We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”

Villa & Jardins Ephrussi de Rothschild
Book In Advance
More Info
US$96.81*
and up
Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It took Baroness Béatrice Ephrussi de Rothschild, one of the most original women on the French Riviera, seven years to build one of the most beautiful sites on the Côte d’Azur. An enlightened art enthusiast who travelled back and forth across France and Europe, Béatrice de Rothschild built up an incomparable and eclectic collection of masterpieces: priceless Sèvres and Vincennes porcelain, works by Fragonard, paintings by the masters (Boucher, Carpaccio, Tiepolo, etc.), Louis XVI furniture, and so on.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The beautiful gardens go on forever, and the fountain show with music is a lot of fun. Try a glass of wine in the outdoor tea salon - beautiful views! The house is beautiful and you can tour at your leisure. Tours with headsets also available. We had a great time!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SlickGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,350
    312
    37
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fairy tale...”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The event hosted there was so exquisite and romantic, nothing can surpass it...The villa itself and the garden, parks around are a perfect set up for something special anyway

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lyskupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning Views, Great Art & History”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We loved visiting the villa and gardens. We walked up the hill from our hotel (a very big hill) and were delighted to find this oasis. I highly recommend it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NancyDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Spectacular !”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Went there from Villa Kerylos by foot: 40 min, with an uphill part, but beautiful view.
The place is spectacular. Reminds us of old french castles. I must say that I dont particuly like that style, but it must be seen. I much prefered the gardens: its was sunny and hot when we went and the water show, with music was wonderful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdyQuébec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
“Superb jewel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We visited the villa and gardens with no great sense of expectation , as the only thing we had to go on was some tourist leaflets.

From the outset , fascinating story and the lady in question seemed to have more money than sense in many respects - but she created what can be described as an eclectic mansion full of the most interesting pieces of history. Obviously a big fan of the courts of King Louis IV , Louis VI and Marie Antoinette.

The staff at entrance were cordial , yet reserved. Not particularly forthcoming with much information, but possible typical reserve. The lady handing out the audio information players - which were very informative and useful- was warm and friendly enough.

The tea room staff were great , had a lovely tea and pastry of the day for under €10 each. The serenity of the tea room was wonderful , and the views amazing.

As my wife and I are keen gardeners , we loved the gardens. A pleasure and full of quirky water features and lots of lovely colours. If you like and value a well kept series of gardens - you will love this.
The French garden , with it's very ornate and beautiful water features which do a spectacular show to music , is a must. Best viewed from the Villa , but fun if you take the step stones to middle of feature . You will see what I mean.

The views around the whole Villa and gardens are amazing. Think this helped cement our relationship with the region more than any other spot so far.

Overall , would heartily recommend this as a trip to take , very worthwhile and a very beautiful legacy from what seems to have been a very interesting lady.

Enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bkdkmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa & Jardins Ephrussi de Rothschild also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Villa & Jardins Ephrussi de Rothschild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing