We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the airport, but service needs much improvement!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
481 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Close to the airport, but service needs much improvement!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our three night Mediterranean cruise left out of Savona, Italy, the most convenient flight was from LAX to JFK to Nice. We had to take a two hour shuttle from the Nice airport to Savona, so we came in a day early just in case there were any airline delays, if we missed the shuttle it would be a very expensive taxi ride. I picked the Holiday Inn since it was one mile from the airport and had a free shuttle. I would be easy to get to the hotel, and back to the airport to catch our cruise shuttle.

We landed around 11am, called the Holiday Inn for a pickup which took less than ten minutes to arrive. The shuttle driver Patrick, was excellent, the best employee at the hotel. At check in only one of our two rooms was ready, however the helpful agent was able to find another room for us right away, although not on the top floor, we were just happy to be able to sleep after 20 hours of traveling. After all, the hotel was very empty since it’s the off season so it should be easy to fin an empty room that was ready. We made it back to the airport the next morning and were off to our cruise in Savona.

After the cruise we stayed another night at the Holiday Inn to visit our friends on their boat docked in La Napoule. However our experience with the Holiday Inn this time was completely different. I called the hotel when we arrived at the airport for a shuttle pickup and the lady said it would be 45 minutes. The hotel is one mile away, they assured me before I booked the hotel that we would simply give them a call and we would be picked up right away. I asked if they would reimburse a cab and she said that would be too expensive, so I had to argue until she sent the driver to pick us up. After picking us up, we went to the other terminal and pickup up more passengers, so I don’t know what the deal with a 45 minute wait was all about.

It was about 1:15pm when we arrived at the hotel and both of our rooms were not ready. I asked if we could get different rooms as we had to change clothes before we were to be picked up at 2pm. Also we were going to be out all evening until 11pm so I wanted to get settled in to our rooms so we could just get back to the hotel and go straight to sleep.

The desk agent, a different one than our first visit, would not find other available rooms, but called housekeeping to put a rush on our original rooms. As it got closer to 2pm they still had nothing for us forcing us to unpack our luggage in the lobby and change clothing in the lobby restroom. Our ride arrived and we had them check our luggage, I was extremely upset and asked if we would be able to retrieve our luggage at 11pm and they said of course.

We arrived back at the hotel at 11pm, I sarcastically asked if our rooms were ready yet, it was a different male agent and he said yes and laughed. I asked about our bags and he said that he didn't have the keys to the luggage storage room, but the bags "should" be in our rooms. If they were not in our rooms we would be out of luck until morning. I told him that I'll check but if they’re not there, I would be back down to kick the door in to the luggage room and I was not joking. Also I asked if there were any notes about our conversations earlier in the day and he said yes with a smile, I'm sure they put some notes about a rude American giving them a hard time.

Luckily our luggage was all in one of our rooms and I didn't have to go downstairs and cause some damage. It's just so surprising how having a couple good employees can make a stay so easy and pleasurable, on the other hand having to deal with a few incompetent staff can just ruin your whole stay. It’s obvious that there needs to be more training here to provide a consistently good experience.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for an ocean view room, try to get the 5th floor if possible for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe A, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on the Trip Advisor website concerning your two stays at the hotel Holiday Inn Nice-Port St Laurent .

I'm pleased to read your nice comments about the hotel staff and particularly for Patrick.

I regret however to read you were not satisfied with some aspects of your second stay.
Your feedback is very important for us as it represents your personal feeling corresponding to your own experience and you can be sure that your comments will be shared with the department head concerned .

Once again, thank you for your having shared your remarks.

We sincerely hope you will give us a new opportunity to welcoming you back soon at the hotel Holiday Inn Nice-Port St Laurent.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    229
    114
    50
    27
See reviews for
158
153
19
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Located virtually on the lovely sandy part of the Nice Beach, to the west of the airport, this hotel is ideal if you are considering a quick weekend break. Superb situation, adjacent to beaches, bistros and bars - but very quiet too.

Room Tip: Our 'mountain view' room overlooking the busy corniche road was perfectly quiet and with a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandErica38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe A, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear EnglandErica38,

Thank you for having posted your feedback further to your recent visit to the hotel Holiday Inn Nice-Port St Laurent.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the location and the quietness of our property.

We do hope to welcome you back soon for a new relaxing and enjoyable stay at the hotel Holiday Inn NIce-Port St Laurent.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Was only here for one night to attend a meeting close by and then take early flight out and so hotel was selected purely based on proximity to airport.
That said the hotel is located right on the water with some really nice restaurants and bars close by with a really nice setting - fish restaurant right on the water was great and you can bill direct to your room bill which was convenient - staff were very helpful.
I am lucky enough to stay in some lovely hotels around the world so I did find this hotel a bit tired to be honest but it was clean enough and the staff were helpful and friendly and for one night it was more than sufficient.
Very close to airport for easy transfer, internet access, tv, etc etc - all more than sufficient.
Would use it again for one night stays.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe A, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear cc_KL,

First, we would like to thank you on writing your feedback concerning your recent stay at the hotel Holiday Inn Nice-Port St Laurent.

We are glad that you enjoyed the location just near the sea and the hotel team as a whole is delighted to read your kind review.

Please note that we just start a refurbishment program.
2 floors and all the meeting rooms will be renovated before the end of the year and the 3 last floors before the end of 2015.

We are looking forward on welcoming you at the hotel Holiday Inn Nice-Port St Laurent in the nearest future.

kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This, allegedly, is a Holiday Inn Resort. There is no swimming pool (the one that was there belonged to an external business, was charged separately for, and is no longer there anyway) there are no external relaxation areas, or activities, the restaurant within the hotel serves breakfast but I never saw it open at any other time, there is no coffee shop, the single member of staff at the bar also does room service and is often absent for 20 - 30 minutes and the fine dining restaurant is a 5 minute walk away and not in the hotel at all. The entire building is soulless and the staff though polite, seem terribly unhappy.Oh, you do get a view of the sea - for a premium.
If you want somewhere close to the airport - OK. If you're looking for a resort - stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe A, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Me M,

Thank you for giving from your time and noting a feedback on Tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at the hotel Holiday Inn Nice-Port St Laurent.

We are sorry to learn that we did not meet all your expectations in some of its aspects.

Unfortunatly, due to a french law, we had to remove our swimming pools who were built on the beach.
Now we have a nice and big private sandy beach open between May and September.

Our restaurant "Chez Panisse" is 200 meters away from the hotel but takes place in a wonderful location directly on the beach.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back at the hotel Holiday Inn Nice-Port St Laurent.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St-Laurent du Var hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Booked this break as a surprise everything was excellent. Staff at reception very helpful gave us timetable for trains to Monaco and directions to train station only five min walk from resort and ten euro per person return. Supermarket and large mall only three min walk, restaurants and beach only one min away. Room and balcony was large and we found all staff very helpful. I had problem with Wi Fi and reception sorted it immediately. We will be back. Thank you to all staff who made our stay very enjoyable. Graham & Sheila Pirie

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe A, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Graham P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel Holiday Inn Nice-Port St Laurent .
Your feedback is exceedingly important as it acts as an indicator of how we are performing.

We are working very hard to ensure that all of our valued guests are completely satisfied.
Therefore, I am delighted to know that you left our hotel with pleasant memories.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel location and that our staff was at your disposal in the best possible way.
Your positive feedback are our best rewards and will be shared with our entire team .

Looking forward to have the pleasure to welcome you soon to our property.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

booked this break week before travelled through last minute.com and for a few days break, the hotel is great, its only 5 mins from the airport on arrival make your way to the information desk in terminal one and there is a free courtesy phone to the hotel, transport was there within 10 mins, the hotel is on main road but don't worry my room over looked the main road and didn't hear the traffic when doors to patio were shut

the rooms were clean, the bed and pillows were so comfortable the best two nights sleep had in a long time

there was some renovation work of the bar going on bit no problems with that, the breakfast looked ok in the hotel but ate out, little tip go out the hotel at the back on to the main promenade immediately to your right is a restaurant fantastic breakfast, and had one the best steaks in the evening that have had in long time and the service was excellent

back to the hotel, staff were all friendly, and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble, when arrived one room was almost ready (had to wait 20 mins) other room was ready about hour later considering arrived at the hotel at 11am local time was surprised that any of the rooms were ready,we asked about booking the transport to the airport and this was booked straight away

the hotel is right on the promenade and is a little way out the old town of nice but only short taxi ride away, but loved the overall location some lovely bars restaurant just a few mins walk away especially down by the marina. only problem is there is no pool at the hotel which isn't a problem as was there to sit in sun and have few drinks, the only down side to nice is the beaches are all pebble beaches and not sand, but there are lots of little clubs on the beach that have bars restaurants and sun loungers on the beach, although the use of the club for whole day can be expensive, we just went in one or two of the clubs and had few drinks out on the veranda over looking the sea

will be using this hotel in future for short breaks to nice, great location and staff for short break not sure would go to nice for more than two nights, but for short break it was great

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe A, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear d2952

First, we would like to thank you on writing your feedback concerning your recent stay at the hotel Holiday Inn Nice-Port St Laurent.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed our free shuttle service, the location on the sea front and your highly positive comments concerning our staff.
Rest assured that we have shared your kind words with our team which, I am sure, will be a great encouragement for all of them.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at the hotel Holiday Inn Nice-Port St Laurent in the nearest future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

As a platinum elite priority club member we received an upgrade to a sea view executive room. The rooms and amenities were great and the hotel leads on to a promenade of restaurants and the marina. Great views from the balcony. The car parking was next to the hotel in a public car park but with its own secure floor only accessible by pass key. This resort is close to Nice, 20 miles from Cannes and 18 miles from Monaco / Monte Carlo. Staff were all helpful and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe A, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Stephen F,

Thank you for giving from your time to leave a feedback on Tripadvisor concerning your stay at the hotel Holiday Inn Nice-Port St Laurent.

We were delighted to read such comments coming from a loyal guest.

We are happy that you enjoyed the location of the hotel facing this wonderful "Mer Mediterranée", and pleased that our staff was at your disposal in the best possible way.

We are looking forward on welcoming you at the hotel Holiday Inn Nice-Port St Laurent in the nearest future.

Sincerely Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Laurent du Var
Novotel Nice Aeroport Cap 3000
#1 of 5 in St-Laurent du Var
629 reviews
Musiciens
Holiday Inn Nice
Holiday Inn Nice
#18 of 205 in Nice
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pierre & Vacances Residence Heli...
#3 of 5 in St-Laurent du Var
328 reviews
Comfort Hotel Galaxie
#4 of 5 in St-Laurent du Var
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var

Property: Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var
Address: 167 Promenade des Flots Bleus, 06700 St-Laurent du Var, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Laurent du Var
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St-Laurent du Var
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Nice Port Saint Laurent is the only hotel of the area built right on the beach. It is walking distance from the shopping center Cap 3000.Holiday Inn Nice Port Saint Laurent features comfortable and renovated rooms with terrace, including some with a view of the sea. The rooms are spacious and luminous. They offer all the facilities you may need for a relaxing stay.For your comfort, the hotel features a restaurant serving buffet breakfast, to be savoured on the terrace. The new other restaurant The Bay Star Cafe is set right on the beach and servesa French Modern Bistro Cuisine : A delight ! Located on a beautiful sandy beach on the Baie des Anges the hotel offers also a private Beach : The Bay Star Beach and Lounge with Bar, Snack and beach restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Nice - Saint Laurent Du Var reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Nice - Port St Laurent Hotel St-Laurent Du Var
Holiday Inn Hotel Nice
Holiday Inn St-Laurent Du Var
St-Laurent Du Var Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing