We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amarante Golf Plaza
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This hotel is very basic. The quality of the rooms is like a cheap hotel in a holiday desitination that you get in some last minute package for teenagers. It is ok in terms of cleanliness but not comfortable at all. Everything looks a bit shabby around like it has been left to fall apart for the last 10 years.
The staff are friendly but very slow. It took 15 minutes to check out. As people on here say it is deserted and far too far from any civilisation.
St Maxime only has 2 taxis so if you do not have a rental car or want to have a few drinks then you will have trouble getting back from town. I didn't try other hotels but I certainly would not return here. Vastly overpriced also, I don't mind paying for a nice hotel and business even covered this but it was appauling.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Generic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2011

NIce hotel. It does need some up dating, rooms need some money spending on them, nice size. Food was so so.

It was about 25mins to St Tropez but car. There is nothing around the hotel so a car is a must. Nice views, not a very good room service.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBrightside1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

This was not a total disaster but we certainly would not go back. The food was mediocre, although the service people were pleasant. We were surprised at the extra charge for WiFi. The reception desk was closed while the staff were at dinner. We were told that we would have to wait until morning for a second room key. Ten euros for parking at a hotel so far from the coast is ridiculous. Well, live and learn. I should have checked the other tripadvisor ratings before booking in here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanCigogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This hotel was a last minute add on with our Trafaglar Tour of France. Our original hotel was over booked due to a medical conference. There were 35 people on this tour over 10 people complained of bed bug bites. We ranged from the second floor to the sixth floor - so no one was safe. This hotel is over a half hour away from any real town. Would not recommend to an enemy!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dolliegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Location:
On the top of a very steep and winding hill, so high you can view all of Sainte Maxime.
No shops, restaurants, cafes etc to browse or eat in unless you go back into town.

Hotel Amenities
Indoor and Outdoor pool, didn't use them so cannot comment
golf course - didn't use it

hotel does have elevators
breakfast was very good

Rooms:
large
balcony/table/ 2 chairs
incredible view
comfortable beds
shower and bath - good water pressure
clean
coffee/tea maker in room
flat screen television

If you intend to stay @ the hotel, then I recommend that you stay here, if you are the type of person who prefers shops, cafes etc. in walking distance this is not the place for you

if you drive into to take should take approximately 20 minutes just to get to bottom
-i can't remember if it was 30 or 60 minutes to st tropez
-st tropez, worth exploring
-night clubs
-shopping
-gelato
-cafes

there was a rain storm when i stayed at this hotel
flooding in town
check weather before you go here
no electricity for 2 nights
candles provided
bottled water
restaurants in town closed

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TERESAMARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

My husband and my son and I stayed here with Trafalgar Tours in June 2010 due to a overbooking issue with our original hotel in Nice. The hotel is very pretty and we did not have any time to try out the golf facilities. There was a major storm that lasted 3 days and we had no power for the two days we stayed here. The staff was not helpful in the least - having no food for the second evening when they were suppose to have prepared dinner for 35 people. Because of the power outage they threw all the food away. (Haven't they heard of bbq?) They handed everybody a small candle and a piece of bread. Ten people on the trip (my son included) woke up with bed bug bites all over their bodies. A major part of this hotel was filling up with water in the hallways from the rain. We couldn't wait to run away from this place. I wouldn't recommend this place to an enemy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dolliegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We arrived around 5 pm and found out that the bar and restaurant were both closed - and the porter informed us that most likely all nearby restaurants in St Maxim and St Tropez were closed as well - very promising start. - Fortunately - he was all wrong - St Tropez was active and all restaurant were open. - Does the Hotel staff have any local knowledge - or are they just as negative as the hotel they work at . Next morning we had a tee time - they do call this a golf Hotel - there are 2 elevators taking you the 9 flights of stairs down to the golf course - well - on a good day they do. Both were out of service. Walking 9 flights of stairs down before 18 holes might seem appealing - but climbing them back with my golf bag after having struggled with my golf game for 4 hours did not.
So the whole idea of staying next to the golf course disappeared when we had to take our gear, put it in the car and drive to the golf course. At the end of the day - guess what - the bar and restaurant closed. Maybe they ought to sell this as a "fast" hotel - 48 hours of no food or drink apart from breakfast.
The room - terrible. Paint pealing of the roof on the balcony - old furniture .

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sainte-Maxime hotels
1.9 mi away
Matisse Hotel
Matisse Hotel
#5 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
291 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
#4 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
452 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins de Sainte-Maxime
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
#2 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
437 reviews
2.4 mi away
Domaine du Calidianus
Domaine du Calidianus
#6 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
188 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Petit Prince
Le Petit Prince
#1 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarante Golf Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarante Golf Plaza

Address: 130 avenue Celestin Montcocol | Domaine du Golf, 83120 Sainte-Maxime, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Sainte-Maxime
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Price Range: £105 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarante Golf Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amarante Golf Plaza hotel, located on the top of Sainte Maxime' hill is facing the Saint Tropez bay. The property includes 94 rooms and suites, all overlooking the golf course and sea view, 1 restaurant, "Le Relais Provence" with a mediterranean cuisine, 1 bar, meeting and banqueting accomodating up to 150 persons, 1 spa including 10 cabins for massage, 2 swimming pools + 1 reserved for children, hammam, sauna, gym room and tennis court and the golf course's Club House with one restaurant and bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarante Golf Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarante Golf Plaza Hotel Ste-Maxime
Amarante Hotel Ste Maxime
Amarante Hotel Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing