We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amarante Golf Plaza
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Superb Hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have had a wonderful stay at this hotel! First of all it's a great venue, and secondly the hotel is very clean and tidy. Rooms are okay and equipped with balconies (with and without sea-view)
Personell is very friendly, although their English isn't all that well. The area where the hotel is located is in very quite surroundings, and 10 min from the Saint Maxime center. Parking in front of the hotel (free) or in the parking garage (EURO 10/day) Breakfast is very okay everything you can expect from a 4 star hotel. Swimming pool is very ok, and gets cleaned each and every morning.
Bar staff (special kudos to Oceane) is very helpful and polite. I can recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to explore the Cote d'Azur combined with a relaxed holiday!

Room Tip: Make sure to get the rooms with sea-side/pool-side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoTOLA, General Manager at Amarante Golf Plaza, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for this great review and for sharing your feelings about your stay.
We try to provide maximum comfort and facilities to our customers so they have to think about nothing except enjoy the moment and relax.
I will congratulate our team once again for their work, (and we will take advantage of the winter season to give everyone lessons of English …) and we do hope to see you again very soon!
Very best regards

Bruno TOLA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    201
    145
    98
    77
See reviews for
101
369
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Pleasant room with balcony high up overlooking the excellent Golf Course and the Bay of St.Tropez in the distance. Helpful and charming staff. Only one restaurant available - St. Andrews (in the Golf Club, not the Hotel) - with a limited menu, but efficiently and professionally served. Underground secure car park for 10 Euros per day. Free WiFi.
Free daily shuttle there and back into the town of St. Maxime, 2 miles away. Quite a winding, steep drive! No brochure in the room with information. Room serviced just before 5.00pm each day - we would have liked it earlier - therefore a limited chance of a Siesta if you wanted one!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoTOLA, Directeur général at Amarante Golf Plaza, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience in the Amarante Golf Plaza at Tripadvisor. I am glad that you described many of our positive points. Many thanks also for pointing out what you didn't appreciate.
In summer our restaurant int the hotel ( le "Relais Provence" with its astonishing view on the Bay of St Tropez)is exclusively for the breakfast.
For lunch and dinner , you can enjoy your meals at "Le Saint-Andrews "overlooking the golf as we have much more space outside on the terraces.During your stay, you could also have your lunch by the swimmingpool, did you know it ?
I understand that you would have preferred to have a room service in the afternoon and I will check with our team why in wasn't possible as we are open all afternoon in July and August.
In the meantime, I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again in our hotel.

Very best regards

Bruno TOLA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte Maxime
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

the hotel is really nice. But the service has to improve. the breakfast is really simple and it is not very smart that people feel the management wants to save costs. during the breakfast one have to ask to refill water or fruits. an natuiral omelette will be charged with extra 10 euros which is rediculous










































































  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sascha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoTOLA, Directeur général at Amarante Golf Plaza, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very very much for your kind contribution about the Amarante Golf Plaza. I am so happy that you appreciated our hotel but I am sorry to learn that you find our breakfast relatively simple.

We offer a very large buffet including sausages, bacon, scramble eggs, cheese, ham, fresh fruits, pastries, crepes, yogurts, cereals and a lot of different products that can vary during your stay.
To meet the needs of our clients, we have recently changed our breakfast price from 20 € to 15 €, which is a very good price for a 4 star hotel and for the large choice we offer.
I understand your concern about the omelet, as you know, a good quality omelet has to be done:" à la minute " , that is why we ask for a supplement for this service.

We take good note that you were not satisfied with the service at that time and will pass your comment on to our restaurant manager.

Hoping to welcome you back in the future.
Very best regards

Bruno TOLA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Maybe our expectations of the Riviera were too much…our experience in the area was good, but this hotel dropped us flat.

Although it has a great view and is huge, to find your way to your room is a nightmare. It seems the building had been added on to over time, so to get to rooms from floor 6 or below, you have to take an elevator down, traverse the swimming pool, and find the next elevator down the front of the building to your floor. Make sure you have a ‘designated driver’ to find your way back if you intend on indulging, because it’s no easy navigation…

Our room had an excellent view over the golf course and the beach-front, but way off to the distance. At least we were able to get a view, unlike some of our fellow travellers.

The floor was dirty, so my slip-slops were black and my wife's slippers turned from white to…well, not white. (The curtains even 'poofed' dust when we moved them to close them...)

The room was dirty, which set my wife’s sinusitis off something terrible and there was a nice coating of dust in the whole room on all of the furniture. Most of our group also woke up with sinus problems the next morning. (Consensus was that the aircon’ was to blame.)

WiFi is for free- when you can get it. I gave up trying to connect after about 30 minutes. The hotel was not full, so it could not have been that everyone was online- rather, that they provide a very cheap service which probably works for 2 users at a time.

The TV had only local channels, so I had to get into the menu, change the settings to English and re-scan the channels for one or 2 news channels in English.

Breakfast was good, with a good view, and that was bout all.

If you’re in town- the sign-boards for the MacDonalds are wrong, so don’t waste your time following them. It is not up on the hill, as the boards suggest, rather, as you enter town from the traffic circles. (Rather use the restaurants one road back from the beach-front- there are plenty.)

If your ATM card does not work in town, don’t panic, try another ATM or just go to another town and try- for some reason I could not draw cash on my card, but when I travelled to the next town, it was fine.

Make sure you have everything you need with you if you are in a group, because you need a car if you’re staying here- it’s about 20 minutes from the beach to the hotel, so walking will take a fair while. (I’d say about an hour or more, depending on how fit or determined you are.)

The Riviera was pleasant, but this place was unpleasant.

Room Tip: Consider another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon3690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sainte-Maxime hotels

London
Level Contributor
222 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The title says it all really.

Although advertised as having dining and bar facilities they didnt when we were there. We had to go drive into town to eat and drink.

The aircon in our room didnt work and it was uncomfortably hot.

On departure when we suggested that we might expect a small gesture of a discount, say, not paying for a breakfast (20 Euros pp) for one of the days that we stayed there...they offered to call the police if we did that ??!

Unfortunately in our experience of much travelling, staying and eating and drinking in France, this place was a classic example of what the French hospitality/hotel/restaurant industry is very poor at which is of turning a negative into a positive.

They would rather starve, go bankrupt and put their family out on the street than knock off a single euro by way of an apology when anything goes wrong.....because when it goes wrong, its always the customer's fault and never theirs.

Sad really, because with a different attitude and if they lifted their game a bit this place could be ok really.

We will never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel is the worste hotel i have ever been to.
the staff is so unpolite and refusing to help, that it is impossible to deal with them. A girl named Audrey at the reception was so mean that we were astonished; when we said there were bedubugs she looked and said: well what do you expect.
Really, the worste structure i ve ever been, and so expensive for what you get.
They even made us pay the room twice saying it was a mistake, and then refused to refund.
Really, i would sue them for giving such services.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. or sleep in the street, still better then amarante
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manuuwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Bit of a climb to get there and the car park entrance/exit is very narrow and nerve racking, but the foyer is impressive and check-in very straight forward.
We had a lovely room, well fitted with a balcony and a stunning outlook over the golf course, town and bay. We took a water taxi over to St. Tropez for dinner so can't comment on the standard of cuisine in the hotel, but they were very helpful in taking us down to the waterfront.
The bar was empty on our return and we needed to get someone to serve us, but breakfast the following morning was adequate.
Only one night's stay, as we were travelling on the next day and it seems a rather impersonal establishment, but pleasant enough and we'd certainly consider staying there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lancerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sainte-Maxime hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
#3 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
#1 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Petit Prince
Le Petit Prince
#2 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins de Sainte-Maxime
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Plage
Hotel La Plage
#10 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.9 mi away
Matisse Hotel
Matisse Hotel
#5 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarante Golf Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarante Golf Plaza

Property: Amarante Golf Plaza
Address: 130 avenue Celestin Montcocol | Domaine du Golf, 83120 Sainte-Maxime, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Sainte-Maxime
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarante Golf Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amarante Golf Plaza hotel, located on the top of Sainte Maxime' hill is facing the Saint Tropez bay. The property includes 94 rooms and suites, all overlooking the golf course and sea view, 1 restaurant, "Le Relais Provence" with a mediterranean cuisine, 1 bar, meeting and banqueting accomodating up to 150 persons, 1 spa including 10 cabins for massage, 2 swimming pools + 1 reserved for children, hammam, sauna, gym room and tennis court and the golf course's Club House with one restaurant and bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarante Golf Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarante Golf Plaza Hotel Ste-Maxime
Amarante Hotel Ste Maxime
Amarante Hotel Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing