We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, lovely hosts, excellent value for money”
Review of Hotel L'Oursin

Hotel L'Oursin
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel L'Oursin
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Cap Ferrat for a wedding, during the peak season. We really cannot emphasise enough what a fantastic location this is if you don't want to drive or catch taxis (which is not easy). It is central (but quiet) and one can walk to the public/private beaches easily; the many restaurants within 5 minutes; a superb Boulanger 1 minute away; and the lovely Cap Ferrat peninsula walk/run almost on the doorstep. The accommodation is basic, but very clean - however, since this was a wedding with friends, we didn't spend much time in the room, hence it was perfect. Many friends stayed in much more expensive hotels in Villefranche and Beaulieu, but L'oursin was the cheapest and certainly best located. The host (mother and son) were charming and very helpful. I absolutely recommend this hotel if you want a basic, clean, no frills hotel in a truly beautiful (and otherwise very expensive) location. A bargain.

Room Tip: One at the front if you don't mind paying a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrnMrsBales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed at this charming hotel, and enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of the owner and her son. The lovliest people ! She even gave me a souvenir, an heirloom piece, I was very touched. I would highly recommend this hotel in the French Riviera. The room was very large and very comfortable

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plainjane9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2007

Their website is artfully crafted to make it seem like a quaint cute gem but really it's kind of dumpy. Good news is you are staying in an amazing and expensive part of France for pennies, but when it's 90 degrees out, it would be nice to have air conditioning. Also, this room was so small, I couldn't open my suitcase all the way, there's not enough room! I side stepped over to the window because the doorless mini fridge blocked the path. There was a bouquet of smells such as cigarettes, old vase water that needed to be changed and perhaps dog pee (?)
When I turned down the sheets, I discovered several hairs from a mystery person.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jojobean26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eugenio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia_migrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mais il n'y a pas de bonne chambre dans cet hôtel, c'est tellement vétuste avec un prix exag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eveburnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 78paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
#3 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Delcloy
Hotel Delcloy
#5 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Voile d'Or
La Voile d'Or
#4 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
179 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & S...
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
397 reviews
1.4 mi away
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Oursin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Oursin

Address: 1 avenue Denis Semeria, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range: £63 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Oursin 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel L'Oursin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing