We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel”
Review of Matisse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matisse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I spent a night in this nice, clean hotel. Room was very little, but comfortable and clean.
Felt cold, as the air con did not work on heat setting.
Staff was very friendly, breakfast nice, bread great!!
Would highly recommend. A trip by boat from near by to St Tropez.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasiaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for your opinion.
We are very happy of your compliments and that you will keep a good memory of Sainte-Maxime & our hotel !
Kind Regards,

Didier PETIT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Matisse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed for two nights at this Hotel and it was very comfortable, clean and friendly, with nice size rooms - modern decor and very central location. The pool and patio area is lovely with comfortable sun loungers and they're happy to serve you drinks while you relax - for a small Hotel they've got it just right, excellent service and most English speaking. We really enjoyed the Breakfast which was very nice with a good choice and plenty of it.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming and you can park your car underground just up the road for 12 euros a night - well worth doing.
We loved the older character of this busy town which has some interesting buildings with a small village feel to it - great places to eat and drink, in fact we were spoilt for choice. The large sandy beach is a five minute walk - as is the small marina.
We stayed in this Hotel on our own as a couple and loved it - but we also saw families and would definitely come back with our children.

Room Tip: we had a standard room which was overlooking the road at the front - we could open the patio doors a...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeandAli1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

only the first night we arrived there was a man on the reception who almost didn't speak English, but we understood each other, he was used to such kind of situations:-). The next days the staff spoke all possible languages and we prolonged our stay. Very comfortable location, we had the room on the ground floor, so there was no view (view on the wall), but calm, that we appreciated more than view. You cannot expect the view and calmness in that touristic places.We took the cheapest room, so the shower was without any sink, you just stand on the floor with the curtain and wash:-)
I find it is a budget hotel that offer enough for the money you pay, the stuff is ready to do all you want, very friendly and helpful, and this is what makes the stay nice in the end.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Maschat2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
didier_petit, Directeur général at Matisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you for your opinion. We are sorry that our night watchman don't speak English...but he is very helpful and this is important !
As you know you had a small room on the ground floor because it is a standard room...but we have many rooms with beautiful views ont the see & on the swimming-pool...
with different prices :-)
We are very happy of your congratulations. Best regards,

Didier PETIT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for four days in September and had a great time. The staff were extremely friendly and helpul and spoke great English. I dont think you could find a better hotel in terms of location. Two minute stroll from the beach and right next to all the restaurants, shops and bars without being noisy.
Small but perfectly formed hotel with a lovely terrace and great pool area, Decent selection at Breakfast Buffet and not bad at 9 Euros pp with English Tea!

Outstanding Staff and great place to stay.

Only suggestions would be for fixed shower head and Tea and Coffe faclities in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gavd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

A lovely hotel, right next to the beach and the buzzing town in Sainte Maxime. The prices were good and the rooms were lovely. Will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Prices vary heavily depending on the season
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larysa_anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We were going to stay one night and made it three. Very friendly staff and wonderful bed. Will come back!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susantodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Good vacation overall, nice ample room with nice view and nicely furnished. Comfortable bed. The bathroom was ample and clean althoug I was not impressed with the ammenities. Breakfast was acceptable and although they did not have a restaurant service it was located within walking distance of everything. Plenty of stores to peruse and lost of restaurants to choose from. Personnel was attentive and professional.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finnfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sainte-Maxime hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
#1 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
#4 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Petit Prince
Le Petit Prince
#2 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins de Sainte-Maxime
0.7 mi away
Domaine du Calidianus
Domaine du Calidianus
#6 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chardon Bleu
Hotel Le Chardon Bleu
#7 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matisse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matisse Hotel

Address: 11 boulevard Frederic Mistral, 83120 Sainte-Maxime, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Sainte-Maxime
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sainte-Maxime
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sainte-Maxime
Price Range: £74 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matisse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Matisse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotellerie De La Poste Hotel Ste-Maxime

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing