We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“our 5th time at this special B&B”
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Poolside Parasol Perfection Sun spotting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Poolside Parasol Perfection
Sun spotting
Al fresco breakfasts always available
Your sunset view from l'Escalinade's terrasse
Chambre No. 1
Chambre No.2
Perfect Blue Skies over St Tropez Bay
Ste Maxime Marina
Summertime refreshment
Poolside or seaside...
Chill-out Zone
Bastille Day celebrations
Plage de Ste Maxime
First sight of St Tropez from the sea
Amuses-bouches
Giraglia Rolex Yachting Cup Race
Cheese & wine obligatory!
Aioli & Crudites - Bon Appetit Provencal Style
view from the sun-soaked terrasse
laidback at l'escalinade
Chambre d'Eau
Chambre No. 2
Chambre No. 2
Chambre No. 1
Chambre No. 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
cas2814
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“our 5th time at this special B&B”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Each time we go back we get the warmest welcome and each time the friends we take love it at L'Escalinade.
It is in Ste Maxime, close to super beaches and restaurants and close to the ferry to St Tropez. The rooms are clean and bright and Joan and John's breakfast is delightful .
A peaceful oasis to come back to after busy fun packed days.
Highly recommend

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Once more, thank you so much for writing the review, you know how much we enjoy you staying here and how delighted we are that you want to keep coming back and bringing your friends! Hopefully we will see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jack1986
essex
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place, with amazing views and lovely hosts!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The B&B itself is set just up from the old town and overlooks the entire bay, which is a breath-taking view. The room we stayed in was very chic, comfortable and situated right next to the sun soak terrace, which we enjoyed every night. Breakfast was definitely something to look forward to on a morning, with homemade jams, warm croissants and freshly picked fruit from the garden. So yummy!

There are plenty of shops, markets and so many amazing restaurants nearby.

Joan and John were the perfect hosts and we are very much looking forward to seeing them when we return again soon… and Ronnie of course! They were extremely helpful offering us plenty of advice on places to go and see around the local area, and even other locations outside the nearby area.

L'Escalinade is definitely the only place we will ever stay when we are visiting the area. Our only hope is that there are rooms available for us on our future visits. Thank you such a great holiday and lots of lovely memories!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2014
We are so happy you loved it here! We re looking forward to seeing you again in July this year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudelVe...
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B with exceptional views”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Five minutes' walk takes you to the beach, marina, a fantastic choice of shops, restaurants, bars and markets, yet the property remains very private. Overlooking all these amenities, the house is a short walk up the hill with an enviable view across the bay towards St Tropez. Owners Joan and John are fabulously friendly hosts and do everything to make your stay enjoyable and interesting and even their dog, Ronnie, makes you feel welcome. It's a lovely place to stay.

We found the traffic noisy at night if the window was open, so air conditioning was essential (especially as there were some very hungry mosquitos around ) and Ste Maxime was still very busy, even in mid-September, but otherwise we really enjoyed it. The uphill walk home and steps to the property may be too much for people with disabilities or the elderly. Our only real problem was the sloping bedroom roof that we kept walking into. Duhhhhh!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The view from our window in the morning.
Liked least: Traffic and crowds in the town.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay! We would love to see you again at l'escalinade!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carstef
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great find”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a super stay, hosts were very hospitable, swimming pool was really good after a hot days sight seeing, fantastic position for St Tropez, nice ferry boat across the bay, lots of clean beaches near by to enjoy. Really liked the little town which we walked to every day for diner, loads of choice.
We had a nice big room and bathroom which was very comfortable, single beds which we didn't mind as it was hot and we were sun burnt. The bedroom was air conditioned, which was essential in July. We would stay again and would highly recommend it if you like a relaxed, stress free holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the atmosphere
Liked least: the stairs!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed you stay and would be so pleased to see you here again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djmcm
LONDON
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Your French "Home from Home"”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

"We have stayed at L'escalinade several times and look forward to many more visits. The rooms are simple yet charming, and beautifully clean and fresh. Breakfast is taken outside by the pool, with fresh croissants and bread from the local Boulangerie, lovely coffee, home made preserves, and grapes from the" house vine", all beautifully presented. It's typically French, and a relaxed and perfect way to start your day in the South of France.
Joan and John are the perfect hosts, making you feel comfortable and at ease straight away. We can't wait to return."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Liked best: clean friendly and relaxing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2013
we are so pleased you love it here at l'escalinade! We would love to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous house and charming hosts.”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived we fell in love with L''Escalinade and the owners John and Joan and their dog, Ronnie. We were greeted with chilled Rose wine and nibbles and within minutes felt relaxed and at home. The position is stunning with fabulous views of the gulf of St Tropez. The house itself is beautiful and the bedrooms well furnished and benefit from air conditioning and a full sized fridge to keep your drinks cool. There is a lovely terrace for guests to use and the pool is a delight in the hot weather.
Breakfast is served by the pool and the presentation shows the owners attention to detail.
This really is a hidden gem and we will definitely return.
A big thank you to John and Joan for making our week at L'Escalinade such a memorable one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much! Please do come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireF...
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 stars all the way!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Words will never be enough and all the superlatives in the world (although, fully justified) will never do it credit.
Yes, Joan and John are marvellous hosts and go to great lengths to ensure that you enjoy your stay, but it's their added touches that set them above the rest-large fluffy bath towels, yummy breakfasts with homemade jams from the fruits of their garden and freshly baked croissants direct from the local artisan bakery (still warm)!
Have we been before? Yes and returned because of their 5 star service.
Would we go again? Most certainly!
Would we recommend it? Definitely (although, on a selfish note, I'd prefer to keep it to ourselves, but credit where it's due, everything is wonderful, you can't pick anything out of this).
Thanks again to Joan, John and Mr. Ronnie for welcoming us to your fabulous home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back to L'Escalinade very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing