We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food poor service”

Le Bistrot Paul Bert
Ranked #1 of 143 Restaurants in Sainte-Maxime
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$34
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“good food poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I went to Le Bistrot Paul Bert on Thursday 26th June 2014
The food was nice but the service poor!
We had received our starters but had to ask for the wine we had ordered, this was due to the staff fussing over a table of 8 local people to the neglect of everyone else !
We also had to ask for bread ,after a waitress asking if we'd like some bread and would bring some
The waitress asked at the end of our meal if we knew about trip advisor and if we would write on the site
We had visited due to its rating on trip advisor which we feel is overrated

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandra l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    144
    30
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant but not the best in Ste-Maxime”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This restaurant is small and packed but provides a nice selection and has good service. Our fish dishes were very light and satisfying. Overall, I do not have much negative to say about this place but I don't think it is the best restaurant in Ste-Maxime, as the rating indicates.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“"Ah - Bistrot". English joke.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The day this restaurant leapt from number two in Sainte Maxime, to "1", we were there.

In a pedestrian street that makes relaxing easy, apart from the scooter riders who ignore all signs, this recently opened restaurant is immaculate. Outdoor seating for those who can brave the temperatures and a small dining room that is cool and comfortable.

Staff were attentive to all needs, whatever ones native tongue. A great welcome. Very special.

All items on menu were explained in patient detail. The food was simple, but really good. "Soups de Poissons" was tasty, but not that hot. Other starters were sublime. Main courses, washed down with the highly recommended Chateau Minuty were perfect.

We had to ask twice for water, but the 'comedy' from the kitchen, with the chef shouting at staff made up for it.

After 24 years in Ste Maxime, this is one of the best!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexFogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had read about this restaurant and were dying to try. Unfortunately it was full in the night time but the next day we were able to get a table for lunch. The duck was the best I have ever had and the service was just lovely! This is the best restaurant in town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leashym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Appealing menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Return visit (see below) and still one of the best restaurants in the area. Menu has interesting dishes (unlike most of their competitors) which are cooked with fresh ingredients. As expected food cooked to order takes a little longer. Wine list is also improved since March with a good selection of reasonably priced bottles.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierre83120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistrot Paul Bert also viewed

Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Bistrot Paul Bert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing