We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most beautiful hotels in the world” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Colombe d'Or

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St-Paul-de-Vence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Colombe d'Or
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful hotels in the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Amazing location, beautiful alfresco restaurant (menu, food, wine list especially and service all first class) and some crazy art in the rooms. The pool is one of the loveliest I've ever seen. Overall, must visit, especially for a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Overlooking the valley to the south
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    57
    24
    20
    15
See reviews for
63
134
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have been wanting to stay here for a long time having read so much about it so our expectations were high...first impressions were not great...not very welcoming/the car parking is a muddle and we were shown to a room in the annex without explanation...however the place does grow on you and it has more of feel that you are a guest in a private chateau...the pool is great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex uk
Level Contributor
211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Yes ,a stay here for 2 nights this week in June ,the end of a 3 week. stay near St. Paul de vence
In a villa in les hauts de St. Paul - fabulous .the very odd thing is that we had been here for lunch years ago - not very good - then we had stayed in an April a few years ago ,and somehow it's magic didn't work on us -
But my goodness it did on this visit .the staff who are terrific ,the place is quite magical ,with as everyone says the art ,the little touches everywhere ,a beautiful wooden seat in ,the bar ,casually
Placed ,the murals on the walls ,the green pool ,our little room 25 ,with a balcony and those tremendous St. Paul views ,and then the lunch and dinner on the famous terrace.
Very good straightforward food , an osso bucco without the horrible fat ,grilled loup,salad with summer truffles ,to eat here is a genuine delight .
On checking in I noticed a chap sitting in the bar ,it was Roger Moore ,,this is that sort of place ,
I wanted to ask which room Michael winner used to stay in ,but didn't on this occasion .
I feel we have come somewhat late to this party, but how nice to have discovered a gem that we
had thought had been over praised - now we get it - it's unique and quite wonderful.

Room Tip: Room 25 we liked
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alanEastSussexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I shared the most wonderful meal at this special place in April 2014. We booked on the day and ate early. We were both entranced by the wonderful art and the floral arrangements. The staff were professional and very knowledgeable. The meal was delicious and outstandingly presented - we loved the entrée which was a meal in itself. Excellent value in a delightful setting. Candy W

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Columbe d'or is simply world class charm! The setting, the views, the art, the rooms, lunch or dinner and the very genuine staff. It truly doesn't get any better. If you want a life time memory, this is a must !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Most of the visitors come for lunch or dinner, but because there were no tables available unless you're a guest of the Hotel, we've booked two nights. It was a treat! It's much more than the food. You breathe art in every corner of the Hotel, the pool is like an art gallery, while the history of the famous painters that paid dinners at the hotel with their masterpieces, adds depth to the experience. If you're planning to spend a night in St. Paul, stay there. You'll feel special, separated from the normal daytime visitors.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bulfinschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have only been here for several lunches and dinners, but it really worth it. In the beautiful surroundings of the old town of St. Paul de Vence. This is so charming and lovely. The food here is excellent, and everyone should enjoy one of the delicious desserts as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.8 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#6 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#3 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#2 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#10 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#9 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colombe d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colombe d'Or

Property: La Colombe d'Or
Address: Place de Gaulle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#9 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
La Colombe d`Or Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence
La Colombe Dor
Colombe Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing