We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and wonderfully decorated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic and wonderfully decorated.”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I wish I had a house designed and landscaped like this small hotel, which is a perfect location for doing day trips and seeing the local sites. The "living room" opens as an outdoor patio overlooking the beautifully landscaped pool with views of the hilltown of St. Paul de Vence. There are wonderful lounge chairs, poolside towels and bar service, a hot tub, candles along the walkway to the pool at night, all nice touches. There is also an excellent restaurant within two minutes walk, The service was superbe, as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiburon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    59
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
143
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Charming quiet hotel a 25 minute walk into the town. Room was lovely and bath with jacuzzi was a delight. Best part was a private little patio overlooking the hill town of St. Paul de Vence. Great to grab a bottle of rose and sit for an aperitif before dinner. Great pool and facilities. Overpiced breakfast...go elsewhere for better value. Staff uneven from being very accomodating to being a little cold. Had a mishap with our safe that took a little longer than it should have to resolve (our car keys were inside) but once we got the right person involved, they were very accomodating...would have been nice to give us a break on drink at the bar for our efforts, but oh well. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotcomm212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2010

I have been at La Grande Bastide for a week with my girlfriend and I couldn't have chosen a better place: the room are really amazing and the swiming pool is very nice.
The best asset of the place is, though, the staff, very friendly and always ready to help.
Thank you Rachida !
We should be back soon again .....
Once again THANK YOU.
Timothy B.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTimothy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We arrived at this hotel after booking the duplex suite for my family for two weeks (one baby and one 2 year old) only to find a dark narrow room with one small velux window; very disappointing! Our outdoor terrace overlooked the car park. We felt that the photos on the website were quite misleading. Although the view from the pool area was nice, the stone steps leading to the swimming pool were very steep and the shallow end was still too deep for children, very unsafe! After about 30 mins we decided we couldn't stay in this hotel for 2 weeks, I explained to the owner that we were not happy with the facilities and the quality of the room and were leaving. His response was to get very angry and insulting, saying he doesn't care if my children have an accident in his hotel as he is insured! I had to pay almost €1000 to leave, but after the conversation with Heinz [-] (the owner) I wasn't going to stay another minute. We moved to the Mas De Pierre which is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RitsonWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stpaullgb, Propriétaire at Hotel La Grande Bastide, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Unfortunately nothing is correct in this review. It just does not correspond what happened and what a said. Personally I think Tripadvisor should not feature names on the platform.
It is regretttable that personal attacks are featured !
It is regrettable that this client perverted the facts !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed at La Grande Bastide during the last week in July. It is situated about a 5 minute drive from St Paul de Vence and I would say it is essential to have a car if staying here. The room was a little small as was the bathroom (shower only) but the terrace and views from it more than made up for this. I only have good things to say about La Grande Bastide, Heinz (the owner) made an effort to introduce himself to us once we arrived, the girls who work at the hotel are very friendly and helpful and made us feel extremely welcome. The jacuzzi was clean and the gardens although small were very well kept. The pool area is well looked after and there is a never ending supply of towels, the pool isnt heated but that is no bad thing on a hot summer's day. Sometimes we were the only people around the pool which was perfect! We didnt eat breakfast as I thought it was too expensive at 17 euros each but did have lunch on the terrace which was always freshly prepared and delicious. We also used the hotel's 2CV for a lunch trip to St Paul de Vence and enjoyed it greatly. I haven't stayed in many hotels of this class but was very happy we did, the only reservation I have about the hotel is that it is very close to the road into St Paul and therefore there is a steady stream of traffic and the noise associated with it, which is a shame.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. What an excellent experience! The staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. They go out of their way to meet all needs. The hotel is very charming with rustic rooms and well working AC which this summer was very much needed. The hotel is a 15 minutes drive from the Nice airpot and a fairly short distance from numerous beautiful spots both in the Maritime Alpes and on the coast. The roads in the South of France are very well marked so it is easy to find all you need. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericaninQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Situated at the opposite side of the valley to the historic perched town of St Paul-de-Vence, La Grande Bastide is a beautiful villa-style romantic getaway, set on a private estate with rustic charm.

Accommodating only a small number of people, La Grande Bastide feels like a very exclusive place, absolutely ideal for couples, with its large swimming pool, and secluded outdoor jacuzzi with stunning view of St Paul-de-Vence across the valley.

We saw 2 rooms, both very traditional in decor, perfectly in keeping with the style of the place, each with modern bathrooms and TV. Our spacious bathroom in Chambre 2, came with a jacuzzi style bath, to bubble and illuminate yourself to your heart’s content.

Overall, La Grande Bastide doesn’t come cheap, but it is worth the money for a short stay, and an additional 17 Euros per person will get you a generous buffet breakfast.

If there is any downside, then it is the fact that they don’t offer a restaurant service in the evening, although pleasant but pricey lunches, such as salads, sandwiches or pasta dishes, are available. Then there is the car park, which proves to be quite steep to access and a little difficult to manoeuvre in (even more so if you’re surrounded by 4x4s!).

It has to be noted though, that the staff made us feel a little uncomfortable, being warm and welcoming one minute, and a bit cold and defensive the next. However despite this, everybody was accommodating and generally unintrusive, allowing you to enjoy your stay at this lovely place, in peace.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodeater78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
426 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa St Maxime
Villa St Maxime
#5 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Grande Bastide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Grande Bastide

Property: Hotel La Grande Bastide
Address: 1350 avenue de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#6 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#8 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Grande Bastide 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Grande Bastide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Bastide Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing