We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A shocking experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Escapade

L'Escapade
Ranked #113 of 143 Restaurants in Sainte-Maxime
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A shocking experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This is the worst experience I have ever had. The food was not memorable but it was followed by an experience that I will never forget. I had a 3x2x1 mm3 piece of glass in my icecream. When I called the waiter he made an excuse and said that we could get a discount on the desserts but we should still pay for the meal! He did not seem very shocked - it was more like he was puzzled. I had a whole night of anxiety because I wondered, whether there had been more glass which I might have consumed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank calbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    99
    73
    59
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lorgues, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The first 'zero' I've ever awarded!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We've eaten here before, which makes it all the more astonishing. But this family meal was remarkably dreadful! The Mexican Shrimp Cocktail, was a water glass full of tomato flavoured water, full of frozen prawns. My daughter & I had the "suggestion" of Moules Mariniere. That amounted to a pot full of dirty mussels that hadn't even been de-bearded, boiled in water (no wine), with a huge amount of celery that had the texture of tree bark! My wife had the Dorade Scicilian. I hadn't thought rendering fish as chewy and flavourless as this possible, even scientifically! The best meal was my son's Escalope de volaille. In actuality, a giant McNugget! The public should be warned about this place!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Surly staff, mediocre food - avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The evening here was totally ruined by the rudeness and disinterest of the waiter. His contempt for the English could not have been more apparent, it was as if he was doing us a huge favour by condescending to take and subsequently serve our order. When the food arrived it was very ordinary - there are hundreds of really good restaurants in the Var, this is definitely not one of them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodw1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Really excellent food. If you like scallops then this is for you. All the food was beautifully presented and full of flavour. Dinner for 2 with a nice local wine but just 2 courses was Euros 130 with tip but - if you want a perfect meal in a perfect setting - this is for you

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WOODATSAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, good prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Close to beach, varied menu, quick and very friendly service, and delicious food. We originally wanted to eat in the restaurant next to this one but got rude treatment and in hindsight I am glad we did, so that we could discover L'Escapade :)
They have a huge menu, I think anyone could find something they like on there. The service was quick and very friendly, the waiters were extremely busy but they all had a smile on their faces. The food was very delicious indeed! Definitely recommend the restaurant and also Ste Maxime - we only stayed there for the evening but had a little walk around after dinner in the nearby streets and it was lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agnes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Escapade also viewed

Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to L'Escapade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing