We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seductive location but...”
Review of Les Orangers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Orangers
Reviewed 17 April 2010

The view from our room overlooking the citrus trees and garden with the Mediterranean in the distance was enchanting. The attitude of the owners was less so. We arrived during Easter holiday and they apparently had some relatives visiting so we didn't get too much attention and that's what the B&B experience is all about, right? Judging from the other reviews here you may luck out and be catered to, but then again, perhaps not.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarlasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE!
Stayed early July 09 & it is a nice garden with a small pool, but that's where it ends. Checked out after 1 night as noisy - due to nearby busy + noisy road.
PEACE + QUIET as advertisied it is NOT. We live on a very busy road so do not want to go on holiday + have same noise.
Despite telling owners politely of this the next morning & being willing to pay 1 extra night (PER THEIR NO SHOW POLICY) they charged without consent 4 nights on our credit card. When we asked about this on our return, the owner was rude and told us they did not care who we told & did not bother to reply to previous emails.
Les Orangers charges hotel prices without the facilities+services. Owners are not particularly helpful. We asked for local restaurant recommendations they said just go into the village. When we asked if they had any tourist info on the area - they told us 'go to the tourist office'..... How hard is it to have a few local restaurants to recomend or to have some information for guests on the area.
Grouchy, fussy people we are not & sadly this was our most dissapointing experience of 5 weeks in hotels in Europe.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND HOWEVER LES MESSUGUES AS AN ALTERNATIVE TO THIS PROPERTY - THE PLACE IS PEACEFUL, RELAXING + BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS, WITH GREAT FACILITIES + THE OWNER DEMONSTRATED TRUE HOSPITALITY. AMOUNGST THE BEST WE STAYED IN EUROPE.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grizzwolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Unfortunately, we could only stay here for 1 night while in St. Paul de Vence. We had very bad weather but the owners made us feel so welcome that the rain almost didn't matter anymore. As other reviewers already mentioned, this is a bed & breakfast, not a hotel. Rooms are beautifully furnished, very comfortable but there is no wifi, t.v., minibar, etc. We paid EUR 104 per room, which we thought is very reasonable for what is offered.

The surroundings are beautiful--a garden with lime trees and flowers. With better weather, we would have enjoyed it even more!

The breakfast was a typically Mediterranean affair with pastry, butter and delicious home made marmelade served in the owner's kitchen. Cats and dogs came in, the owner kept us company and was a great source of information on what to see and what to do.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We love St Paul de Vence and chose to stay at Les Orangers as it is so close to the village (5 mins walk max) but is very reasonably priced.

The views from the terrace are stunning and the gardens and new pool fabulous.

Thomas and Marquesa were excellent hosts and we were invited for drinks before we went out for dinner...a very nice touch.

The rooms are traditional and immaculate.

You will not want to leave!

Stayed: September 2008
Thank ServiceExcellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We have just come back from a fantastic 3 nights away at Les Orangers the most tranquil and peaceful hideaway. Lovely simple but clean rooms a new pool recently opened. We liked it so much we are trying to arrange another visit very soon.

Thank sussex27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Lovely little Anglo French family run hotel,
welcoming atmosphere and beautiful rooms, furnished with taste.
We loved the gardens and being able to get in the pool straight from the terrace.
We will be back.
St Paul is a fabulous place

Stayed: June 2008
Thank roskoWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We had the most enjoyable 1 weeks stay at Les Orangers. Lovely accomodation and new swimming built. Rooms charming and immaculate. Beautiful location and exceptional service. We can definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank yappadappadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Messugues
Les Messugues
#6 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#9 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Orangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Orangers

Address: Chemin des Fumerates | rte. de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range: £95 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Les Orangers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Orangers Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing