We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”
Review of Le Hameau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Hameau
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We just came back from yet another fabulous stay at Le Hameau. And it was even better than the last time. It just keeps getting more and more beautiful and the service ever more kind and pleasant. This time we also had the incredibly good fortune of meeting the owner, Mr. Burlando, who's beautiful spirit and joie de vivre is truly infectuous. If you're going to St. Paul, don't think for a second about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Besuhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeHameau, Directeur général at Le Hameau, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for coming back to Le Hameau. This time you met the owner, Mr Burlando who indeed likes sharing his charming place with his guests.

We hope to welcome you again next year.

All the best,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    79
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
100
236
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Le Hameau 8 years ago and loved it. We went back this year and were not disappointed. If anything the hotel is lovelier than before and it now has a bar area and pool service including snacks which were new to us. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and the breakfasts are excellent, especially the croissants and home made marmalade. The location of the hotel is very good too, with restaurants practically on the doorstep and St-Paul-de-Vence a ten minute stroll away. If you're looking for somewhere to stay that is very French, has lots of character, excellent service and good food, then the delightful Le Hameau would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeHameau, Directeur général at Le Hameau, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Sharon,

We were pleased to welcome you again in Le Hameau. Our regular guests are our best satisfaction.

We keep for you a jar of our home maid marmalade for next year.

Thank you very much,

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperia, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a place for a quiet break in the heart of French countryside this is THE place. Escapade they say in French. True to its word. Elegant without being posh. Close to one of the most beautiful places of the world. Art, dinner, landscape, pool overlooking the valley, siesta place under the trees. All you need is the right company and a good book. Don't miss it!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dadego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeHameau, Directeur général at Le Hameau, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Your description is very flattering. You recognized the atypical side of Le Hameau, which is the spirit we want to keep in this hotel.

We deeply thank you,

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This is my first review, but I found myself obligated to do so. We arrived in Nice, family of 4, 2 children, 10 and 8. First of all, I believe St P de V is the perfect place as a hub when visiting La Côte d'Azure. Why stay in the city, when one can be in the beautiful countryside and basically be 15-25 mins away from every destination on the Côte.
As for Le Hameau, let me start by saying that we are somewhat picky when staying at destinations in and outside the US (especially my wife, lol). We loved it here!! The rooms were extremely clean. The Staff was awesome, especially Xavier and his wife who run it. We stayed 3 nights which was the perfect amount to start our 2 week vacation in France. The infinity pool overlooking the valley and the Sea is breathtaking. The grounds are very well kept. You get the true feeling of being more in Provence than on the Côte. Our room was the perfect size although the 4 twin beds was a little disappointing but for the amount of sleep needed from our jet lag, it sort of worked... I hear there may be a better room with an amazing view from the window. Our view was good.
I thought breakfast was spot on as far as what French breakfasts should be.
To sum it up...we were so happy to have chosen Le Hameau when we were debating about potentially staying at a higher class hotel in the region/town. Would we go back?? Absolutely!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeHameau, Directeur général at Le Hameau, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Mr Phil,

Thank you for your message (particularly to your wife, lol!) which describe perfectly our hotel.

For your next stay, contact us directly , so that we can select for you the room witch suits you best for a even more pleasant stay.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a great little place. They have quite a lot of land, so it serves as a destination in itself, rather than a place to sleep, shower and go. Their gardens are lovely, and the pool is beautiful with a view of mountains. The breakfast is okay, nothing to sneeze at but not outstanding. It is in walking distance from the touristy but beautiful town of Saint Paul-de-Vence and its absolutely breathtaking art galleries. Definitely check this place out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_joyce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeHameau, Directeur général at Le Hameau, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Mrs Joyce,

We thank you very much for your kind message,
and we hope to see you again in Le Hameau.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
245 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Since I visit quite a few hotels (but don’t review them all), I will do a break-down of the ones I do review. Hope this will prove handy for future readers.

GENERAL DESCRIPTION AND LOCATION:
Near the touristic but nevertheless beautiful town of Saint-Paul-de-Vence and merely 20-30 min from the airport you’ll find Le Hameau. You are still near Nice and the busy coastline, but suddenly all the crowding is gone, changed to peace and quiet. You can even drive your car without getting stuck in a bouchon (queue) - which otherwise is a daily experience if you stay down by the sea. Hameau is a french word meaning a gathering of houses without a church. The hotel Le Hameau is just that on a small scale: several little buildings with individual touch makes up a small ”hotel village”. Some buildings houses only one hotel room.
The style is typical south french and provençale giving a pittoresque and ”cosy” feeling. Views are beautiful overlooking the valley with the Mediterranean visible in the distance. The hameau is completely secluded from the road beneath and from neighbors. Nearest neighbor is the hotel "Villa St Maxime", which actually offers even a better, at least a more vast, view of the valley and St Paul. Villa Maxime has some similarities with the Hameau but has a totally different modern architecture and style. That is another matter - see numerous reviews here on TA.

ARRIVAL/PARKING:
Positioned more or less directly on the Route de la Colle leading up to Saint-Paul it is still easy to find with large signs on the road when you see and approach Saint-Paul. Gated private parking with generous space makes parking easy and convenient. It is also possible to go by bus from Nice (number 400 I think - info available on the net) even though you will appreciate having a car to get around the area.
Check in is without problem. The management is very kind and waits for you if you have a late arrival. You are guided to your room which may be on a different level, so if you have a physical condition or handicap please note that the whole area has many height levels and some stairs to climb.

ROOM OVERVIEW:
The rooms differ in size and standard - the individuality is part of the charm. My room was a bit ”up the hill” with a fairly large balcony overlooking the valley and seating at least two persons. Everything clean and in good shape. Mini bar in the room as well as ironing board and extra pillows.
 Beds are rather firm but comfortable.
 Charming bathroom with blue tiles everywhere, shower and bath tub. AC worked perfectly which is a blessing - it can get really hot in the summer.

POOL:
The pool (”infinite” style) is lovely with plenty of space, sun chairs and parasols for the guests. A jacuzzi, hamam and even sauna is available. For those who like to work out a mini-gym with a few machines completes the pool area.

BAR AND RESTAURANT:
Le Hameau lacks a restaurant, but you can have drinks and snacks (omelette, salads, panini) brought to the pool or to your room. In the reception lobby there is a small bar. Breakfast is being served outside in a beautiful garden with flowers and orange trees surrounding the sitting area. Breakfast is good including fruit, cereals, yoghurt, eggs (boiled, fried and omelette), ham, cheese and an assortment of bread and brioches.
For dinner you (will have to) take a 10-15 min walk up to Saint-Paul where you find plenty of restaurants.

ENVIRONMENT AND NEARBY:
The riviera is a busy place. As initially mentioned, you will get rid of the worst crowds here - just half an hour from the coast. The spot is perfect for excursions to many of the lovely villages in the Alpes Maritimes - mostly inhabited with ”real people” where pace is slower and the environment more natural.
 Neighboring Le Hameau is ”Fondation Maeght” which is a privately founded modern art museum created by the art patrons Aimé and Marguerite Maeght in the style and spirit of, for example, Guggenheim in the US. Set in a park environment and with sculpture, mosaics and decorations the museum focuses on the artists born around the beginning of the 20th century, such as Chagall, Giacometti, Miro and Braque. Ten minutes (note: rather steep slope uphill if you’re walking) from Le Hameau it is a must see!

”La Chapelle du Rosaire” - Matisse’s last major work - is nearby in Vence, only 5 km away. Also a must see (restricted opening hours - check on the net before you go)!

The airport (Nice-Cote-d’Azur) is not far away: just 12 km and depending on the traffic you should be able to reach it by car within 20 min under best conditions. However, you’d be wise to calculate for bouchons (trafic jams) near the coastline, which are frequent, especially in the afternoon.

RATING:
Official rating is three stars, which in my opinion is too low. The overall standard, quality of the property lacking nothing that can be found in a higher ranked hotel (with the exception of an onboard restaurant) sums up to be worth four stars.

PRICE/PERFORMANCE:
To no surprise the riviera is pricy. Considering the official three stars Le Hameau is a bit expensive. On the other hand, as mentioned the hotel deserves four stars and in that view the price is fair. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vierdank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeHameau, Directeur général at Le Hameau, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mr Vierdank

We thank your very much for your accurate description and to have taken the time to
write your comments down.

Your satisfaction is our best encouragement.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

You must just try this hotel!
This is one of the most lovely hotels we have stayed in!
The Place is just wonderful with grapes hanging overhead entering the hotel.
The room was lovely and the staff very helpful and friendly.
We stayed on after checking out just to get som extra hours at the pool with the view over the vally and the sea.
Combine a stay here with dinner at Colome d'Or in St. Paul (book in advance...).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeHameau, Directeur général at Le Hameau, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mr Geir,

We have been pleased to welcome you at the hotel Le Hameau.

Thank you for you nice valuation. We are glad you have kept an excellent memory of you stay among us.

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Paul-de-Vence
1.1 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
589 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
450 reviews
1.0 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Hameau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Hameau

Property: Le Hameau
Address: 528 avenue de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#1 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Hameau 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Le Hameau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hameau Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing