We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place to Stay in St Paul”
Review of Villa St Maxime

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa St Maxime
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Ann and John please forgive us! Looks like spending our perfect honeymoon with you last September has erased our memory and we forgot to write a review.

In common with just about every reviewer of Villa St Maxime we had the perfect stay. From checking in with zero fuss, even though very late, through to perfect breakfasts on the sun terrace looking down to the sea and the highlight: John's evening soirees with killer gin and tonics. What a venue and what a stay.

When we first booked I wondered if the lack of evening meal was an issue. Turned out to be the opposite. Well lubricated by John's cocktails and after a couple of hours good humour with the other guests, the short walk to some of the best restaurants in the area in the village of St Paul was a highlight of the day.

Ann was great in the run up to the stay. Always a model of patient courtesy with my email and phone questions. I felt like I already knew her and John by the time we arrived.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richmond_Dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Apologies, we stayed in March and I forgot this review! However,

From the moment we arrived at Villa Maxime we knew we had arrived at somewhere special. We were greeted by the the delightful and charming Anne and John and shown to our room.
We had booked a large garden room, with our 12 year daughter sleeping on a sofa bed in the 'lounge' area.
However, straight away John and Sue had other plans! " Would you like your own room?" my daughter was asked ( at no extra cost I hasten to add!!) Err, yes!!
So she was shown to her own delightful room across the landing from our fabulous and now child free room!
After a quick tour of the fabulous villa, we had complimentary welcoming drinks-John makes the best gin and tonic in Provence- his "cobra"!! Leave the rental car well and truly behind after one of them!
After a recommendation and booking by John, we walked up to the wonderful St Paul de Vence for dinner at Le Vieux Moulin. A most charming welcome and gorgeous meal and excellent service followed. And of course, more complimentary drinks and an evening discussing and listening to Pink Floyd with our waiter, having had enough Buble!
Breakfast the following morning was an absolute delight! We declined champagne but all ordered various egg options perfectly cooked by John
There on followed the most wonderful of days enjoying the lovely Villa and the surrounding delights of St Paul. We were at the beginning of the season and so it was quiet, but for us, it suited us perfectly and there was always the wonderfully amusing John to entertain and serve us drinks.
The Villa has absolutely everything you could wish for and our room and bathroom were quite stunning with views up to St Paul and down to Antibes.
The highlight was without doubt our last night meal at La Colombe d'Or. Just the most fabulous culinary experience and an absolute must. My wife sat beneath an original Matisse and the food was exquisite and pretty good value.
On the final morning I became a Knight of the Realm of Villa Maxime! In the time honoured manner, which we shared with a delightful German couple in the Spring sunshine, a more perfect finale you could not ask for.
Great stay, thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SJVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at Villa St Maxime for a week for our honeymoon and it was absolutely perfect! Anne and John do a fabulous job of creating the most lovely atmosphere in the hotel. The views are spectacular and it is really peaceful, even though it is only a short walk to the town centre. The villa and the grounds are immaculate. The room was lovely and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and served on the terrace each morning. We enjoyed the complimentary drinks on the terrace in the evening and meeting other guests. There was such a friendly atmosphere because the villa is quite small. We walked to the town centre every evening and there were some fantastic restaurants in the area. We also enjoyed the complimentary drinks tray that was out on our return from dinner each night with a selection of spirits and chocolates.
The pool area is lovely and peaceful- we loved the fact that there were only a few other guests staying at any one time which made it a really peaceful place to stay.
Saint Paul de Vence was a great base for us and we enjoyed a few days of looking around the town and also took some day trips to the Alpes and Monaco. We would highly recommend staying here, it really was fabulous!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Villa St Maxime was a home run. Thank you trip advisor. Not only was the villa beautiful and homey but the views of town and the sea were exquisite. John and Ann were the best hosts you could ask for. Cocktail hour was fun and informative and the breakfast outside by the pool was delicious. It was a wonderful place to be located for our day trips . Both the seaside room and the Maxime suite were beautifully appointed with terrific day and night views. Can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malones2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Villa for our annual mother/daughter vacation. Everything was wonderful. In particular the beds were great and the Villa was immaculate. And, Ann and John are the perfect hosts. My daughter was quite delighted to become a Ladye of the Champagne Sabre of St. Maxime. Cocktail hour allowed us to mingle with the other guests and we enjoyed the diversity. Very interesting people from England, Australia and Norway also stayed while we were there. I'm not sure how we'll top this vacation next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOG685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

At the outset, we were very impressed with Villa Maxime. Our suite was well laid out, the bed comfortable, our view terrific of the sea and surrounding town and area. The Villa is in a great location for day trips throughout the Riviera. Ann and John are great hosts, the staff friendly, but be aware they speak little English. As good as the place was there are some things to be aware of. There are few bath amenities, no lotions, shower caps, q tips, etc. The breakfast is limited to some cereals, eggs in a few different ways and some hot pastries, not the type of breakfast you receive in B and B's in Italy if you are expecting that. Pool looked beautiful, just was too cool to go in. TV has only three English channels, all business and news. The bathroom was very large with a big tub and omni directional shower and two sinks (we had the St. Maxime suite). Just a great place to go and be advised that the village of St Paul de Vence has some great restaurants within walking distance- Columbe D'D'Or being outstanding, as well as LO the Thai restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HENAM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had a perfect holiday here.

Ann and John were welcoming and unobtrusively attentive, creating a relaxed and 'at home' feeling throughout our stay. The room was clean, bright, private, well equipped and comfortable with stunning views night or day through the retractable glass doors covering the whole wall between room and private balcony. (Champagne) breakfast was 'continental' and delicious, served each day on the terrace overlooking the pool (which was very clean and, to my delight, extended to a depth of at least two metres.) Generous evening cocktails with interesting company and conversation as dusk fell on a view to die for -

I think we'll be back . . .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
1 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
488 reviews
1 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa St Maxime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa St Maxime

Address: 390 avenue de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range: £139 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa St. Maxime was designed and built as an intimate, luxury Hotel - Villa d'Hotes. The Villa is a short walk from the village of St Paul and also the famous Maeght Foundation, it is in fact the closest hotel in St Paul to the village, with the convenience of not being within the walls for easy access and parking. The Villa is very much a modern work of art itself: it is constructed of albinic Provencal stone sculpted in bold sweeping lines. The Villa enjoys an airy modern feel, while retaining a comfortable and intimate ambience, with great views of the village and the sea. The suites and rooms have luxury appointments, ensuite facilities. A Champagne breakfast, including freshly cooked eggs, and evening aperitifs are included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Villa St Maxime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa St Maxime Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence
Hotel St Maxime
St Maxime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing