We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step 1: How to save money and have a great view”
Review of Hotel Panoramic

Hotel Panoramic
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Panoramic
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I have read a number of reviews for Hotel Panoramic and mine seems to fall in the middle.
It is true that the hotel was opened in 1958, and there are aspects of the hotel that seem to be stuck 70 years ago, but I find that charming. The hotel itself was clean, and the staff was courteous and left you to your business.

The owner offered a number of suggestions for beaches and restaurants, and I must say, she did not disappoint.

A few caveats: There is no AC, and this may be a deal breaker for some. The rooms do not have safes, or mini-fridges, but the hotel has a large safe and fridge that you can use free of charge.

For techie travelers, the TV's in the room do offer a USB port for charging your phone or tablet.

Just remember, you are buying the view, and the access to a wonderful port town, and you are hopefully only sleeping a few hours of the night., so save yourself hundreds of euros a night by staying in a charming throwback and enjoy the breeze off the ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_Heston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Panoramic
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Hotel Panoramic when we went to the Monaco Grand Prix - great value as most hotels put their price up for this time. The hotel is traditional in its style but immaculately clean with a modern bathroom. The view from our hotel room was spectacular as others have also commented ... we spent every evening having a drink on our balcony and watching the boats and helicopters go by. This is definitely a hidden gem with far more charactor than your usual chain hotels. The owner was very welcoming and helpful with the marina located a short 10 minute walk away with varying restaurants to eat in, prices can be expensive depending on what you choose to eat and drink.
The public tranport system around this area was brilliant ... I had considered highering a car but was so glad we didnt. The train was easy to get from St Augustine (and the station easy to find after looking on here are varying reviews I was slightly worried but we walked straight there no problem) to Bealieu then there were frequent buses to St Jean ... then the same to Monaco the journey on the train was around 9 minutes and bus around 20 depending on the traffic. It is a nice walk too from Bealieu to St Jean down the coastal path - takes around 20 minutes.
We will definitely be going back to explore this area further and would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBonham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Obviously, the most impressive thing about this hotel is the view.
But wait, there is more!
Since the hotel has been in the family for three generations, they do not have to worry about having enough rooms to make it profitable (industry says a minimum of 42). So the Panoramic is more like a B&B. You get to talk with the owner about the history of the hotel and the village of St. Jean. She and the night clerk (now retired) gave us many tips on the sights, but more than that, we felt a real connection to the people.
The Cadillac Cafe, a short walk from the hotel, serves decent meals, and a bakery and grocery are nearby for your breakfast needs. Tips are included at the Cadillac, but if you add an additional tip on the bill, they won't tell you, so beware. The Panoramic will put items that need to be kept cold in the refrigerator behind the front desk.
Our room was well appointed, but several nights we needed to keep the door ajar so that we could get a cross-breeze from the hallway windows.
The location is excellent. From the side of the hotel with the view, you can walk down to the town and the marinas and from the other side take a walk to the park and see vistas of the Med. On this side (West) you can just suit up and go swimming.
A great place to chill out -- away from the big town of Nice.

Room Tip: The higher up the better for the view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Awful! dirty old rooms and the worst service ever. We arrived at 10.30 pm with our 4 year old son at the hotel, there was no bed in our room for our son as requested and there would have been no space anyway. when we asked at reception an alternative room or a bed for our son the response was my son could have either slept on the (disgusting) floor or we could have gone to another hotel! when we complained with the owner the following morning her response was that since we were Italian and Italy is not far away we should have stayed in Italy.....having said, that the view from the rooms is very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FedericaBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

At a time of standardised, pretentious, one-size-fits-all hotels it is good to find places like Le Panoramic. A small three star family run hotel, located in one of the most beautiful parts of Cap Ferrat, with spectacular views and a certain old flair imprinted not only by the decoration but also the kind well mannered attitude of the owners and people who work there.

Why should I give a 5 star rating to a hotel with no air conditioning, mini bar nor gym and a rather strange old decoration? Because it is all about the experience, and because probably a savy visitor wont need any of that. I write humbly and carefully “savy visitor” addressing those out there who love somehow getting big keyholders for the room, the ones that require leaving them in reception when going out or having a nice balcony with astonishing views. In a way, connecting to those who never take the time to write a review but in a funny way felt obliged to share an experience that goes beyond the ordinary. If you see yourself in that little corner of Southern France Im sure that you can change for once your expectations and enjoy what was like traveling at an earlier time. Ordering a drink to the room provides an opportunity for a chat to get some tips about places to visit and a window open at night will let some sea breeze in. If training is a must, hyperactive gym bunnies can swim in the Mediterranean or run up the hills and enjoy the smell of pines and recently watered gardens. Regarding the mini bar and for those with a need for their daily Pringles crisps fit or an old kit kat Im sure there must be a supermarket around. Air conditioning? Being friendly with the environment wont hurt once in a while wouldn’t it?

Breakfast in the terrace with the sun in the horizon is epic, and a lovely basket of croissants, pain au chocolat and crusty baguettes with butter and jams is exactly what one would expect to find in France. There are not fancy tea cups, the table cloth is probably not the one to ask to take home and hardly any piece of furniture will survive the test of time.

Yet, I wonder in how many occasions the owners had offers to sell their family hotel to a big chain, to a developer, to a speculator or they just fantasized about making more rooms, adding extra amenities to charge more, improve the category to get into the big league of the great hotel guides or simple move into a different business. Their answer to all these questions is enough to come back to Le Panoramic next time I'm passing by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

full of ants
uninspired choice
price does not reflect quality
patron client service attitude ... disaster!!!!

Room Tip: full of ants uninspired choice price does not reflect quality patron client service attitude...
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petru c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The Panoramic looks lovely on the outside, it's situated high above the sea with a wonderful view from the terrace where you can eat breakfast but unfortunately the rooms are so run down that we will not stay there again, in fact we changed hotels after the first night. Old-fashioned furniture, dirty carpets and overall unpleasant feeling in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
#3 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Voile d'Or
La Voile d'Or
#4 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Oursin
Hotel L'Oursin
#8 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
28 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & S...
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Club Delcloy
Club Delcloy
#5 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panoramic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panoramic

Address: 3 avenue Albert 1er, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range: £77 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing