roughly 20km), it was 440 Eur for the return trip. 2 first and 2 main at La Veranda with 2 glasses of wine was 235 Eur. At peak season even the room rate is way too expensive, (they target Russian clients) and I think you can find much better value in other parts of Europe.

Overall we had a pleasant stay, but I don't think we'll go back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Cedric&Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The holel is set on the hill and you have a beautiful view of the ocean. As you enter the hotel you are welcome into the most wonderful relaxing lobby, after checking as you walk towards the windows you see the lovely blue ocean.(only if you check in in the daytime)

The hotel have the main building and annex. The main building have rooms facing the ocean or the garden. We toke a room in the annex, and our suite is beautiful and have our own pool. They even have an alarm to keep child walking into the pool unexpectedly. Great for family, and really is a great precaution.

Service is the excellent. Every time you walk out of you room, your room is cleaned

Food is great. Just a magnificent place to have a luxurious holiday!

Room Tip: I stayed at #501 and it is a suite with a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mermaid719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Positiv is the location and the luxury renovated rooms. We stayed in room #203 which is very nice at the corner with windows on both sides. The little place to go swimming in the sea is fantastic. The facility with the big garden is overwhelming. Negativ is the Hotel atmosphere. It feels to be in a showroom. Only the original elevator gives you an impression of the good old Grand Hotel. An some pictures in the stairway. All other things are new and nothing special. Breakfast is only inside, we asked to be outside. The buffet is by the Bar desk. At that place is also the cashier machine. During your breakfast, you have always the sound of printing bills. The waiters are always busy with that. At the end of your breakfast you have to sign the bill for breakfast. Even if you have all inclusive. EUR 90.--, breakfast for two. This feels weird for a Leading Grand Hotel. To stay in this hotel was a wish for years. We expected top notch services and were disappointed. Next time, we will stay in the nearby Hotel Royal Riviera. You can enjoy the unique place Cap Ferrat from there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel aims to deliver the perfect Riviera holiday and in virtually all areas it more than delivers this.

Check-in was very efficient, and by the time that the receptionist had finished showing me around the room, the baggage had arrived; perfect timing. The room itself was extremely comfortable, had a great sea view, and was beautifully bright which complemented the area and feel of the hotel very well. The bathroom was large and very high quality with Jacob Delafon sanitary ware, and endless pale white marble. It even had a large window; natural light in a bathroom is such a plus point for me. The only low point for me was the own brand toiletries made by a generic manufacturer and packaged for the property; nothing particularly luxe or distinctive about them. In a property of this calibre, I would’ve expected to see something by an exclusive brand such as La Prairie; as I only had a room perhaps the suites receive something of higher quality. The dressing room was perfectly equipped with lots of hangers and space to store one’s clothes and cases. The evening turndown/second service was always very efficient in all aspects as well as managing to time it perfectly.

The 1* restaurant was closed, and the more casual restaurant didn’t have a particularly exciting menu (certainly not at that price point) so I didn’t bother having anything other than breakfast there. If you do not have breakfast included in your rate, an American breakfast (buffet and hot items both buffet and prepared a la minute) costs EUR45 which is not unreasonable in this sort of hotel in France. On the whole the quality of the food on offer was excellent; the berries were really great quality, as were the breads. Cheeses were very boring and mass produced; it would be nice to see a wide selection of artisan cheeses. The Viennoiserie were fine, but certainly not the finest quality and there was no patisserie at all to speak of. The hot items cooked to order were well prepared, although I’d always expect something like an omelette to be garnished with a very small amount of dressed leaves or something to pretty the plate up and provide a contrast to the main dish, here it was just an omelette on the plate. The service at breakfast was flawless and personal; they always brought our hot drinks without asking as they remembered our preferences. It would be nice to see some more local and artisan products available, and hot items plated with just that little bit more finesse, which one would expect at a Palace hotel.

The swimming pool, Club Dauphin, was superb. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Even though it was in the final weeks of the season, the pool was perfectly heated and its size (not easy to find on the Riviera) and situation (infinity edge, right beside the sea) were perfect. Although in summer obviously it would be far busier and non hotel guests can use the facilities, albeit for a substantial membership fee. That said, it really was a most pleasant place to spend time.

The design of the spa wing / new guest rooms is original, flowing, contemporary, in keeping with the natural situation yet very distinct from the classical architecture of the main building; in short, a very successful architectural project on all levels. The spa itself is large, but I cannot help but feel better use could’ve been made of the space as it is largely given over to (revenue generating) treatment rooms. The “wet area” was a bit of a disappointment given it was constructed in the last five years. There is a very small pool with no jet stream so you are never going to be able to swim in it, and it is not heated to a warm enough temperature to “lounge” in. The Jacuzzi was a bit hit in miss in terms of temperature throughout my stay. The experience shower despite having different programme settings, they all seemed very similar and there were no accompanying fragrances. The saunas and steam rooms were separate for men and women which meant that they were really not suitable for more than two or three people to use at the same time. The style is all very white flowing design, but the quality is questionable in the wet areas, e.g. the pool lining is coming away in places. The changing facilities were very luxurious and the complimentary drinks bar a nice touch. I think a bit more imagination could’ve gone into this area and a few different types of scented saunas/laconium etc. could’ve been installed to make it that little bit more interesting.

As other reviews have noted, car parking is charged for at EUR45 a day. I can understand this in city centre hotel where one’s car has to be driven off-site, or if the hotel doesn’t own the car park or the number of spaces is very limited, etc. but here there is plenty of parking on property owned by the hotel. The justification given is that the car park cost them a reasonable sum to build and it is guarded so they are recouping the cost of both the initial outlay and ongoing service. As it was I parked my hired car just outside the hotel for free as I couldn’t justify the price, and no harm came to it. Given the rates that this hotel charges – especially in high season – as a guest I’d much rather they just increased their room rates across the board (if they really must) and included parking as it feels much more generous than the current situation. They don’t charge to use the spa facilities or pool, so why not include the parking too!? By making it invisible, this gripe is immediately removed.

The staff are all extremely attentive, kind and deliver a good level of personal service in all areas. This property delivers a far higher level of service, facilities and style than its nearby competitors. Overall a very polished product with beautiful bright décor in Cap Ferrat which is one of the most naturally attractive areas in the region with its rugged coastline.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntlTraveller21stc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Beautiful location. Wonderful rooms. Lots of pillow options. Incredible service. Olympic sized pool with infinity edge overlooking Mediterranean. Lift to carry you if you choose not to walk. Lovely gardens. Great breakfast. Fabulous location but very, very pricey.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KRCBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The location is superb and the pool with its view is stunning. Very pleasant gardens and well kept. Hotel interior impeccably clean, rooms are also immaculate and have all amenities one can think of, including dimmers left & right plus electrically driven blinds. Room size reasonable.

The only downside are the outrageous prices for hotel services: parking, breakfast, the restaurant, the bar, etc are all way above average even for a 5 star hotel and thus not quite worth the money. Breakfast at EUR 45 breathes sterile luxury and the coffee does not match the cost....

The spa area is a bit on the tiny side, a 20 or so ft indoor "pool" hardly can be qualified as a pool - but as long as the outdoor pool is open, no need to go indoors.

Staff is pleasant as it should be for a top hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlybrown65000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
1.7 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
905 reviews
2 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & S...
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
393 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cap Estel Hotel
Cap Estel Hotel
#3 of 6 in Eze
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
3.8 mi away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
17.9 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand-Hotel du Cap-Ferrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand-Hotel du Cap-Ferrat

Address: 71 boulevard General de Gaulle, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range: £265 - £1,843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand-Hotel du Cap-Ferrat 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the glamorous resort lifestyle of the Cote d’Azur – close to Nice and Monaco – in the iconic luxury of the Grand-Hotel du Cap-Ferrat, A Four Seasons Hotel. Among the 74 light and airy guest rooms – including 24 suites and one villa – some feature private terraces and swimming pools. Chic, modern design by Pierre-Yves Rochon features gleaming white marble and textures of white and beige, putting the emphasis on colourful artwork and signature French Riviera views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand-Hotel du Cap-Ferrat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Du Cap Ferrat
Grand Resort Du Cap Ferrat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing