We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value B & B”
Review of La Vierge Noire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Vierge Noire
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Certificate of Excellence
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“good value B & B”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Good quiet location, but you need a car. Nice clean rooms, friendly owners, close to the beach,
big free parking. Good breakfast, if you do'nt like the standard french sweet stuff, you can ask eggs and cheese. The garden and the pool area can be more attractive...... flower trees, etc...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    25
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed here in June with our family of four in the two bedroom suite with ocean view. It was beautiful and clean, with a modern bathroom and large balcony with a full sized dining table facing the ocean. Paul even offered to serve our breakfast on the balcony. The pictures do not tell the whole story. The pool is beautiful and serene. Short drive to ferry for dinner in St. Tropez. We can't wait to return to St. Maxime and we will stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 96ranger98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spent good 4 nights in this nice small French villa hotel in June 2012. I have located the hotel from HoteldotCom and compare the reviews from TA. The hotel deserves its great reviews in TA.

Location:
-It is well situated right before the center Ste-Maxime. If you have a vehicle, which you should in this part of France, it takes about 5-10 mins to drive to Ste-Maxime center where majority of restaurants are located.
-You don't actually want to stay in Ste-Maxime center, as it is crowded and busy with tourist actions. So, this hotel being away from the center and needed a car, as indicated by few other reviewers is not an issue and liability I would say.

Hotel:
-Hotel is located on an approximately 2 acres land right inf front of the road cutting beach from it.
-The hotel itself is small, as big as a large villa, with I think no more than 10-15 room. Its garden is large with full of mature Mediterranean plants.
-It has a small but sufficiently sized , nice and clean pool, mostly filled with no more than 4-5 guests if any.
-The rooms have well working individual AC systems which cool well.
Behind the lobby, in an area which looks like a large living and dining room, there is a bar and sitting and living room for guests.-
-This place does not feel like an hotel but a nice B&B.
-The bed was very but very comfortable
-Bathroom and shower were finely design, with minimalist approach. (I would however make a small recommendation and suggest to have a soap holder to be installed into the shower).
-Paul, the owner, takes care of the place like his own home..Because it is so.
-In fact, it is staffed and operated by a husband and wife team, very successfully I might add.
-He makes sure the place is clean and well maintained.
-The hotel has a large parking area on the side which can accommodate dozens of car. However, given the size of the hotel, there are always empty spots covered by canvas to keep your vehicle cool under hot Mediterranean sun. the owner, kindly, build nice shady areas covered by canvas for guest vehicles..Very nice tough..Thanks Paul.

Service:
-Since the hotel is operated and serviced by the owner and his wife, who take care of the guests like they are hosted them in their own. So, they are considered, kind and friendly. You don't experience a commercial ignorance of an employee who is not happy with his/her salary.
-We have nothing buy excellent things to say on service

Breakfast:
-We experienced the breakfast one day only, as we wanted to go out and experience local bakeries. But per our experience, for less than 10 euros (which is very inexpensive in comparison to other hotel), we were happy.
-If you are lazy to go out for breakfast, it remains as a good option.

Beach:
(Mahi Beach)
- All the beaches in the area are divided in two, each beach has a public area that can be used by anyone. The other part is leased by a restaurant which also operates its beach part, renting beach hairs and umbrella. Based on Paul's suggestion, we went to Mahi Beach, which is about 40 meter on the left side of the hotel. It is more family friendly and has calmer waters.
-Chair rent was about 20 euros for each, umbrella included. They serve drinks to you while you chill on the beach. We had the lunch there. The grilled Mediterranean Bass was awesome.

It was a good 5 days at this place..

Tip: if you need to shop, go to Carrefour, the French supermarket..Superior to German chains in the vicinity. It is about 4K away.

Also..Thanks Paul and the family for hospitality !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goTurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Ciotat, France
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed at the hotel because we were having dinner with friends at a beach side restaurant. The hotel is across the road from the beach which is great.

The hotel feels more like a B&B and was clean. we took the room with the balcony upstairs which was a good choice as it was a little bigger and had a pleasant outlook.

The owners were charming. They were happy for us to have our dogs with no extra charge.

Room Tip: avoid the back rooms. No outlook at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Very nice hotel with great views of the beach. Host was super friendly and accommodating. Beach is right across the street. Room was a little small, but that was our only complaint. Also, loved the waterfall shower.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

LOVE this hotel. Small, SUPER friendly staff, Very good service. Great breakfast and cheap. Really close to some really nice beaches. Just across the street. Also nice with parking lot at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonyjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We spent 11 nights in this hotel and our stay was very pleasant. The owners are very helpful and friendly, very attentive too.

We had room with balcony and sea view, that was absolutely a good choice&worth the money. The room was being cleaned daily, towels were changed daily too even if we left them on the rack. Tastefully decorated in a quite contemporary style. This hotel offers breakfast (€9/person), some snacks for lunch but you have to dine out. There are some beach restaurants in walking distance or you can drive or take bus to the city of Sainte Maxime (5 minutes).

We chose this hotel because of proximity of the beach La Nartelle which is just across the road - you get your piece of sun in less than two minutes! We stayed on a public beach, because on the private they will charge you €36 for two lounge chairs and one umbrella. The beach is sandy so you don't need the lounge chair anyway. The sea is crystal clear, shallow water with sandy bottom. Altough the road is close, the hotel is very quiet and you can sleep all night long without being disturbed by the noise outside - a big plus!

We enjoyed our stay very much, thanks to this hotel which perfectly suited ou needs!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyager010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sainte-Maxime hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
Hotel Royal Bon Repos
#1 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Citotel Hostellerie de la Nartelle
1.7 mi away
Le Petit Prince
Le Petit Prince
#2 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
Best Western Plus Montfleuri
#4 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
444 reviews
1.4 mi away
Matisse Hotel
Matisse Hotel
#5 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Plage
Hotel La Plage
#11 of 24 in Sainte-Maxime
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vierge Noire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vierge Noire

Property: La Vierge Noire
Address: 4 avenue des Pins | La Nartelle, 83120 Sainte-Maxime, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Sainte-Maxime
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vierge Noire 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Vierge Noire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing