We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riviera glamour”

Restaurant La Belle Aurore
Reserve with
Restaurant La Belle Aurore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 144 Restaurants in Sainte-Maxime
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Riviera glamour”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have now eaten here on a number of occasions. The panoramic view across the bay to St Tropez is simply stunning and the restaurant itself is lovely. Service is excellent and the food is stunning - beautifully presented and wonderful to eat. Prices with wine for a three course meal are around £90/100 per head but you really do get what you pay for. This is a lovely place to eat and Sunday lunch is especially good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    7
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old fashioned descent food”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Had lunch with the extended family here (6 adults) on a windy September day.
The location is perfect, with a view beautiful view of the bay and the boats sailing in and out of the harbour.

The food was lovely, if a little boring, and the chorizo bread-rolls were amazing. The wine list was interesting, with some very good finds to descent prices.
However, there were some basics I missed from a Resturant of this standard. Aged wine was not decanted, resulting in a lot of sediments being pored into our glasses as the wine was pored way too fast. When ordering the second bottle, we had to request that the wine was decanted, and even then, all the bottle was pored into the decanter, which the waiter then again pored into our glasses, with sediments.
When the wonderful bread-rolls were served, I would also have expected them to be served "baker warm", but they were served cold, making us assume they were made out of house.
In additions the restrooms were very "standard", but I give a plus for individual towels for wiping ones hands.

All in all, a nice Resturant, slightly stuffy atmosphere, good food, but I'm not sure it was worth the price compared to other excellent choices available in Sainte-Maxime

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LilleSille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Excellent meal, wine and service, excellent ambiance, should be Michelin starred. Converted me to a fish eater, fantastic sea bream, thick and delicious. Recommend to gourmets! Loved it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LilwenLlewellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Elegant Bliss!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We reserved a table for 4 and were offered an excellent table with a panoramic view of the Marina and St Tropez across the water. Thee menu 42 Euro and one 62 Euro, all stunning! Wine recommended was first class, both red and white from Provence. Each course was just so good, far better than some stared restaurants. Staff were friendly and helpfull. Very good value indeed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Customshop57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch in the beachside restaurant.”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Nice and cool under the vaults, close to the pool and beach. They only serve lunch here but we had a great family dinner, certainly not cheap but still good value because portions were quite big. Don't hesitate to share a dish: the chef will make two plates. Service was very relaxed and fun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreekB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant La Belle Aurore also viewed

Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Restaurant La Belle Aurore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing