We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, good value, exellent relax. Old but very charming hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Mas d'Artigny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Mas d'Artigny
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place, good value, exellent relax. Old but very charming hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

When I arrived, I thought that there needed repairs.
But then I realized that the sterile high-tech can kill this place.
There is an old French charm, buyout, we love when we arrive on the Cote d'Azur. All you need to change - upholstered furniture, mattresses, blankets, pillows. Everything else does not need to touch, even the old plaster!
I read a lot of strange reviews, when people booking 4 * hotel, but want to pay like 2-3 *.
There are tennis courts, complimentary bicycles, a beautiful and well maintained park, good restaurant, lot of parking, the evening service, delicious breakfast, luxury beauty products at the spa.
Yes, here it is necessary to have a car.
Yes, there's breakfast costs 27 euros.
Yes, there is need to book a sea view room.
But when you're out in the Nice returns a hotel, you realize that you do not want to live in Nice, and here.
Very nice quiet beautiful hotel for couples, for spa treatments, for enjoy silence.
If you want discos and bars, this is not your hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anabolix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    197
    198
    168
    65
See reviews for
110
433
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

We had not been here in a few years, but were again delighted by the great view of St. Paul, Cagnes sur Mer and the ocean.
Our room with balcony had a superb view but then came the drawbacks:
you could see the hotel had not been refurbished in many years (we learned later since 1972). The plaster in the corners of the walls was coming off, the front of the doors was covered in Formica, the furniture was dated, but we settled in.
We intended to have dinner there, but one of the receptionists suggested to go out to St. Paul - what an omen.
The next morning I did some computer work and my wife and did not get to breakfast until after 9 am. All tables were either busy or not cleared, there was no bread or croissants and not even plates available, we were given soup plates instead. More and more people were complaining and it almost turned ugly. There must have been 40 to 50 people that Sunday morning. The staff could not handle it.
At 10:15 new croissants arrived, burned outside, uncooked inside. The coffee was finished.
I suspect that none of these guests will be returning.
In France these days people work at a Minimum, nor more, just to get by.
Americans travelling there, beware - there are better places to enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carobren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels

London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

The grounds deserve a star, the staff at least a star, the pool and tennis courts another star, but the cost and shabby rooms leave it very much only at the three-star rating.

As you drive in, the grounds suggest a cool, hip place - risque modern sculptures stand next to an astroturf tennis court and hedges are creatively trimmed. A beautiful, huge, warm pool gestures towards the beautiful hilltop town of St. Paul de Vence - a truly spectacular setting. But then you check in your room and find you've been transported from Cowley Manor to some faded Grande Dame hotel like the Royal Bath in Bournemouth. The carpets were worn, the bed was low, soft and rudimentary, a weird smell lingered. (Earlier complaints about the "seches cheveux" must have been heeded because my wife - noting the feeble, wall-hanging model (think Polish hotel circa 1986) - asked for one and received a supersonic model almost immediately.)

The bar was beautiful and incredibly empty on an August Saturday. We sat out and enjoyed the view and waited... and waited. When we finally found someone to take our order, the drinks on offer were extremely ordinary.

For those lift anoraks (and I know a few), one will find what has to be one of the few working Westinghouse lifts in Western Europe. I'm pretty sure Westinghouse got out of this business in the 1970s.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvikingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

We booked a ten day stay at this hotel in their honeymoon suite and ended up shortening our stay and moving to a different hotel. The room was very spacious and we had a lovely pool and backyard setting, but we find the service and lack of concierge frustrating. The service at dinner was slow and when my husband and I each took a massage in the spa, I was left waiting for an hour before someone came to serve me. I should have left but wasn't sure what to expect. We never had breakfast in the hotel as it was very, very expensive. One also has to pay for internet service if desired. There was also a nasty mildew smell in the hallway, something they were hoping to fix, but terrible all the same.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leadfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

We had a fabulous time here.

The staff were great- perfect service all the time.
1) we were upgraded from a classic room to a small suite with private garden. Although the room was a little dated, the bathroom had been updated and was very nice and clean, and the room was spacious and comfortable. They even put fresh red roses in our room when we arrived!
2) we appreciated the turndown service.
3) the pool area is absolutely glorious- with views of nearby st paul de vence and surrounding hills. There is plenty of place to lay around there.
No complaints- we loved this place, and compared to other places we stayed in Provence/ Riviera we thought this was excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keveriano
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

The hotel and our room were pleasant enough but the staff were rude and the service non-existent. Why a hotel this size can't have something other than tiny tapas style food for lunch is beyond me. You could not have a decent lunch here unless you had about 10 tapas dishes each for a cost of €8 a time.
Also - If anyone is visiting here you have to have a car - it is €25 for a taxi ride to St Paul - only a mile away! Felt ripped off by every aspect of our stay at the hotel and local area.
We paid €30 each for a very average breakfast and we did not even get table service and had to make our own coffees. Not impressed!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keveriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Pree-booked a "Classical room", which we presumed to be of acceptable standard, but we were OH so wrong.
We probably got the worst room in the hotel, and the staff made us feel bad too; like "The cheap people in the crappy room", since we refused to pay 30 euros extra per night to get a better room.
Everything extra was truly expensive, (classical breakfast 27 euros per person) and since it's situated in the middle of nowhere you might have to pay A LOT for a bottle of water and a snack too.
If you for some reason choose this hotel; BRING A CAR!
The beds were OK and the cleanliness very good, but they were unable to remove the horrible stench in the bathroom, and the airconditioner was NOISY!

NOT a relaxing pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank KawaOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
1.5 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#10 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#2 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#3 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#9 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas d'Artigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas d'Artigny

Property: Le Mas d'Artigny
Address: Chemin des Salettes, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mas d'Artigny 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel complex is in a pine forest across from the walls of St-Paul-de-Vence and offers views of the French Riviera. Le Mas D'artigny & Spa has 85 rooms of which 21 suites that have private swimming pools. The entire hotel is decorated in a French Provencal style. The complex also features a 180-seat dining room/banquet hall and offers catering services. It opens out onto a large terrace that overlooks the surrounding area.Also, Le Mas D'artigny & Spa has an outdoor heated swimming pool, 25 private pools, fitness room, hamman, solarium and sauna, table tennis and billiards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Mas d'Artigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas d`Artigny Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing