We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best B&B's anywhere”
Review of Le Mas du Chanoine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Mas du Chanoine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have just returned from staying 4 nights at Le Mas du Chanoine and it really couldn't have been much better. Pascale and Yves are the perfect hosts and from the very first welcome gave us very special service.
On our first night they booked a local restaurant for us and then served a welcome aperitif of homemade bitter orange (from the beautiful garden) mixed with rose wine plus some tapenade and smoked pork again home made and absolutely delicious.
We stayed in the very spacious and well equipped La Saint Pauloise suite with beautiful views over the pool towards St Paul de Vence.
Each day when we returned from sight seeing we spent a an hour or two sitting by the pool and enjoying the sunshine in the garden.
Breakfasts were excellent and offered a varying (and large!) selection of fresh fruit, pastries, fresh breads , home made cakes etc etc.
Le Mas is 3k from St Paul de Vence by foot so a car is necessary although there is a local bus service to the bottom of the hill , maybe less than 1k from Le Mas but we didn't look into this.
We would definitely go again!

Room Tip: I think all three suites are spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank My4Jays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale B, Propriétaire at Le Mas du Chanoine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thanks a lot for your appreciations about our bed and breakfast, le Mas du Chanoine. We are very happy that your stay went well and that you enjoyed our services.
As regulars of the French Riviera, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Le Mas du Chanoine
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

If I could give this place 10 stars, I would! When I was researching where to stay on the French Riveria, I came across this B&B and based our decision to stay here solely on the wondeful reviews which are 100% accurate. The reviews say it all -- the warmth, heart and soul of their care for the guests and the property is unmatched with any other hotel, b&b, resort etc I have stayed at. Pascal and Yves truly go above and beyond before you even arrive to ensure you have a wonderful experience. Once you arrive, they continue to go above and beyond. After attempting to drive out of the Nice airport in a manual car (I do not recommend this), we aborted the car, and took a cab to Le Mas du Chanoine. They greeted us, we had drinks on their lovely 18th century patio, and they helped us find quite possibly the last automatic car in town, drove us to get the car and arranged for the manager to drive us back to the airport at the end of our journey. Our stay ended with Yves giving us a piece of Provence (a lavendar bouquet) to take home. The rooms, the grounds and the breakfasts are A++ which is the grade I gave our overall stay here. We could not have traveled to the riveria without having Pascal and Yves as such amazing, generous and thoughtful hosts who were very patient with answering questions and had some great advice and are more than happy to make reservations. If you go, I highly recommend visiting Font du Broc (winery), Cap Estel (luxury hotel), Eze is worth the views but hard to get to and very touristy, Monoco (hotel Hermitage), St Paul de Vence and Cannes. I also got the massage from Sophie which was beyond amazing. Driving the Riveria can be a little intimidating. Make sure you have coins for the tolls, a really good working GPS and some heartiness to navigate in a place where there are no rules of the road! Alain Llorca restaurant was one of the best places we have ever dined. St Paul de Vence is very easy to drive to from this B&B and is amazing to walk around and experience an ancient medieval village. Monaco was the 2nd easiest place to get to and really fun to experience. You will not be disappointed with your stay here. I highly, highly recommend it. We will be back and can't wait. Christy and Joe

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have the best access to the grounds / garden. Wifi can be somewhat sporatic but...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdelregno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale B, Propriétaire at Le Mas du Chanoine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Christy and Joe,
It was a pleasure to meet you and to help you to organize your stay on the French Riviera. You discovered several facets of this beautiful area. It is now necessary to visit us one more time for the tour by sailboat, because we now have the coordinates of a man organizing one day tour on a sailboat with delicious barbecue for the meal. To discover ...
Hoping to receive you again,
Friendly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

On our roadtrip from Geneva to Nice in may 2013, we stayed two nights at the Le Mas du Chanoine. We arrived at the recidence one rainy afternoon, and the hosts came running with umbrellas to give us a dry and warm welcome. Pascale and Yves must be the best hosts you can get! The residence had more than enough facilities for us: a big room to sleep, a great bathroom and the beatiful garden with a pool. Because of the cold weather we didn`t try the pool, but in fair conditions it must be "cool to chill out by the pool". The bathroom inside compensated well enough for us. We were also invited to taste the homemade bitter orange wine and limoncello which indeed we enjoyed together with a merry chat with Pascale and Yves. The breakfast was good with jam made of fruits from the garden. Since we went by car, it was also convenient that there was a parking space on the property. So if you look for a place to stay near St.Paul, you should not hesitate to book here. Ann-Mari and Frode

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-Mari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale B, Propriétaire at Le Mas du Chanoine, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Ann-Mari and Frode,
You were so charming guests. We have learn so many things on your distant country, it was a pleasure. The rain having been present during the 2 days of your stay, do not hesitate to visit us under the sun to take advantage of the swimming pool and share an aperitif during a petanque game.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A little corner of paradise near St. Paul de Vence - with the most delightful hosts, Pascale and Yves, spacious and beautifully furnished and equipped rooms (loved the Fragonard bathroom amenities!), a delicious breakfast (scrumptious homemade breads and preserves), and unmatcheable gardens. It wasn't warm enough to relax by the pool, and we had so many things to see that we didn't have the time to really take in the beauty of the gardens - we would have loved to have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms are wonderful
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale B, Propriétaire at Le Mas du Chanoine, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Anne and Kirk,
We thank you for your kind review. It was a great pleasure to talk with you about the Provence that we both love so much.
Anne, you have made us the best gift by playing piano for us. We will be delighted to welcome you again and in the meantime, I would prehaps have made enough progress to play my turn piano for you.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Such a beautiful place, its orange and lemon trees in full fruit, and a lovely, kind family. The walk to St Paul village took 35 minutes but if you like views and can manage steep hills, it is exhilarating. There are bus routes.
Vence is a 40 minute walk, and more interesting than St Paul, unless you are a fanatic for modern art.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale B, Propriétaire at Le Mas du Chanoine, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Jonathan and Maria,
We thank you for your kindly message and we are delighted to have been able to make you discover some typical places of our magnificent region.
We hope to welcome you during a new stay to visit this time perched villages in the back country.
Friendly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: chambre" la Niçoise", de plein pied avec acces direct sur le jardin
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eetm32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Arnaud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Paul-de-Vence
0.5 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
631 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sandton Hotel & Residence Domaine Cocagne
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
247 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas du Chanoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas du Chanoine

Address: 831 Chemin de la Bastide Rouge, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range: £176 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Mas du Chanoine", a 17th century "Relais de Poste" facing the fortified village of Saint-Paul de Vence, will welcome you in the heart of the French Riviera.We offer three elegant and sophisticated rooms, surrounded by a landscaped garden with colors and scents of Provence. Located in the main body of the house, each suite has a separate entrance from the garden. The spacious rooms are tastefully decorated in the Provencal tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Mas du Chanoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing