We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Lovely hotel with traditional style Provence decor. Elegant rooms. Great location and lovely stone building. Breakfast terrace overlooking the countryside. Restaurant is superb. Elegant with delicious high quality food. Very romantic place. If you come by car, it's a tight squeeze to get into the walled ramparts and drive around to the car park at the back of the hotel but it's worth it. The village is a bit twee with several arty shops but it's really very nice. Lots of hilly cobbled streets and very picturesque.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    69
    15
    20
    11
See reviews for
37
190
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while visiting France on our anniversary. This place is amazing beautiful and in the heart of Saint Paul de Vence. It is a little bit of a squeeze to drive your car up there but once there it is perched in a perfect spot. The staff were first class! They helped us so much. From getting reservations, telling us best places to visit, to helping us with directions to our next travel destination, we couldn't have asked for better service. The room was extremely beautiful and added to the romance. It was a great place to start our adventure in France. We did not have dinner their but had breakfast. It was very good but slightly pricey (I believe 22 Euro a person).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GFaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We have just returned from a pleasant 4 night stay at Le Saint Paul. We paid a very reasonable 'Fin de Saison' rate, but I would have been less than pleased had I paid the full rack rate.

The location is fantastic, within the walls of Saint Paul De Vence, one of my favourite villages in France. I must have been unfortunate in arriving when the porter was away, but the front desk manager at the time did assist with my luggage and car. Beware when renting a large car (I had an estate), the access is tight. Obviously medieval towns were not designed for larger family cars. If you are opting for a larger car, I'd advise that you choose a 'no excess' insurance policy.

We had booked a Junior Suite, which, while not huge, was nicely furnished with a well designed bathroom. Unfortunately, the bed was rather small. On closer examination, the website mentioned a double rather than twin bed. I should have paid more attention before making the booking. Also, given the age of the building, there may be limited scope to use larger furniture with narrow passageways etc. This all adds to the appeal of the hotel though.

I was disappointed to learn that there was no room service that evening and the restaurant was closed. Even when it is available, the room service menu is very limited. I was given directions to a pleasant cafe/bar near the ramparts that was open early in the evening. Having just endured two horrific flights on Emirates, I would have loved just to have had a quick bite to eat at the hotel and than collapsed into bed.

One of my favourite things in France is waking up to a fabulous breakfast. I was very disappointed on this score. The only thing on offer was a Continental Breakfast for about Euro 23, which consisted of coffee, pastries and yoghurt. None of the other items on the menu were available, even at a supplement. To be fair, the waitress was charming and extremely apologetic. She explained that she had not been working for a few days so had no idea that they were out of stock on so many items. Also, in the hotel's defense, this might explain the discounted 'Fin de Saison' rate. They were due to close for 4 months the day after I checked out so the stock management may have been deliberate.

The front desk management was inconsistent. The women who worked there could not have been more helpful, charming and pleasant but the man was indifferent at best.

We returned to the restaurant for lunch as one of the main reasons that I choose this hotel was that it was a Relais et Chateaux member, generally a guarantee of delicious food. While we did not have major complaints, we were underwhelmed. The same was rue of our next breakfast there; the waiter seemed unduly stressed given that there were only 4 adults in the restaurant. For the rest of our meals we opted to go elsewhere and were ate excellent food at very attractive prices.

The porter was on duty when we checked out and could not have been more helpful.

I would recommend the hotel for short stays at a special offer but I think that there are much better properties in the area for the full rack rate. It is possible that we would have had a much more positive experience in high season.

Room Tip: Check the bed size before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trunkix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

we were appointed room 335 which was very very small and very stuffy, facing the street.
For an expensive Relais and Chateaux property, you would expect a comfortable sized room. There were only a handful of guests, and when we mentioned that we were not satisfied with the room we were told that is the room you booked and nothing can be done. Because there were plenty of rooms available it is a shame that the reception was so aloof about it.
We booked the room directly with the hotel, and all we got was a confirmation. It was difficult to access. It would have been so caring of them to let us know the procedure to access the village which is closed to all cars except the hotel guests and the property omners.

Room Tip: ask the size before hand and most of all ask specific instructions on how to access the hotel becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My review relates to a dinner we had on the restaurant . Starters were more or less OK. As a main course we ordered Le Bar, price 39 Euro. We received a small piece of Frozen fish! The cheese platter which followed after was a complete deception! The chocolate cake For dessert failed all expectations.We paid over 100 euro per person and left highly disappointed ! Don't spend your money there

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peterderiemaeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We visited St Paul de Vence just for the day and looked forward to finding a nice restaurant for lunch. At first we were very pleased to find that a table was available outside in the courtyard of Hotel Le Saint Paul which was very pretty. We stressed we wanted a table out of the sun and were shown to our table.

That was the end of the pleasure. My husband and I have dined in many high class hotels and retaurants around the world but still, we were shocked at the prices on the wine list, some of which could clearly not be justified. Also the staff were inattentative, with my husband constantly have to ask for both our water and wine glasses to be refilled. Half way through the meal it became obvious that we hadn't been shown to a 'shady' table and my husband was sat in full sun for the rest of the meal. We couldn't ask to be moved by this time as the other tables were full. We overheard a couple on the next table asking for an extra umbrella three times but it never came. The food was mediocre and just ok and definitely not worth the price tag.

Would never go again and wished we had tried the Colombe D'or which has much better reviews.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rhoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne,australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

loved the room, the view and the decor. close to all the places we wanted to stroll to and see. unfortunately weather was not good enough to eat in the charming courtyard, but the dining room had its own charm. prime position but not easy to drive through narrow lanes, and we discovered later that parking attendant who took our car to park, appears to have had a minor scrape without telling us.

Room Tip: try to get room overlooking valley and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
435 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#6 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa St Maxime
Villa St Maxime
#5 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint Paul

Property: Hotel Le Saint Paul
Address: 86 rue Grande, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#5 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#5 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Saint Paul 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the shade of the ramparts in the renowned artists villageof St Paul, the Saint-Paul (****L)is an intimate haven.Young at heart, but with the perfect mix of discretion and serenity, the hotel has attained its maturity and is fulfilling its promise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Saint Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing