We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good location, nice hosts”
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Poolside Parasol Perfection Sun spotting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Poolside Parasol Perfection
Sun spotting
Al fresco breakfasts always available
Your sunset view from l'Escalinade's terrasse
Chambre No. 1
Chambre No.2
Perfect Blue Skies over St Tropez Bay
Ste Maxime Marina
Summertime refreshment
Poolside or seaside...
Chill-out Zone
Bastille Day celebrations
Plage de Ste Maxime
First sight of St Tropez from the sea
Amuses-bouches
Giraglia Rolex Yachting Cup Race
Cheese & wine obligatory!
Aioli & Crudites - Bon Appetit Provencal Style
view from the sun-soaked terrasse
laidback at l'escalinade
Chambre d'Eau
Chambre No. 2
Chambre No. 2
Chambre No. 1
Chambre No. 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
MEP63
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hosts”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

L'Escalinade is the holiday home of an English couple; they live on the ground floor and rent the three bedrooms upstairs as a B&B in the summer months. The swimming pool and lovely main terrace are shared, but there is also a smaller terrace upstairs for the exclusive use of the guests.
The house is cozy and pretty, all rooms decorated with light traditional Provencal furniture. Our room was quite small but comfortable, although the bathroom was miniscule. The terraces all have a fabulous view of the sea and the bay.
The location itself is great, you are minutes away from the sea and the town center, yet away from noise and crowds.
The hosts are friendly and helpful, they obviously love the area and are always ready to help with suggestions. Ronnie the dog is a right laugh.
OK, so it's not posh and it's not a "boutique hotel" like one of the other reviewers pointed out, but in this area you'll have to pay a great deal of money for posh and boutique ! This B&B is good value for money and a pleasant place to spend a few relaxing days.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay! We try to offer good value in one of the most expensive parts of the world as you rightly noted. Yes, we do love it here and are pleased when we can show other people the things the area has to offer. So glad you appreciated the proximity to everything too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
807karlw
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning views, Superb accommodation, great hospitality and lovely breakfasts.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with our two teenagers, aged 19 and 16. A wonderful welcome from the owners Joan and John and their very friendly dog Ronnie, who showed us to our rooms and made sure we found our way to breakfast each morning! We had two rooms overlooking the pool, the view from the rooms was simply amazing. Breakfast each morning, served by the pool, was simply delicious and a great start to the day. Location was amazing, Ste Maxime was beautiful. Great food, very good wine, superb ice-cream and the weather was very very hot. There is a rather steep hill on they way to the property, followed by 2 sets of steps - the climb is hard work, but is certainly worth it for the stunning views that await when you get to your rooms. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, who gave great advice on places to eat, things to see and do etc and the rooms were spotlessly clean. All in all a great week, enjoyed by all, it is easy to see why so many people return year after year, we would certainly not think twice about visiting again. Thank you for a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon! Do please keep in touch, Ronnie will be waiting......
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireF...
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FAB! FAB!! FAB!!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third visit here and it just keeps getting better and better!
The welcome, accommodation and attention to detail are second to none.
No wonder people want to return here- we can't wait! Why stay anywhere else when everything here is so perfect and you are guaranteed to have a great time?
Joan and John well deserve the Certificate of Excellence. Full marks, all round, for delicious homemade breakfasts, fluffy towels and comfy sun beds. An added bonus is to park your car (for free) and have all the facilities of Sainte Maxime on your doorstep!
Thanks once again to Joan, John and Ronnie for another awesome stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
It is always such a delight when our guests, who have become our friends, come back to stay at l'escalinade! Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review, it is much appreciated.
Hopefully we will be welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel R
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An ideal place to enjoy the Gulf of St Tropez and all it has to offer.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a superb holiday in Ste Maxime. The accommodation was comfortable, with lovely gardens and a wonderful view of the Gulf of St Tropez. The owners were very welcoming and helpful and the atmosphere was far more like a house party.

The location was ideal as we only had a short walk down into the town where there are many restaurants.

An added feature was Ronnie who kept an eye on all of us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The overall ambience.
Liked least: The parking was restricted
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay! We try to give excellent value for money in an incredible location and include our guests in impromptu evening drinks and food on many occasions.
We send to all our guests, prior to arrival,very detailed instructions on how to find us and to avoid using sat nav as our house doesnt seem to exist! We strongly advise that our instructions are followed. 
Our parking is entirely free of charge, in the centre of the town, and there is more space per vehicle than in most public car parks. It does, however, require considerate parking by all guests. There is a municipal car park next door, which may be preferable to some guests at 17 euros a day. 
We do hope to see you again at L'escalinade, Ronnie will be waiting for you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDXtothew...
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnifique!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

L'Escalinade has everything one could want in a B&B. Stunning beauty from every vantage point. Attentive, caring hosts. Refreshing pool. A couple minute walk to classy town and beaches. A short boat trip to St. Tropez. Walking. Shopping. Eating. An awesome experience and one we hope to replicate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The serene setting
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It was a pleasure having you to stay, and look forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful house with amazing views.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

John and Joan (not forgetting Ronnie their dog) are fantastic hosts at their amazing house in Ste Maxime.
From the moment you arrive they make you feel welcome and look after your every need. The rooms are well furnished as well as being air conditioned. Joan thinks of everything and there is even a full sized fridge in each room to keep your drinks cool. The gardens and pool are wonderful with fantastic views over Ste Maxime and the Gulf of St Tropez. Breakfasts are a delight, served outside by the pool, with fresh croissants, bread and home made jams.
It is only a short 2 minute walk to the centre and a couple of minutes more to the beach. Brilliant location, beautiful house, garden and pool together with wonderful hosts this has to be the best B and B on the Mediterranean.
Thank you for a memorable holiday, we will return. R, P and L

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, location and hosts
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much! Our returning guests have become our friends and we thoroughly enjoyed the week too.
It will be wonderful to welcome you again here soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmayfield...
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Home away from Home!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here this week and I must say that we had the best time here. Joan and John are absolutely fabulous hosts. The location is beautiful and but a few minutes walk into the main town area. We were greeted by a wonderful breakfast every morning as well. Just like family or longtime friends... A MUST!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are delighted you had such a great time here and it will be lovely when you come back. Thank you for being such fantastic guests travelling all the way from USA.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing